We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is situated right in front of the sea and the view from the breakfast room and the 5th floor sun terrace is wonderful. The location of the hotel is excellent and close to the dive schools, restaurants, lovely walks and pebble beach. There are nearby bus stops to other parts of the island and the tourist information office is two minutes away. There is also an underground flour mill very close by which is worth a visit, if you are interested in that sort of thing. It cost a couple of euros to get in.

The seaview rooms and the side view rooms are the best to have as the front rooms face a busy car park, our inward facing room was very dark, due to a very small window overlooking a small enclosed courtyard. The courtyard can get quite noisy, there is free internet in public spaces but not in the rooms. Many people used the courtyard to skype etc and this could be heard from the rooms at night. People also sat in this area to chat and this could also be heard from the rooms as well as staff talking to each other in the mornings whilst cleaning the area. However I am a light sleeper, deeper sleepers may not hear a thing! Some of the other inward facing rooms had large windows//doors so those rooms would have been lighter than ours.

The room itself was fine apart from being a bit dark, but as we were out a lot this did not matter too much. Our bathroom was not clean on our arrival and there were hairs in the bath and plug hole. The floor also had bits on it. The shower was little more that a trickle and I found it hard to remove shampoo with it. There was a fridge in the room which was nice and there was plenty of room to store your clothes. The double bed seemed to be two large singles put together but was still very comfortable. The air conditioning worked very well.

There is a 12 euro charge for a safety deposit box which can be accessed at reception. Towels for the beach can be borrowed from reception with a deposit.

The breakfast room is lovely and looks out over the bay, the self service buffet breakfast in fine, with the usual cooked food and cereals available. There was no fresh fruit available except for in a fruit salad in syrup, which as a shame. Breakfast starts at 7.30 so breakfast was not available for some of our early starts.

The reception staff were mostly charming, they were polite and happy to help .Only once did we have poor customer service from reception and that was from an older male receptionist, we found him to be very rude.

The sun terrace has wonderful views and we enjoyed sitting out there with a book.. The sun loungers could do with replacing as they are quite shabby. There is a small spa pool which is ideal for children but too small for adult swimmers, The pool is probably quite relaxing for those who like to sit in the pool and chat.

We would stay in this hotel again, there was nothing massively wrong with it and the views are lovely. The staff were mostly great. The reception and public areas are nice and our room was fine. The outside of the building looks very impressive and the location could not be better/

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAzzopardi, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for you positing your review for our hotel and for your comments.

With regards to the mentioned issues I will see to the so that we make sure that these are not repeated.

Whilst thanking you once again for your kind reply, we look forward to see you again at the Saint Patrick's Hotel & Gozo.

Kindest regards

Karl Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Saint Patrick's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I had to amend my booking and the hotel staff were very accommodating for my children, had a courtyard room which was very comfortable and had a lovely nights sleep, roof top pool is small but ideal for my two small children, breakfast was really nice and booked again for September! Only negative was no tea of coffee making facilities in room but I'll bring my own next time.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAzzopardi, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Laura T,

Thanks a lot for your nice comments. We will do utmost to improve further on our standard.

With regards to tea and coffee making facilities in the room, please note that we offer the service free of charge. For your next visit in September kindly ask front office and we will organize accordingly.

Whilst looking forward for your next visit with us in September, please do not hesitate to contact me should you need further information or assistance.

Kindest regards

Karl Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The darkness as you enter the hotel is in stark contrast to the blazing sun reflected off the clear sea outside. Unfortunately little seems to have been done to upgrade the hotel since it opened 20 odd years ago. With its location and views it should be one of the best in the Mediterranean. But maybe the owners are more interested in their other properties. The 'Club' room we upgraded to had the most spectacular view over the smell beach looking straight out to sea along the mini-fjord that is Xlendi. The pikes of cigarette buts in the pits of dead plants on the terrace were an indication of neglect. The decor is dated and tired. The skirting coming off the wall, the broken hair dryer, the dribbles coming through the shower, the heavy pumping required to flush the toilet were all sad and unnecessary. The breakfast looked OK at first glance but the ingredients were of poor quality. It was redeemed partly by the lovely location on the promenade.
I won't pay the same money there again unless there are drastic improvements.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mompy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAzzopardi, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. I have taken note of your constructive suggestions and we will do utmost to improve where possible.

Thanks once again

Karl Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

beautifull room and view, pity the room is not kept up to date especially the floor tiles which were moving and cracking under out feet. Breakfast ok. Very disappointed with the barman who was working during the final of the Champions league, when during the match he decided to remove the volume of the tv and switched off all the lights keeping us wondering what happened in nearly total darkness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadrianagius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAzzopardi, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. I will see to the maintenance issues straight away and rectify.

I would like to excuse myself for the TV situation. I have spoken to the team and explained that this does not repeat itself.

Thanking once again.

Karl Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Only stayed there for one night. We had a seaview room which was great the view is impressive. location is perfect easy to park and good restaurants close by too. Room was nice and spacious. Breakfast was good staff kind :) would go again :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ElaineVella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAzzopardi, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Ms. Vella,

thank you for your nice message. We strive to improve on what we have built in the past years.

We look forward in welcoming you again.

Kindest regards

Karl Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Sea view rooms really worth the extra. Breakfast wonderful. Evening meals hit and miss. Got ripped off with the credit card charge- make sure you pay in euros. Sexy lady in charge of the restaurant but not everyone else up to speed.. Rooms spacious and comfortable.Hotel is very good but don't go half board. We stayed at the end of May which was fine for swimmng but a couple we met said that high summer was too busy. We used Bellaire Travel and every transfer etc. worked really well. Bus from Xlendi is very good and you can get quickly to all parts of the island.

Room Tip: High sea view rooms best but in May the construction workers started at 5 am
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We thought we would stay in Gozo for a change, The hotel staff very friendly couldn't do enough for you waiters Vera Venessa were most helpful. The bedroom was clean and good the seaview was well worth the extra it was a view to die for, Every thing was cleaned to 1st class standard, We were in room 402 great room and of the bay, We stopped half board well worth it meals were good and choice, if you didn't like anything they made something you wanted,
good choice of breakfast more than most hotels, you can get buses just outside and 1.50 euro for any way you go all day, In all we both enjoyed this holiday top class, Will we book here again
you bet we will, Just a big thank you for this great holiday,

Room Tip: we booked room 402 seaview room, all fourth floor seaview rooms are fantastic,
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theowls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAzzopardi, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to see you again.

Kindest Regards


Karl Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
736 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,228 reviews
3.8 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range: £41 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xlendi, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing