We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very nice hotel, relaxing ambience, very friendly staff and a beautiful spa area (especially the Hamam). We had a great time there. The only minus is that there are not many restaurants in walking distance to the hotel (during the low season when we were there, the ones that are there were even closed).. But the food in the hotel is really good and comes at a quite reasonable price. Otherwise there is a free shuttle bus offered by the hotel going to Victoria or a public bus leaving every hour. There is also quite a big supermarket close to the hotel. We can also recommend to ask the hotel to organize a winery tour to the Tal-Massar vineyards which are close by!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masdula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    293
    96
    34
    12
See reviews for
255
663
50
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurrieq, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend in February 2014 and I must say customer service is excellent. Also it provides very good quality and superb value for money. Rooms, room service, food, I really cannot find anything to argue about. The only downfall was, and this is hardly the hotel's fault, it took us a looooong time to find the hotel when we arrived, as there were major road works and it was impossible for us to notice the small opening in the bumpy road which led to the hotel. When we finally arrived though, the disappointment was immediately forgotten and everything was worth it. :) Would definitely be back. :)

Room Tip: Room on the 8th floor was beautiful, quiet, large and sunny overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is very nice but it is the staff who make it! Nothing is too much trouble for them! It needs to be upkept better. We moved rooms but the new room had an unusable shower..we knew this but we were promised a repair the next day..this didnt happen at all. The food is delicious but if you are vegetarian then you may be disappointed..as with lots of mediterranean hotels they dont really do vegetarian.
The location is not good out of season as there isnt an alternative for eating or drinking. However the hotel does operate a shuttle bus to various parts of the island which is very good. Also local service buses are brilliant! 1E50 for all day travel and the buses are almost always on time. Gozo is a beautiful island and apart from constant building work that is never fully finished its well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn_oliver_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Kempinski in San Lawrenz for our honeymoon in August 2013. Having booked a last minute deal 2 days after our wedding we hadn't had much time to research the area or hotel itself but were assured it was 5* and we'd have a great stay. I have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. It's immaculately clean, the staff have impeccable manners and are incredibly polite, professional and helpful (each of them spoke at least 3 languages, so they could fluently converse with guests in their own language - a nice touch) and the food was incredible - even my husband, who is really fussy with his food, was very impressed with the choice and quality of the food. There were, I think, 3 or 4 restaurants to choose from within the complex, a cocktail bar and a lovely wine bar - La Caverna - where we went several times. I would definitely recommend booking in for the wine tasting night at La Caverna - very reasonably priced, lots of great wine, a big platter of food and live music.
Our room, which was upgraded on arrival due to it being our honeymoon, was lovely. The bed was huge and we had a good sized balcony overlooking the pool with comfy sun loungers. The bathroom had both a jacuzzi bath and very large power shower. Rooms were serviced twice a day and we were given new toiletries every day and fresh bedding and towels every other day. There were a few English channels on the TV and we loved all of the little touches in the room - from the champagne and chocolates on arrival to the toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, slippers and dressing gowns. The rooms were incredibly safe, as was the hotel in general.
Even though we went in the height of summer and the hotel was packed we never had a problem securing sun loungers, and the pool was always relatively quiet. The free wi-fi was a bit hit and miss and we didn't always get great reception but seeing as we only needed it to book our transfers home this wasn't the end of the world!
We frequented the gym a few times during our stay and again, this was immaculately clean and there was always a good supply of fresh fruit and clean towels. The equipment was all modern and clean and had in-built televisions offering a range of English channels.
We would say that the only downfall of the hotel is its location - we walked the 20 minutes to the local town a few times but were disappointed that there was nothing there really (we were looking to stock up on cheap bottles of water and snacks to avoid the hotel mini bar - and we did eventually find one 10 minutes away in the other direction. We were a breakfast only package so if you choose the same then definitely go and stock up at the shop for snacks and drinks to have during the day, much cheaper). The hotel does offer a regular free bus service into the town centre, where there are lots of shops, a market and some cafes (definitely worth a trip) and to the local fishing bay where we went for a wander and some dinner one evening, for a change of scenery. Also, unbeknownst to us, our stay coincided with an annual festival the Maltese celebrate in August, so there was lots of early morning bell ringing from the local church and canon fire/fireworks. This wasn't really a problem - we just couldn't work out what it was all about! The lack of local amenities perhaps explains why there is so much on offer at the hotel (you didn't really need to leave, to be honest, we just like to explore when we go abroad) and why they can afford the prices they charge in their bars and restaurants. But this is the only fault, and really quite a minor one. If you like exploring local culture then you'll definitely enjoy wandering around the local town anyway, despite the lack of shops - the buildings are beautiful and it's very peaceful.
All in all, this is a fantastic hotel in a beautiful part of the world - if you're looking for a peaceful stay in luxurious, 5* surroundings then this is definitely for you! I'll definitely be looking out for the Kempinski chain for future holidays.

Room Tip: If you're on honeymoon then definitely ask for an upgrade - we were given a bigger room with a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeanneBilsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard Malta
Level Contributor
339 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is our third visit and sure we go again. The rooms are nice and clean. Spa services are great. Staff very helpful and smart. The breakfast is abundant and good. The views from the room are great as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel let down by a number of things.

1. Room definitely not 5 star,
-very cold at night
-not enough bedding
- we had chocolate smeared on the walls above bed and they tried to tell us it was the wall however cleaned off.
-bed 2 singles joined
- kids bed is a sofa bed that was broken very unsafe kept collapsing

2. Facilities
- lifts not all lead to all floors, far and few in between so waited 20 min to get on with a buggy since lifts also too small

3. Breakfast
-not greeted when arrived and when we waited suddenly were told quite rudely that we cannot be accommodated.
- no high chairs available for an hour
- kept in asking for our tea and coffee to be served
- kept on being reminded that they were soon gonna close buffet but we were still there as some good ordered had not arrived

You get much better service in a premiere inn! Woman at desk did not even know how to take us to our room!

Very overrated and too expensive, very bad nights sleep!

Great kids club, great pools and spa! Lovely hairdresser too!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MASAMMUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

this is my first experience of a Kempinski Hotel.It certainly will not be the last.
From the moment we arrived,to the time we left,everything and everybody was fantastic.On arrival the reception staff were so efficient and polite and everything explained.
The food in the buffet was to die for,and again the staff were excellent.I have visited hotels in Malta before but this one leaves others way behind.I would like to thank Mr Cebolla for training and employing such wonderfull staff,they are a credit to the hotel and the island of Gozo.

Room Tip: Choose a premium pool view,great view,lovely large terrace,fantastic bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael1958186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
1.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
11.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Property: Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Gozo. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing