We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy but a bit of a rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

- rooms large, comfy but slightly outdated
- pools lovely
- pool restaurant - great food - fantastic steak and cheese board
- pool bar prices massively inflated (diet coke from a plastic bottle €3 for a small glass
...........this is the worst one...........€18 for a taxi into Victoria. Apparently there is some kind of monopoly going on involving the Kempinski and private local taxi companies. We paid €18 for our transfer from Gozo ferry to the hotel. Outrageously we paid the same price for a 5 minute journey to a restaurant in Victoria to be told that we had to book the same one back later on after we had finished dinner........I don't think so!!!! Although we did have to pay €14 which is a total rip off. What is going on between Kempinski and the restaurants/taxis? This needs to be investigated. Would hire a car next time,.......how can Gozo taxi prices compare with those in London? But they do!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiGozo, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

Our hotel provides a free shuttle service to all our in house guests to Victoria, Ramla beach and Marsalforn, therefore we can assure you that there is no monopoly going on involving the hotel and the private local taxi companies. We as a hotel do not have any influence on the transfer rates as the prices are regulated by the taxi companies.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool and restaurant facilities.

Thank you once again for your time. On behalf of the hotel team we look forward to welcoming you again to the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz in the near future.

Regards,


Alberto Hormigo Cebolla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from a fantastic week at this lovely hotel! Have visited Gozo several times but always stayed in villas so was a real treat to stay here & it did not disappoint!! We had a very large & beautiful room overlooking one of 3 pools! The staff are extremely attentive especially at breakfast -which has a vast choice & was wonderful! Could not fault this hotel at all & really hope will return there soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobbybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and i just spent a long weekend at this hotel , everthing was great the room the service
the food , amazing spa and pools. We have stayed at this hotel umpteem times and one of my favorite things about it is that you get a feeling of being somewhere far off like the Bahamas!

Room Tip: Choose a rooma above 3 rd fllor pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Kempinski for a birthday celebration, and we were treated like royalty throughout. The rooms are fantastic, very big, spacious and enjoy beautiful views. Breakfast is out of this world, and anything imaginable is there. All the food is very fresh and you may enjoy breakfast at the terrace. The staff are always full of smiles and ready to help.

For a special treat in Gozo, the Kempinski is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book a room overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_M28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We came to the Kepinski hotel on Christmas Day for lunch and it was so nice we decided to book in for a night halfway through our Christmas-New year vacation for one night, we stayed in a suite which was fantastic.
Yesterday we decided to have cocktails during our summer vacation and and decided we would book lunch whilst we were there. When we asked if my son could have a swim after lunch we were told by a very curt receptionist only if we paid €30 which I thought was a staggering amount of money considering the hotel was virtuality empty. Needless to say we won't be having lunch there or cocktails.

Room Tip: This hotel is lovely and the staff were mostly very helpful it is expensive and even though it was e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueH234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is the ideal place for a quiet and peaceful get away. The hotel grounds and pool area are so beautifully set up to create that tranquil and serene environment. It was a perfect weekend... the spa is well equipped and very nice too. The staff were all very nice and friendly. Breakfast buffet abundant and varied. We had a junior suite with a pool view. Having a pool view is a must! Rooms are nicely furnished too. Service and cleanliness are outstanding! It is very pricey but worth the experience!

Room Tip: take a room with a pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merveille79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Got married on Malta and then went to the Kempinski for a 4 night 'honeymoon'. I can only describe this as PEFECTION! We had a room with a beautiful view as well as a Jacuzzi bath. The staff are very attentive, breakfast was superb and the pool areas are fantastic. We will definitely be going back! Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vels81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
11.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.9 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
757 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
844 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range: £81 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! *** Please be advised that due to upgrading work of our Spa centre, the hotel will be closed from January 8th until January 25th inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing