We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming family run place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Antonio Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Xlendi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming family run place”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed for a very short break of 2 nights here. It was our first stay in Xlendi, although not the first in Gozo. I fell in love with the place, especially during the early morning 7:00am walk when the sun is just rising and there's very little activity around. On the other hand in the evening Xlendi is attractive with all the restaurants by the water's edge lit up.

San Antonio was a very welcoming guesthouse. The owners were friendly & helpful, not only asking how our day was during breakfast but also telling little anecdotes about their family. It felt like a home and not a business. Our room, a double room, was very spacious and clean. It had a balcony which overlooked the street. However it was still very quiet as the street is not busy at all. There was also a bathroom with very clean towels and a very strong water pressure. There wasn't a hairdrier available, however they provided me with one the moment I asked during breakfast.

Breakfast was served between 8:30 and 9:30 and consisted of a choice of egg (boiled or fried), ample toast (George kept asking us whether we feel like more), coffee or tea, and cereal.

The guest house also has a common large terrace with amazing views of Xlendi bay and a small library of international books. Something which was a huge plus was the AC in the room which isn't commonly found in guest houses or apartments or even hotels in Gozo.

Although it was a very nice stay I still found some slight disadvantages:
The main thing which bugged me was the lack of lighting. In the bedroom there wasn't light above the large mirror above the chest of drawers and the bathroom didn't have sufficient light to put on makeup properly.
The TV was limited to foreign, non english speaking channels. Although there were a lot of channels very few were in English. We however didn't come for holiday to watch TV, but it would have been nice to have an english music TV station.
Also, the balcony didn't have any light so it was quite uncomfortable to stay out on the table & chair at night since it was very dark.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    46
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
81
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights which enabled us to explore Gozo in detail. It is a lovely island.
We occupied a room in the Villa St. Jude, next door to the main guest house, whose facilities we shared. It was a beautiful room with a huge balcony and from my bed I had a view of the Mediterranean Sea and the stunning cliffs. Storage space was excellent, the furniture was lovely. The shower room was good. It was a nice touch to have the kitchenette facilities on the landing.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The bedding and towels were a bit tired, but quite freshly laundered. The room was serviced every other day.
Breakfast was an adequate continental breakfast served in a homely and friendly manner. Many thanks to you all for looking after us so well.
Xlendi is a pretty bay with stunning sunsets after which you have a plethora of excellent restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryT221111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I incorporated a 3 night stay here into a 3 week Malta trip. What a find.! After the hustle and bustle of Qawra on the mainland, the San Antonio was a welcome quiet and very comfortable break The room was large, very comfortable with good quality furniture. I must point out 2 major room features that were particularly welcome. Firstly, air conditioning that actually works.!, particularly welcome with the high humidity that is common in August/September. Secondly, a full size bath with abundant hot water at amazing pressure. After commenting to George on this, it turns out the San Antonio is solar powered, with excess being sold back to the local 'grid'. I might add that this had nothing to do with a power cut on the last night, which took out Xlendi and all the surrounding villages, but hey-ho, holiday experiences and all that !!
The swimming pool and surrounding area was excellent, spotlessly clean, and with adequate sunbeds. Should you be around the pool and need a cold drink, there's a great 'van shop' that stops outside the guesthouse at various times of the day, stocking all kinds of cold drinks, snacks, fruit and veg etc. She announces her arrival by honking the horn...loudly and persistently.!!!. Views from the terrace overlooking the cliffs and tower are simply stunning.
The breakfast was advertised as continental, but with ham and cheese, a fried or boiled egg, toast, cereals and I think a home made preserve, it was a fantastic start to the day.!
A pleasant 10 minute downhill (very.!) stroll into Xlendi itself, found an abundance of great restaurants nestled around the tiny bay. Note of caution, after a good meal, it's generally a lot more than a 10 minute stroll back.!!
Make use of the local bus, which runs on a loop to Victoria and back. From there you can access the rest of the Island by bus, and with a day pass at 1.50e, a bargain. Taxis tend to be pricey, but the fares are generally fixed and advertised.
George, Maria and Anna are fantastic hosts, and although only being there between certain hours, are always contactable If the need arises.
All in all a fantastic gem of a place, the only regret being I didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xlendi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent a very happy family holiday at St. Antonio Guest House in early July. The accommodation was ideal for a family of 4, tucked away in a quiet street and just a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Xlendi Bay. We had adjoining rooms with a fridge, en-suite, clean, super swimming pool and George and Maria were very helpful and friendly. It's the best family holiday we've ever had and will definitely plan to return in the not-too-distant future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a great week staying at this B&B. The staff is so nice, helpful and service minded, although they are only there for a few hours every morning (which was not at all a problem). The room was big, it was clean and the guest house had everything we needed for a weeks relaxing vacation. Bus connection only a few meters down the road, great view of the sea from the balcony, and a quiet location in the extremely beautiful and picturesque little village of Xlendi. For the price we paid, our vacation was way better than we could have dreamt of. You are guaranteed great value for your money here, at least if you're staying in one of the rooms with sea view.

Only downsides: Shower could have been bigger. AC could have been quieter.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view, it's well worth the little extra money. It's not just a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjørnar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were just spending 2 nights here on Gozo after a week at the Radisson Blue resort at Golden Bay Malta. Problem was we were used to the 5 star accommodation! However it was a lovely stay the hosts were very nice and friendly and relaxed. Our room was spacious and had a lovely view over Xlendi Bay. It was very basic with just a hand shower over the bath and no hair dryer. Breakfast was fine. It was good value for money. There was a swimming pool area with loungers around but we were too busy travelling round the island to sit and relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George G, Manager at San Antonio Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
I am happy you enjoyeed your stay , but just for you to know we do offer hair dryers. All you had to was ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We landed here by coincidence and were not disappointed. It's nothing fancy but if you look for a nice clean place for a great value that's the right thing for you. We paid incredible 25€ pp/ night in a three bed bedroom incl. bfast. The atmosphere is cosy and casual and the staff belongs to one family and is very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadisunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.1 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
708 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Guesthouse

Property: San Antonio Guesthouse
Address: San Antonio, Tower Street, Xlendi, Island of Gozo VCT115, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Antonio Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate little guesthouse, situated in Xlendi, Gozo, is family run, is just a 4 minute walk to the sea and has only 13 bedrooms, single, Twin/Double, Triple, Quad Rooms. All rooms are nicely furnished and enjoy a TV with satellite reception, all are fully air-conditioned, and all have an en-suite bathroom. Moreover each room enjoys also its own terrace or balcony with either a pool, garden or a sea view. Large swimming pool for adults and small splash pool for children. Just minutes walk to the beach and the Xlendi bay area. Guest House surrounded with private garden. Family run, quiet and clean. FREE WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Antonio Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Guesthouse Hotel Xlendi
San Antonio Guesthouse Island Of Gozo/Xlendi, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing