We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabric Overload”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Qawra, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabric Overload”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

As we walked in the hotel, reception area looked very nice and clean. As we went into our room there it was.. Fabric Overload.. Mismatching sheets, very colorful sheets, very ugly curtains on the bed.. We started suffocating in all that fabric.. View was marvelous.. At least!!
Morning broke and we were looking forward to breakfast, our favorite meal of the day and to spend the day by the pool. It was a labyrinth getting to the pool and breakfast room and when we did it was horrible.. Felt like we stepped in the 1960s. Decor was not very nice and the food neither.. Only the fruit and cereal made it to my stomach since the bacon, sausages and eggs were just awful. After the bad meal we decided to have a look at the pool.. What pool?? It was more like a pond!!
Also according to my booking I had a deluxe suite with seaview, including a living area, a spa bath, and a balcony overlooking the sea. The spa bath I couldn't work and the living area was non existent.
Terribly disappointing since we paid good money for the night..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    172
    95
    61
    116
See reviews for
125
309
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamrun
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Me and my partner were going for a holiday in Gozo in Xlendi Hotel for two nights. We booked from Friday till Sunday in the beginning of August. Just TWO HOURS LATER we booked our room, we had a tragic accident in our family and we ended up cancelling our booking because of death reasons. Although we booked through a booking agency, we contacted them back and they assured us that we will get our refund and that they were extremely sorry for our loss.

''Firstly I'd like to say we are sorry to hear of your loss.
I have contacted the Hotel Xlendi and they understand your situation and have allowed you to cancel without charge.
Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions.''

After two weeks and more, we still didn't get the refund back. We decided to contact directly the hotel and again we explained what happened and why we cancelled the booking. They didn't give a complete flying **** about all this. After several sent e-mails with no reply, they responded with this: '' once its booked it cannot be sold again as some guest do cancel and then still show up.''. WHAT THE HELL? You think we can still show up after what happened? Then a hotel Representative called us and we told her if there is no refund, we can send someone else instead, but they just automatically cancelled the booking without asking us what was going to happen and without telling us about our refund. Now it's been nearly a month and our refund haven't reached our account yet. We were charged 300 euro for our loss, when meanwhile the room should have been booked by someone else with the same price. Double profit!

Room Tip: What tip? Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pepenerolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Sir

As you know the booking you have done with the hotel was a non refundable one and if you read at the bottom of your booking :

Booking.com understands that a Non-Refundable Policy states that a reservation booked under this policy cannot be modified or cancelled, payment is taken in advance and that payment is non refundable. Booking.com can never modify or cancel a non-refundable reservation. Guests are aware of the policies booked at the time of making the reservation and must understand that they are entering a contract with your property.

As to send someone else, its not a problem, as far as they furnish a letter in writting by the person who done the booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Xlendi hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had one of the master suites with balcony which had a beautiful view, we only stayed here for one night as we wanted to escape our hotel over in Malta as it was a disgrace (euroclub). The room was spotless, spacious and the bed was very comfy. All the staff were superb and there was a great choice at breakfast. The outdoor pool was clean and there were plenty of places to sit and sunbathe. Can't really think of anything bad at all about the place. Would recommend this hotel as we thoroughly enjoyed out stay here.

Room Tip: Have one on the front, the views are too nice not too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahoymatey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
we are glad that you liked our hotel and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Great location, but bad service, eg. Rooms had no toiletries at all, only two towels, breakfast was terrible, there must be better hotels in gozo. Also, pools are the size of my bath, and the bath is the size of my shower. Its a big pity because the hotel is perfectly situated and the management does not take advantage of that fact.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theodorus1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta, Europe
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel is located on the hill on the side of Xlendi Bay. We had a sea view apartment and the views were spectacular - one could pass hours just sitting in the balcony watching the views. We parked our car at the back of the hotel - parking was free. Our apartment was really nice with a cute canopied bed and a rustic kitchen. The bathroom was clean and a good size with a jacuzzi bath. The rooms were equipped with an air-conditioner and ceiling fans so the heat was no issue at all.The outside pool is abit small but it was more than enough during our visit and most of the time we had the pool all to ourselves. Breakfast choice is decent but lacked fresh bread... the views from the roof terrace where even better than those from our room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back there ourselves this summer.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_C_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hotel was great to stay in. We got a huge sea view room for a very decent price. The room was spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The best thing about this hotel though is the view, outstanding.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alby_fleuvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Travelling on my own I spent three nights in May. My room was one of the front sea view rooms - huge room and bathroom, complete with spa bath. Decor a bit dated but very clean and comfortable and what looked like new fresh crisp linens. Fantastic views and one of the quietest nights sleeps I think I have ever had in a hotel. Its set just away from the main outdoor eateries on the front of the quayside and I heard no noise from the restaurants or late night revellers - just the sea lapping at the rocks below.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly taking the time to find out what I was interested in and helping me plan my excursions. The half-day taxi tour they suggested with David, to see the cultural places I was interested in was brilliant. David was so knowledgable and even introduced me to some of the locals.

The hotel food was great, a good selection of hot and cold at breakfast and a very reasonably priced evening meal. Some restaurants can be intimidating when you are on your own, but not there, the staff were very friendly, as were fellow Maltese guests. The wine list boasts some excellent local wines and everyone was keen to help me make the right choice - I definetly needed a few more nights to work on through the recommendations!

Overall, a great comfortable, friendly hotel and good value for money. The indoor and roof top pools were lovely - but you really need to take the tunnel out to the waterside and experience the sea - lots of bathers' steps and diving platforms! It's such a beautiful bay. They were busy relocating the beauty/ spa therapy rooms when I was there and renovation work was just finishing - some of the communal areas adjacent to the buiding work were yet to be tidied up - but this really did not impact on the enjoyment of my stay.I was shown a couple of the new rennovated apartments and new medical centre, as I am interested in returning with elderly parents. They looked great and lots of flexibility to meet our needs - looking forward to a return visit and seeing the final product. Thanks for a great stay Hotel Xlendi!

Room Tip: The sea views are incredible and worth the extra - but it appeared to me they have a real mix of apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroD358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.0 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Address: St. Simon Street, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1300, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated to make the most of this natural beauty spot, the hotel provides a welcoming, comfortable and friendly environment to enjoy a stay with your partner, family or friends. Our team are focused on going the extra mile to ensure that you have beautiful memories of your stay with us. We value your feedback, if there is anything we can do to improve your visit please tell a member of our staff who will be delighted to help. Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa also caters for your health and well-being. Relax with a spa treatment, pamper yourself at our hair & nail salon, unwind in one of our pools and energies your day in our gym. It’s the perfect choice if you want a holiday to relax and revitalize your body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xlendi Resort And Spa
Hotel Xlendi Xlendi
Serena Beach Club
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing