We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away at Kempinski San Lawrenz.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend away at Kempinski San Lawrenz.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a Junior-Suite and were impressed with the size. Everything worked as it should except for our door lock which was faulty and wouldn't actually lock. Problem was reported and we were given the suite next door. Fast, efficient service and response from Sebastian the Manager. Additionally we found on our return to our suite a personal note from the manager and a complimentary snack and wine offering which was unexpected but very much appreciated, moving room isn't that big a deal. Sauna and Steam rooms could have been a little hotter but apart from that everything was great. The pool bar staff, Nicole and if I remember correctly Demitrios (sorry if I haven't recalled your name correctly). Breakfast staff made us feel rather "special". and thus, worthy of a mention.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have easiest access to the pool. Don't get confused by the floor numberi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PanamahatT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiGozo, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback and it was with great pleasure to learn that overall you enjoyed your time here at our resort.

I apologise for any inconveniences caused with the door lock. I’m glad to hear that Sebastiaan managed to find a solution and that you’ve appreciated the small treatment from our side as an apology for the inconvenience.

I happily passed your comments to all of our staff members, in particular to Sebastiaan, Nicole and Dimitrios. Our main intension is to make our guest’s stay as comfortable as possible whilst away from home and it is nice to see that we succeeded.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest here at our Resort.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next reservation, we will be happy to assist you in any possible way.

Yours sincerely,



Alberto Hormigo Cebolla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    296
    97
    35
    13
See reviews for
259
672
50
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It was not long enough to enjoy all that was on offer. The prices probably would have put us off doing lots of the extra things available anyway. We didn't worry about breakfast because of the cost. The pool area was lovely to be in and was shaded enough to enjoy it. The rooms were lovely and the staff seemed friendly enough. I feel like they didn't want to help out at all. It felt like the staff just wanted to do what they had to and not one thing more. We had a good stay overall, I just think it was a bit expensive for the service that was given.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jebbikah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. Upon arrival, we were shown the way to our room and realized that we have been upgraded to a premier room. We chose the half board package and really enjoyed the breakfasts and three evening meals: a seafood buffet, a barbecue buffet with live performance and an great Italian a la carte. All had excellent variety and quality.

The spa facilities was first rate, but the hotel services were beyond our every expectation. The receptionists are extremely helpful, from giving useful information for our day outs, to contacting our travel agents for our return transfer. We felt spoiled sunbathing next to the outdoor pool when hotel staff frequently came to offer wet towel, lemon water and melon! Every night returning to our room, we found the bed had been made again, sleeper next to the bed and chocolates on the bed. Causal chat with the receptionist about our visit is a birthday trip, she secretly arranged a chocolate birthday cake to our room!! Very yummy!

We had really enjoyed our wonderful three nights' stay, sat at our balcony, enjoyed tea and cake, chatting and watching the stars above in the clear sky. It would not have been the same if not for the amazing service the Hotel receptionists and staff had given us. Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hong00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel after a busy stay in Valetta and then Sicily so this was a nice quiet hotel to relax and spend a few days lounging by the pool. The hotel is located in a remote location which adds to its "getting away from it" feeling and I liked. There is a little village 10 min walk away called St Lawrenz and well worth the visit to go to the little restaurant in the square call Tatiana (I think). The restaurants in the hotel are good too. When we checked in they told us the hotel was quite full. However when we toured the hotel and went to the pool it was hard to believe there was hardly anyone staying at the hotel. I think the main reason for the quiet feeling is this is how the hotel was planned and the grounds and pool ratio to guests is probably really high. That said it made it very relaxing and there was never any problem finding a lounger by the very nice pools. Staff also very nice. Everyone was very quietly spoken which seems to be a Gozian thing but it added to the relaxed feeling.
The only negative comment is when we checked in they put us in a room which was above the squash court. This was annoying because the squash players were very loud and this is usually how we woke each morning with 2 loud Germans screaming at each other in a very feisty game of squash. We could hear all of this from our room including the ball slamming against the wall. Also I booked a suite and they all seem to be on the ground floor. I was also promised a pool view. However the only way to see the pool would be to cut all the palms down. My recommendation is if you stay here do not stay in the rooms anywhere near the squash court. Which makes me think when planning to build a hotel who on earth would build a squash court anywhere near the guest accommodation? I would have given this hotel a 5 however this one negative thing reduced it to a 4. Also the beds where not the most comfortable and the hotel needs to invest in a more luxurious mattress.

Room Tip: Do not get any rooms above the squash court. If they do put you in one of these rooms asked to be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Having just visited Gozo and the Kempinski for the fourth time, I'd recommend to anyone who wants to totally unwind to visit the Ayurvedic spa. I invested in a 3 day programme which has proven to be a great experience and a great investment in my well being!

The Ayurvedic treatments are out of this world and the food you get on the programme is amazing! A must for anyone who wants to beat stress and rejuvenate totally.

We'll be back again soon!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everything you would expected from a Kempinski hotel. Stunning spacious rooms with the most comfortable beds. The food in the restaurant was amazing, and breakfast was one of the best I've had in any hotel.

The pools are lovely and kept very clean. The spa is fantastic, but I would recommend to pre book for and treatments way in advance. I was lucky and got a cancellation.

The bar in the lobby is expensive, but they did a happy hour. By the time you have ordered your cocktail and got it, happy hour in nearly over. Order a few at a time!

The hotel staff are all very friendly and knowledgeable of the area.

Room Tip: Pre book spa treatments in advance. Pool view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

All in all, this is very good indeed. There were a few little niggles, but nothing that is worth detailing here, and nothing that would stop me going back tomorrow.

The pools are very good, the food is great, and the receptionists were all helpful and frank, as were the staff at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
1.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
11.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,183 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
709 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Property: Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Gozo. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing