We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Kempinski in San Lawrenz for our honeymoon in August 2013. Having booked a last minute deal 2 days after our wedding we hadn't had much time to research the area or hotel itself but were assured it was 5* and we'd have a great stay. I have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. It's immaculately clean, the staff have impeccable manners and are incredibly polite, professional and helpful (each of them spoke at least 3 languages, so they could fluently converse with guests in their own language - a nice touch) and the food was incredible - even my husband, who is really fussy with his food, was very impressed with the choice and quality of the food. There were, I think, 3 or 4 restaurants to choose from within the complex, a cocktail bar and a lovely wine bar - La Caverna - where we went several times. I would definitely recommend booking in for the wine tasting night at La Caverna - very reasonably priced, lots of great wine, a big platter of food and live music.
Our room, which was upgraded on arrival due to it being our honeymoon, was lovely. The bed was huge and we had a good sized balcony overlooking the pool with comfy sun loungers. The bathroom had both a jacuzzi bath and very large power shower. Rooms were serviced twice a day and we were given new toiletries every day and fresh bedding and towels every other day. There were a few English channels on the TV and we loved all of the little touches in the room - from the champagne and chocolates on arrival to the toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, slippers and dressing gowns. The rooms were incredibly safe, as was the hotel in general.
Even though we went in the height of summer and the hotel was packed we never had a problem securing sun loungers, and the pool was always relatively quiet. The free wi-fi was a bit hit and miss and we didn't always get great reception but seeing as we only needed it to book our transfers home this wasn't the end of the world!
We frequented the gym a few times during our stay and again, this was immaculately clean and there was always a good supply of fresh fruit and clean towels. The equipment was all modern and clean and had in-built televisions offering a range of English channels.
We would say that the only downfall of the hotel is its location - we walked the 20 minutes to the local town a few times but were disappointed that there was nothing there really (we were looking to stock up on cheap bottles of water and snacks to avoid the hotel mini bar - and we did eventually find one 10 minutes away in the other direction. We were a breakfast only package so if you choose the same then definitely go and stock up at the shop for snacks and drinks to have during the day, much cheaper). The hotel does offer a regular free bus service into the town centre, where there are lots of shops, a market and some cafes (definitely worth a trip) and to the local fishing bay where we went for a wander and some dinner one evening, for a change of scenery. Also, unbeknownst to us, our stay coincided with an annual festival the Maltese celebrate in August, so there was lots of early morning bell ringing from the local church and canon fire/fireworks. This wasn't really a problem - we just couldn't work out what it was all about! The lack of local amenities perhaps explains why there is so much on offer at the hotel (you didn't really need to leave, to be honest, we just like to explore when we go abroad) and why they can afford the prices they charge in their bars and restaurants. But this is the only fault, and really quite a minor one. If you like exploring local culture then you'll definitely enjoy wandering around the local town anyway, despite the lack of shops - the buildings are beautiful and it's very peaceful.
All in all, this is a fantastic hotel in a beautiful part of the world - if you're looking for a peaceful stay in luxurious, 5* surroundings then this is definitely for you! I'll definitely be looking out for the Kempinski chain for future holidays.

Room Tip: If you're on honeymoon then definitely ask for an upgrade - we were given a bigger room with a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeanneBilsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is our third visit and sure we go again. The rooms are nice and clean. Spa services are great. Staff very helpful and smart. The breakfast is abundant and good. The views from the room are great as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel let down by a number of things.

1. Room definitely not 5 star,
-very cold at night
-not enough bedding
- we had chocolate smeared on the walls above bed and they tried to tell us it was the wall however cleaned off.
-bed 2 singles joined
- kids bed is a sofa bed that was broken very unsafe kept collapsing

2. Facilities
- lifts not all lead to all floors, far and few in between so waited 20 min to get on with a buggy since lifts also too small

3. Breakfast
-not greeted when arrived and when we waited suddenly were told quite rudely that we cannot be accommodated.
- no high chairs available for an hour
- kept in asking for our tea and coffee to be served
- kept on being reminded that they were soon gonna close buffet but we were still there as some good ordered had not arrived

You get much better service in a premiere inn! Woman at desk did not even know how to take us to our room!

Very overrated and too expensive, very bad nights sleep!

Great kids club, great pools and spa! Lovely hairdresser too!

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank MASAMMUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

this is my first experience of a Kempinski Hotel.It certainly will not be the last.
From the moment we arrived,to the time we left,everything and everybody was fantastic.On arrival the reception staff were so efficient and polite and everything explained.
The food in the buffet was to die for,and again the staff were excellent.I have visited hotels in Malta before but this one leaves others way behind.I would like to thank Mr Cebolla for training and employing such wonderfull staff,they are a credit to the hotel and the island of Gozo.

Room Tip: Choose a premium pool view,great view,lovely large terrace,fantastic bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael1958186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We have now stayed at this hotel twice and would definately return again. If like us you want somewhere that is very quiet then this is the place for you. You cannot fault anything about the hotel or the staff nothing is to much trouble and they are so friendly and helpful. The food whether it be breakfast/evening meal or even a snack is excellent. The walks around this area are stunning, you must visit the azure window and also Rangers pub, this isn't what you would expect at all, its really friendly and food is good. The rooms are spacious and clean at all times. This hotel is perfect for a totally relaxing holiday. I accidentally left my earrings at the hotel, but nothing was to much trouble for them, they posted them to me in the UK registered post.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 2jcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our stay at the Kempinski was truly pleasant and relaxing! The service was great and the Staff were courteous, helpful but unobtrusive! We loved the spa, the excellent food and the service all round! Our room was really spacious, clean and extremely comfortable! The garden is beautiful and the hotel afforded us the quiet break we were looking for!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marijaroza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay with the Kempinski was very pleasurable. The staff is extremely nice and helpful and would do anything to get you whatever you need.
The rooms are clean and spacious.
The best thing is the SPA area. The therapist - Christina is a gem person and very knowledgeable. Together with Hanna they let us experience the Hammam treatment. Let me tell you, the Hammam itself is beautiful and the treatment they offer is unforgettable.
The breakfast is also very good and of high Standard.
The only thing that was disappointing was the restaurant. They should improve it a little bit so that it matches standard provided by the rest of the departments of the hotel.
Overall, we spent there 2 great days and I highly recommend the Kempinski for your holiday on Gozo.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolineeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
2.9 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
765 reviews
11.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 3 in Sannat
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,969 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,277 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range: £77 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! *** Please be advised that due to upgrading work of our Spa centre, the hotel will be closed from January 8th until January 25th inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing