We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Room...super overall service...but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I am perplexed if this hotel is a 2 or 3 star....i read reviews of other travellers and since hotel offers different type of accomodations, one cannot be biased or conclude prior visiting. The room we booked was very spacious and had a wonderfull breath taking view of xlendi bay...simply super !...toileteries found were the basic ones but were enough. Room had a kettle and coffee which in my opinion its a great plus for the hotel...no 3star hotels offer this service or else very few do. The free parking area which the hotel boats about is very limited and based on a first come first seved basis...i never managed to find a parking and had to park on the road or other public parking in the vicinities. The restaurant needs mjor refurbishment...its quite old ..i remeber visiting the hotel some 20 years back when hotel was formerly named Serena aparthotel and i dare say that its still the same. Breakfast was super as well though sausages went awol and never formed part of the buffet during our stay. Whilst keeping in mind that this is a 2/3 star hotel, these are just minor and trivial issues and nothing when compared to the service given. Reception staff were very helpful and office personnel responded in a timely manner all email and correspondences on issues which i had concerns about. All in all it was a very wonderful experience and will surely be back.

Room Tip: Pre book for the new block rooms...601 upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JozDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi
thanks for your comments. as a hotel we are officially a 2 star and most of facilities such as toiletries, coffe facilities, kettles andd so on are being offered as extras.

we are still seeking improvments and we are doing our upmost to do so.

Thanks
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed there from the 10th June for 3 days on half board. It was a special deal so I wasn't expecting anything special but to our surprise we were treated so well. Breakfast buffet and dinner was amazing both days, beach access and both pools were clean, hotel staff were so pleasant especially the restaurant manager and the Italian therapist at the Spa. The rooms are spacious and well equipped apart from the small TV but who needs a TV when there is so much else to do. My wife availed of the Spa, the prices are reasonable and very professional. If ever I stay in Gozo again this is my selection again. There are many places where to stay in Gozo but this boutique Hotel surpassed all our expectations. Keep it up and Thanks! Bruce Pace

Room Tip: Request a room at higher levels so you get a good view of Xlendi bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Hi Bruce

Thanks a lot for your review. We try our best to upkeep with our clients expectaions, although we make mistakes too as we are humans too.

Hope we will see you again with us

Thanks
Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The offer we took on the price was excellent and the two day stay was very good value for money. The location of the Hotel is excellent, the staff very helpful and courteous and the food is very well cooked and presented. I strongly recommend a sea view room for the extra charge. Our room had partial sea view and consisted of a combination bedroom, sitting/dining room and kitchen and was very reasonably clean.

Room Tip: Go for a full sea-view room. The extra charge is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Manuel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear manuel
thanks a lot for your review. hope we will see you again

Thanks
Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked Xlendi Resort & Spa, as there was an online offer. I must point out that for the price we paid, the hotel was fine. We needed somewhere to stay since we had a party to attend to and we didn't want to pay the exuberant prices that other hotels charge. The website which we booked from, only showed the pictures of the deluxe rooms and of Room 108, which we eventually got. Pictures showing on the Xlendi Hotel website are in fact of Rm 108, which is decent.

The first room we were given was a three bedroom apartment and it was below street level which I found very depressing. I booked a double room but the manager informed me that all their rooms were in actual facts apartments. I complained about the room being underground and they immediately changed our room, which was quite helpful and made our stay more pleasurable. This was only possible since the other couple had not yet arrived.

The Location of this hotel is great. It's linked to the beach and the views from the restaurant are great. We only had breakfast there, which we found to be quite limited. We didn't use the spa and neither the pool. The outdoor pool is very small and uninviting to be honest.

Other than that, the room was clean and it is equipped with TV and Air condition. Toiletries usually found at hotels were limited so make sure to take your own. We had a fully equipped kitchen which is practical if you don't want to eat out everyday.

On the whole it wasn't bad. If you get a really good deal and you're there to enjoy Gozo (rather than the hotel), take it. If not, consider paying more and book a really good room with a sea view or book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Some apartments are below street level. I'd try and avoid that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertie_29_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Hi
Thanks for your review. We mostly have apartment and of which 2 of them are under the street level and we try to leave them for the last to be sold. For next time, please book directly with the hotel so that if no front rooms are free, we try to sort it for a different date.

Thanks
Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great location, with great views, staff very friendly especially the manager. But the restaurant is a bit outdated and food at breakfast wasn't great. Also nice indoor pool but the roof pool is small and uninviting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

hi charlotte

thanks for your review. what i can say is that the issues you pointed up, we know about them and hopefully by end of this season we will be enlarging the pool and also renovate the restuarant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We visited to hotel as there was an offer and overall we were satisfied for the price tag. I see this as a hotel of ups and downs... Ups like views, food and outdoor areas, links to beach... Downs like the room and common indoor areas, bathrooms. Location is great. If you get a good offer take it, otherwise for a high price consider either a good room or think twice! Cheers

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Neil1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi Neil

Thanks for your review. Yes as every hotel in the world has its ups and downs, and it depends on the person's expectations. your up maybe down to others and your downs can be the ups to others, but was it is sure is that we do our best to imprive day after day, and reviews like your give us the strenght to continue improving and to elarn too.

Thanks
Albert
Email: marketing@hotelxlendi.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We didn't intend to stay in Xlendi area, thanks to some booking problem in another hotel in Gozo. When we arrived Xlendi area, it was already late evening, we walked along the street to find a room by last minute walk-in and thus couldn't enjoy any advanced booking discount. We found another hotel with a quite nice restaurant, but the sea view rooms were all full; while this hotel left with only the most expensive type deluxe sea view room. We decided to pay more to have a night with wave sound. Good for this hotel with its own parking area, while unluckily that the kitchen has closed early that we couldn't try dinner in the hotel. We admired the room with antique style interior decoration. When we settled, the sun has set and we didn't realize any merit from the dark sea view. After dinner, we wandered around the hotel for different facilities, gym, indoor swimming pool, pool side restaurant(but all has closed), it looked not bad, the receptionist told that even we have checked out in the next morning, we may still enjoy the facilities of the hotel, but we did't have time to do so.

It was so amazing when we saw the nice bay view from the balcony in the next morning. The scene worths all the money paid! The buffet breakfast was another bonus with many different choices, from cold cut, english style breakfast to the whole cupboard of Maltese cheese and food! We were crazy that it was cold but we went for swimming after crossing the direct tunnel from the hotel to the beautiful beach downstair. All the above made our stay in this hotel full of surprise!

If I have to be picky, the bathroom with few toiletries may count, but that's minor. What has left in our memory was still the beautiful scene from the room!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WillmaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Rose V, Manager at Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

hi

on behalf of the directors and staff, would like to thank you for your review and nice comments. I remember you when you came in as i was present in the reception at that time. Ye sthe view is fantastic and for a few euros more than normal one can enjoy the great panorama.

when ever you decide to visit us again, do let me know and i will be more than happy to quote you our best rates

Thanks
Albert
Sales & Marketing Manager
Tel: +35679478248
Email: marketing@hotelxlendi.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
734 reviews
0 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
759 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
848 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gozo Village Holidays
Gozo Village Holidays
#3 of 4 in Victoria
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa

Address: St. Simon Street, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1300, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range: £37 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated to make the most of this natural beauty spot, the hotel provides a welcoming, comfortable and friendly environment to enjoy a stay with your partner, family or friends. Our team are focused on going the extra mile to ensure that you have beautiful memories of your stay with us. We value your feedback, if there is anything we can do to improve your visit please tell a member of our staff who will be delighted to help. Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa also caters for your health and well-being. Relax with a spa treatment, pamper yourself at our hair & nail salon, unwind in one of our pools and energies your day in our gym. It’s the perfect choice if you want a holiday to relax and revitalize your body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xlendi Resort And Spa
Hotel Xlendi Xlendi
Serena Beach Club
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing