We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent 10 days in this beautiful hotel over Christmas and New Years. THe hotel was clean and very spacious. The indoor pool and spa was fantastic. They were very kids friendly with a small indoor kids play area. Breakfast was excellent with a huge variety to choose from. We had lunch and dinner in local restaurants, if you like Italian and Chinese food you are in for a treat.
The Reception and spa staff at the hotel were excellent and very friendly. I would like to say a special thank you to Philip in Reception for helping us get on out flight home. He was brilliant in organizing transportation to get us on that plane. Can not wait to come back soon to this hotel.

Room Tip: The Junior suites on the third floor is lovely, clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrutiSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

My first visit to this property and it certainly went well. Staff were polite and service was fast. The hotel was very clean and was very well presented in every way. Food was excellent and I completely happy on every level, in fact it is in my top Kempinkis worldwide. I would very strongly suggest this hotel is worth serios consideration for your trup to Malta.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lechiffre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for 4 wonderful days. Got a double upgrade without asking had a lovely junior suite with a lovely enclosed veranda overlooking the pool. Perfect for December. Staff all courteous, professional and friendly. Their breakfast is fantastic, you need to diet after your stay. Spa facilities are first class.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

welcoming, professional atmosphere-friendly helpful staff-followed up luggage which was lost by Lufthansa, called airline for status updates and ensured it was delivered to room-fantastic breakfast (don't go if you are on diet)-could not recommend this hotel more highly

Room Tip: pool view superior rooms are large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mietek771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

What a fantastic winter getaway; this is getting difficult as, after our 8th visit, trying to be fussy gets more tricky so will just say this: start at (for us anyway) pretty PERFECT - and then go up from there. Personal welcome; check - courteous, professional, friendly, helpful, efficient service; check - strategic location (quiet yet close to sights etc + local buses stop right outside so no excuses); check - fabulous spa/pool/hot-tub; check - brilliant bar/cocktails; check - fabulous food/wine restaurant (yes you can get better 5* if you eat out but it's hard to beat as in house goes...) check - overall of course not "cheap" but then don't choose a 5* and complain! (well; yes some parts of the decor would benefit from some attention or a new chair etc but really come on... Am sure they may have the odd down day but we've never seen that... so enjoy...

Room Tip: if you can get a room on the 5th level or above and preferably at the back; you have a good chance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike11b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

While spending time in Malta over Christmas and New Year, we decided to book a few nights in Gozo - the weather was a bit mixed so we didn't really get much chance to use the outdoor facilities of the hotel.

We got a good deal online for our stay (thanks Trivago), and my expectations were high, having heard good reports from many people who have stayed here - however, in some areas the standards weren't quite as high as I thought they might be for a 5 star luxury hotel.

Our room (a standard/superior as they refer to it) was a very nice size - no complaints there, but the overall feel of the furniture and decor was a bit more 3 star if I'm honest ... it might be that the rooms are starting to need a touch of updating (taps and door handles are a bit worn etc), and I suppose for me it lacked the 'wow' factor.

Staff were all very nice and friendly, but service in the brasserie was a bit slow, food took about 50 minutes (for a burger) to arrive on a quiet evening .. but was very nice when it did.

I'd be interested in returning in the warmer months to make more use of the facilities and see if things are a bit different then - for now, I'm glad we weren't paying full whack.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LastMinuteMan_ab76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I am a regular at the Kempinski, having stayed there over several years. However, I was shocked at how poor and shabby the hotel looked during my last stay.

This hotel, which once was the showcase of Gozo hospitality, is now in dire need for a refurbishment. The furniture is old and well past its best-buy date, dodgy electric sockets, plastic plants may be found in unheated and soulless corridors, matched by shabby carpets and ancient curtains (more akin to an airport terminal)

Five star hotel standards? Yeah right? I can clearly affirm, hands on heart, that the Mgarr Grand Hotel has better looking rooms, and this is a four star hotel.

Add this drab environment, to ever decreasing level of hospitality by the Kempinski staff, and it becomes very clear why I will not check in at this hotel ever again, until the management comes to its senses, and invests new life into this establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ulysses29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
11.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
18.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,822 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
748 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,252 reviews
1.7 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range: £89 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! *** Please be advised that due to upgrading work of our Spa centre, the hotel will be closed from January 8th until January 25th inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing