We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
29
2
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
2
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This is a small, 4 bedroom B&B that has a lot of charm. All of the bedrooms are upstairs, with views towards the water and dyke. Outside, there are sheep trimming the grass and we wake each morning to their "baaa's". Breakfast is great, filling and very tastefully displayed. After it, you can take a 30 minute bus ride from their doorstep into Amsterdam to explore. Or, you can rent a bike from them and ride around the area. The nearest town is Monnickendam, which is a very pleasant 30 minute walk and a much shorter time on a bike. Here, there are dedicated bike and walking paths, keeping you safely away from the cars.
We were here for 3 nights, along with another couple, and are very happy with our choice. If we were to come back to Amsterdam, we would stay here and commute. Make sure you allow time to explore the quaint towns with all their canals and bridges. They are very picturesque!

Room Tip: room 4 is a nice size and has windows on 2 sides
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Total relax in the magical Waterland landscape, it's unbelievable to be just 30 minutes by bus to the crowded Amsterdam Centraal station. The region offers many beautiful towns you can easily reach by bike or car. Hosts are kind and helpful, always available for suggestions and information. Breakfast is rich. Host took us at the airport at 4:30 a.m. for a fair price. I would definitively come back

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank spike_ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

After several years visiting Amsterdam, we decided to take our bicycles and stay outside the city center in the neighboring town Monnickendam.

We stayed several nights at Op de Horsten. It’s ideally located to visit Monnickendam, De Marken, Het Twiske, Volendam and even Amsterdam by bicycle (less than 1 hour). You can rent bicycles from the owner or bring your own as we did.

As you can read in the other reviews, the host are really helpful, the breakfast is plentiful and the rooms are comfortable. One small remark maybe: the breakfast is served by the owners and the choice is a bit limited, especially if you staying for a longer period.

We really enjoyed our stay and will come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal_Coyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Op de Horsten for three nights, a couple with two kids. We loved it, the house and room was clean and nice. Our hosts helped us in every way they could, which was really helpful since we didn't know the surrondings. The kids (12) and (5) loved the area, especially the small beach nearby and the sheeps in the garden.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Íris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ideally located in the Waterland with easy access to Amsterdam. Rinske & Ids were perfect hosts and provided great support & advice. Cycling in the area (even at night!) was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and we will be going back! The restaurants in the local town of Monnickendam were very good and only 10 minutes on the bike!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews