We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent hotel - No frills attached..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are looking for a clean, nice view, big sized rooms and a good location but nothing fancy this is the place to be.

Hotel is descent, although in need of rennovation.

If your looking for something fancy, look elsewhere..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi

Thanks for your review, just for you to know, the hotel started to make renovations in the common area and next winter we will continue with the rooms and apartments.

Thanks
Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We opted for this hotel again since last year we had a very nice weekend there and both my wife and my 7 year old son were looking forward for another weekend there.
The staff is great especially the manager on duty, who personally checked on us to see that our stay is up to what we were expecting

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzzoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

On behalf on the Directors and the who staff, would like to thank you for your reviews and for your second visit, hope to see you again

Thanks
Albert
Sales & Marketing Manager
Tel: +356 79478248

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Well we tried something new!A coupon was promoting a two day stay at this hotel with Half Board.Well first off we were told that the hotel is not accepting this promotion on the weekends.
Well after reading the fine print of the promotion from the promotional site,I called the company to get more clarification.I was told to call the sales manager,who will take care of the matter at hand.
Still with hesitation ,I insisted that it was still low season and would like a room with a sea view.
We had to pay a premium fee for this sea view room.The sales manager,Albert was very friendly and professional,I received a price and was guaranteed a booked room with a sea view.We knew the area and always wondered what it would be like staying at this hotel.The hotel was lovely,parking was available for free.The bed in the room was very comfortable!but furniture was dated. A small mini fridge with a key and Euro 10 deposit was available.I could fit in a few cans of beers and a bottle of water and a bottle of wine to enjoy relaxing on the balcony.The Hotel staff were very helpful.The disappointment was in the dinning room,the food was nothing special!! for an a la Carte menu for Euro 17.50 a person.The kind of food offered was a a bit of a disappointment,but for two days in a row we were challenged to make the right choice.The breakfast buffet fare was wonderful on the first day ,Saturday, but diminished in choices available on the second and more on the third day.On the third evening we were told only ten minutes before we were going down for our Sunday night dinner, that the kitchen was closed and we were to go down the road to have supper form an other restaurant belonging to an other hotel.This ended up being the best meal we had from the whole three day stay. I basically understood from my experience and talking to staff that this establishment was having difficulties with staff in the kitchen.Well If I was managing the place I would handle the food sector of this restaurant in a better way.We enjoyed the experienced and well mannered staff!Hopefully the Kitchen duties would be given to somebody who has a passion for food and not just a person whose main interest is savings and cost efficiency!
One gentleman from the serving staff was working hard to do a fine job!
So without taking away from the hospitality of this Hotel, I must share that,
when I visit Gozo ,I really enjoy hiring self catering apartments in front of the sea and having breakfast,lunch and dinner at different establishments at my own convenience,So I realized that this was an enjoyable challenge and experience.

Room Tip: It seems that they have self catered apartments ,but in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Michael

first of all thanks for your review, and yes we had an issue in the kitchen and this happens when you have a family working together. The chefs wife who is a dishwasher with us felt sick and she fainted and hit her head. we couldnt leave the chef working and his sone the assisatnt after the acciendent. We prefered to close the restaurant and send the guset to other restaurantbecuase you mentioned the chef wasnt concentrating on the job.

hope we will see you again to give you another challenge.

Thanks
Albert
Marketing@hotelxlendi.com
79478248

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at Xlendi hotel for a few days on 6th may 2014. The hotel itself was immaculate. we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which had kitchenette and cooking facilities, hob and oven as well as a fridge. Yes the furnishings were a little dated but none the less they were top quality furnishings of solid wood including kitchen units and not the usual cheap mdf found in most hotels. Given the nature of malta and gozo being rustic I find the decor fitting with the culture. I cant stress enough how clean the apartments were. I have no complaints!! The staff at the hotel were extremely friedly and could not do enough to help. After bumping in to the manager in the lift he was extremely keen to find how our experience was and if he could improve anywhere...big thumbs up!! most managers i have came across try to brush stuff under the carpet! Breakfast was the best buffet platter I have ever seen and Ive stayed in a few hotels with freshly prepared food including fruit bread engish breakfast and an array of cakes and pastries as well as tea coffee and fruit juice, the cereals were branded and not cheapest on the market... ok so I think you can see the hotel is excellent value and very comfortable. So Xlendi bay itself was beautiful.. breath taking scene from the htel across the bay, the bay has an array of restaraunts all very fairly priced. there are a few dive centres and activities to do on the water, inc sailing kayaking power boats, banana boats, boat trips and pedal boats. the bay has various stone built diving platforms and some walks over the cliffs. there is a bus which is 1.50 euros for a day ticket and you can go all over Gozo. first take the bus to victoria bus station and then anywhere you want.. it takes about 15 min to get to victoria then another 15-30 mins to anywhere else. the last bus back to xlendi is roughly 1040pm and they run every 30min. Gozo is a quiet island full of culture and I highly reccomend staying at this hotel. I hope you find this review helpfull.. Thanks

Room Tip: Self catering apartment is exceptionally spacious!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALI L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Ali

Thanks for your long constructive review, how much i wish everyone was like you. Yes we are improving day after day thanks to reviews like yours and others we get. Sometimes we fail to give the 100% but we are humans too.


Once again thanks on behlaf of the Directors and all the staff and hope to see you again

Albert
Sales & Marketing Manager
marketing@hotelxlendi.com
Mob: +356 79478248

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

On arrival we were placed in a self-contained apartment, it was dated yet clean and well looked after. Our only concern was that the shower head was difficult to manoeuvre and it only had once functional powerpoint!
The staff were lovely and the location was beautiful and very central.
The staff went above and beyond o help us when our tyre went flat.
The breakfast buffet was great.
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottoncandy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Good morning

On behlaf of the Directors and staff would like to thanks you for your visit at our hotel and for your review. We are glad that you found our hotel of great value for money, but at the same time sad to hear about the shower head. I will check with the opertaions manager to be sorted.

Thanks
Albert
Sales & Marketing Manager
marketing@hotelxlendi.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

To be fair, the hotel is in the process of remodeling and we stayed in an apartment in the older section. It was O.K. but for the following:
Kitchen did not look as if it had been cleaned very well since the last occupants.
We had to ask for dish washing liquid, sponge, dish cloth etc. If someone was coming from a foriegn country this could be a problem.
Minimal crockery and silverware. and only one toilet roll.
Bed pillows are hard. Balcony doors were very hard to open and close with dirty tracks and could not be locked.
Having said that, the staff could not be more helpful. I was unable to have breakfast as I had to leave early morning for work but they were kind enough to give me sandwiches and fruit as I could not get anything else to eat during the day.
The wifi internet is very good once logged in each time used.

Room Tip: Until the remodeling is completed, I would suggest staying the newer section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Good morning

Thanks for your review. The section of the apartment where you was staying will be undergoing refurbishment in the next year hopefully, but still its not an excuse to have just one toilet paper roll or lack of maint. i will inform the person in charge to take action.

Thanks
Albert
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We are a family of four 2 adults and 2 children, we visited this hotel 2 times in the past 2 years. The apartments are clean and well equipped and are a great choice for families. Apartments give you the choice to cook or prepare something quick for the always hungry kids or you can opt to eat out in the various good quality restaurants in Xlendi. The rooms are air conditioned cool in summer warm in winter. The staff is corteous and helpful. Our first visit to this hotel was in summer, the kids really enjoyed the tunnel that takes you directly to the beach. There is also a rooftop pool and a solarium. Our second visit was this winter and we really enjoyed the warm indoor pool. The breakfast is a healthy option made from fresh local produce not the usual calorie packed standard hotel breakfast.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Javier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi javier

thanks a lot for your comments. as a hotel policy we promote healthy eating and thats why we offer such breakfast. we are glad you enjoyed it, the kids mostly.

Thanks
Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
734 reviews
0 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
759 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
848 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gozo Village Holidays
Gozo Village Holidays
#3 of 4 in Victoria
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa

Address: St. Simon Street, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1300, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range: £37 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated to make the most of this natural beauty spot, the hotel provides a welcoming, comfortable and friendly environment to enjoy a stay with your partner, family or friends. Our team are focused on going the extra mile to ensure that you have beautiful memories of your stay with us. We value your feedback, if there is anything we can do to improve your visit please tell a member of our staff who will be delighted to help. Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa also caters for your health and well-being. Relax with a spa treatment, pamper yourself at our hair & nail salon, unwind in one of our pools and energies your day in our gym. It’s the perfect choice if you want a holiday to relax and revitalize your body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xlendi Resort And Spa
Hotel Xlendi Xlendi
Serena Beach Club
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing