We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat, wonderful SPA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice retreat, wonderful SPA”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you are tired of tourist complex in places like St Julien, Kempinski is a great alternative! It's located on the island Gozo where life is more rustic. The first impression is that the hotel is like an oasis in the rural area.

Stayed one night in the delux pool view room is ok. To my personal tasty, it's a bit old fashioned. Nevertheless it's clean and spacious. There is even a jacuzzi in my bathroom.

Had a quick lunch on the terrace overlooking the pool. The angus beef burger was delicious, however the margarita was not good. I doubt if they were professional enough to make cocktails based on the standard of the margarita. The service was slow, because there was like only one waiter serving on the terrace.

What I really liked was the SPA. It has different facilities, like steam room, pool, even a hamman! It felt so good to relax in the hamman.

Breakfast is standard, nice and quality food.

Because the hotel is not exactly located in the centre, you might need a car to get around, or take the free shuttle bus offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chizheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    296
    99
    35
    13
See reviews for
259
675
50
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Transport arranged by the hotel was waiting for us at the Airport. Welcome at reception was friendly and professional. Rooms and the servicing of the rooms was first class.The food in the restaurant and the bar and at breakfast was of a high standard. All the staff were genuinely friendly over the 7 days we stayed, so all we had to do was relax. Isn't this just what you want from a fine hotel?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcbridge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chose to unwind in Gozo prior to staying on mainland Malta at the Kempinpinsk Hotel San Lawrenz. This was an excellent choice as the atmosphere is so relaxed and welcoming. Our spacious airy bedroom with balcony overlooked the stunning rural countryside and distant sea views. We had decided not to hire a car, and by walking and helped by the amazing bus system in Gozo explored the wonderful countryside and coast blooming with wild flowers as well as enjoying the villages and archeological sites. Breakfasts were superb with an extensive choice to suit various nationalities and service was on the whole very good. An extra bonus was to be invited to a charity concert one evening performed by an international pianist and celloist . The spa was good and outside pool beautifully landscaped. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. This was our first visit to Malta and were so impressed with the beauty of the country, standard of food and cleanliness and generally the friendliness of the people

Room Tip: We asked for a countryside view (this also overlooked the pool which was stunning). It was a also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for one night on a trip over from Malta. Beautiful room, very spacious and extremely comfortable beds! Breakfast was superb and the staff were efficient and friendly. Only slight complaint was the very high level of chlorine in the indoor pool - otherwise everything was great.

Room Tip: Deluxe Junior Suite was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This Hotel is not Kempinski standards!
Maximum 4 stars Hotel.
The Hotel is old, and very used.
The room, spa and restaurant is bad.
The orange juice was unfit to drink.
The staff was excellent, and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Imre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,859 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Kempinski Hotel in Gozo is set in wonderful grounds which are beautifully mantained. The views from the bedrooms and dining terrace are really relaxing and beautiful. The pools and spa are of superb quality. The service at this hotel is outstanding - Gozo at its best. We have eaten here on numerous occasions in all of its various restaurants (poolside and indoors) and have never been disappointed. The food is of consistent excellent quality. Inevitably the hotel is one of the more expensive places on the island to stay or dine, but one is rewarded by superb service, and the very high standards of all facilities one would expect. We recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had a fantastic summer holiday here. Beautiful rooms with an excellent standard of cleanliness, helpful staff and fantastic food. We used the spa several times and I had a one to one pilates which was fantastic. The hotel organised our transfers from the airport to the hotel via the ferry. There was a slight hitch with the arrangements with the taxi to the ferry for our trip home but we arrived in good time to check in for our flight. I would highly recommend and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
1.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
11.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,185 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
710 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Property: Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Gozo. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing