We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is too much trouble!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We booked a countryside-view room through Chevron Holidays for 10 days at the Kempinski on half-board. When we arrived we were upgraded to a deluxe room with pool and partial countryside views. The hotel was about half-full on weekdays and fully booked at the weekend.

The Kempinski is excellent and has well-trained, friendly and attentive staff. Nothing is too much trouble, and the hotel is quiet and peaceful.

Rooms are very spacious and well-equipped. They seem to have thought of everything from a shoehorn in the wardrobe to complimentary bottles of mineral water delivered every evening. Tea and coffee-making facilities were much appreciated too.

There is much variation in the size and aspect of balconies at the hotel, and this seems to be the main difference between the different types of rooms (they appear of similar size inside). We had a large balcony, but we found we barely used it as the hotel grounds are so nice and within easy reach of the room.

There are three pools, one of which is a ‘family pool’. This is a great idea, although at the weekend when the hotel was full, a few guests seemed to think that the request to take their children to the family pool simply did not apply to them. When the hotel is full there are only just enough sun loungers to go around and only just enough pool towels!

San Lawrenz is a small village, quiet and friendly, and is only a few minutes’ walk down the road, as is the adjacent village of Gharb. The Craft Village is next door to the hotel and houses a dozen or so small shops as well as the Gozo Glass factory – the only one on the island. There are two mini-supermarkets. We used the one called ‘Lighthouse’ near the Craft Village and it had everything we needed and more. Drinks at the hotel are expensive (expect to pay similar prices to an English five-star hotel) so you can stock up here and keep a small selection in the mini-bar. The hotel’s tap water is drinkable and quite pleasant.

There are two nearby restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk of the hotel. You can expect to pay 14 to 20 euros for a main course at Jeffrey’s restaurant in Gharb (closed on Sundays) and 16 to 22 euros for a main course at Tatita’s in San Lawrenz (this was closed for a whole week whilst we were there!) Of course, you could easily book a taxi or hire a car if you wished to look further afield.

We dined at the hotel for every breakfast and evening meal, although with the half-board option you can swap an evening meal for lunch at the hotel if you wish. The breakfast buffet was very good indeed: wide variety of food, always topped up. We found the half-board option to be decent value for money, as a la carte prices were 18 to 35 euros for a main course, and the buffet evenings were 35 euros per head. During our stay there were two buffet evenings per week: Asian (Chinese and Thai) which was excellent and an Italian buffet which was disappointing. There was also a BBQ buffet on Saturday night which was OK (if you like that kind of thing!) Overall, the food was very nice, if sometimes a little bland, but there was certainly plenty of it. You won’t go hungry on half-board! We liked The L’Ortolan restaurant best, as the service there was flawless. The Trattoria was good, but the service was patchy. We only had one lunch at the pool bar, which was nice enough, but we soon tired of the large hotel portions and opted for a lighter lunch bought from the local shops.

Live entertainment in the hotel consisted of a solo guitarist singing a wide selection of songs (pretty good, actually!) on three evenings per week at The L’Ortolan restaurant. There is a grand piano in the hotel bar but we never heard it played. This hotel focuses on peace and quiet; you won’t find much to do in the evenings other than eat and drink. The hotel bar was good, had a happy hour for cocktails, and two TVs showing major football games. We took a portable DVD player and plugged it into the TV in the room when we got bored.

The Quintessence Spa was nice but a bit pricey: 50 euros for a 45-minute massage. During our stay, there were five yoga classes a week (10 euros) and also a Pilates class once a week.

There is free Wifi throughout the hotel and also two free-of-charge computers near reception.

The hotel has a courtesy bus which is free to guests but needs to be booked in advance. They will take you to Victoria, Marsalforn, Dwerja, Xlendi and Ramla Beach. Departs 10:00 and 14:40, returns 14:15 and 18:00.

They also have four guided walks per week which range from one-hour to two-and-a-half hours’ duration. You can walk around the San Lawrenz countryside for an hour before breakfast, or if you’re more energetic (and have brought decent walking shoes) you can be taken around Dwerja to see the Azure Window, Fungus Rock and the Inland Sea, or to Kercem and Xlendi. We did the two longer walks and highly recommend them. The same guide (who is a Brit living in Gozo) also does mountain-biking and jogging around the area.

We’ve had a wonderful, relaxing holiday at the Kempinski. We rarely travel to the same place twice, but I believe we will be back at the Kempinksi in San Lawrenz in the not-too-distant future!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lindsey9517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Enjoyed a relaxing weekend break checking out on the Monday. We stayed in a Premium Room overlooking the pool which was on the highest floor.

Our bed was huge, widest I've come across in a hotel but the mattress was too soft and you could feel the board underneath. Room was nice and big with a nice balcony, bathroom had a jacuzzi bath which was nice.

As others have written the grounds and pool areas are lovely and well landscaped. Breakfast was great , BUT drinks at the pool bar were a total rip off, food over priced and portions not at all.generous.

The spa experience was great but found the Indian back massage to be mediocre and not worth the price. On the day I looked past these things as we were celebrating my wife's 30th but after when you look at the detail......!

I found the staff, especially the locals extremely friendly and helpful, and Gustine from the Spa is a credit to the Kempinski.

In Gozo this remains the best hotel.

Room Tip: Pool/Garden view worth it especially on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank npm108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is very well kept, clean, good food, beautiful ambjent and last but not least very helpful staff, I recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

i visited the hotel in March with my wife and our stay was excellent and very comfortable . The hotel staff were very very good, good spa treatements and overall 7 star stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prashar18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here for a week in July, the hotel is beautiful. Our room had 2 balconies, was very spacious and had stunning views. The pool areas were always clean, there were always enough sun beds, service was brilliant and the food delicious. The gardens of the hotel were lovely to walk around in. We found all members of staff very helpful. The spa and indoor pool were amazing for relaxation. Breakfast was served overlooking the main pool with plenty of choice. There are a couple of good restaurants within easy walking distance and the area felt very safe. I would love to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor on the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just returned from 10 night stay, fabulous service, food and facilities, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Location was good in that it is near the 2 villages of San Lawrenz and Gharb and the craft village which is handy for souveniers. We had booked a deluxe pool view room but was automatically upgraded to premium pool view. Best points: Breakfast buffet was excellent, food standard was good maybe a bit on the expensive side! 3 wonderful pools (although one of them is the resident's pool,this is not enforced) service was superb.
Bad points: being very picky, our room was a little tired for a 5 star resort, the shower enclosure needed a good clean, the adults pool was cleaned at the beginning of our stay but this tended to get slack towards the end, too many families let their children swim in the adult pool , despite signs! there was a lot of 'reserving' sunbeds which was mildly irritating, but it is hard to really fault our stay.

Room Tip: country view rooms are the quietest but no sun in the afternoon, in our experience the best pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the Kempinski for 12 nights and had a wonderful time. We began each day with a superb breakfast cooked and served by very friendly and attentive staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the buffet breakfast was regularly refilled with excellent quality produce. The rooms were large and spacious and equipped to a high standard. Complimentary fresh bottled water was provided each evening and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard.

The four pools were always extremely clean and well maintained. There were always plenty of sunbeds. We really appreciated that one pool was reserved for adults and children over the age of 12 which allowed us to enjoy a certain amount of peace and tranquility whilst also allowing those with younger children time to relax without worrying about disturbing others.

The staff at the hotel really do go that extra mile in order to make your stay special. We really feel we would like to say a special thank you to Mary Lise (chef) and Chalon (waiter) for being so helpful and attentive. Our son has a nut allergy and they went out of their way to ensure that both our son's needs and other dietary needs we had were fully accommodated.

A big thank you to everyone at the hotel - needless to say we are eagerly looking forward to returning to the Kempinski and to Gozo and its lovely people.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
2.9 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
770 reviews
11.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
18.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 3 in Sannat
855 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,280 reviews
9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range: £82 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! *** Please be advised that due to upgrading work of our Spa centre, the hotel will be closed from January 8th until January 25th inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing