We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Lovers Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Lower bush cabin overlooking the Otter river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lower bush cabin overlooking the Otter river
Inside of the lower bush cabin. It has a double futon and couch for sleeping. Can sleep three. Straw bale cabin.Walls filled with straw for great insulation winter or summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Lower bush cabin overlooking the Otter river
Inside of the lower bush cabin. It has a double futon and couch for sleeping. Can sleep three.
Straw bale cabin.Walls filled with straw for great insulation winter or summer
Straw bale overlooking the valley. It has solar energy for lighting
Inside of straw bale downstairs. There's a double futon and pull out couch for sleeping
Straw bale with wood stove and table/chairs
King size futon in sleeping loft. Very comfy and windows open for warm weather
Beaver Lodge cabin is our largest one and overlooks the river and beaver dam.Cost $100/night
Beaver Lodge sleeping - double, two twins (kingsize bed), and a single. Can sleep 6
Beaver Lodge eating area and lounge area around woodstove
Another inside view of Beaver Lodge
Train station cabin circa 1890's. It has solar for lighting and small appliances
Inside train station - table/chairs and back of double bed surrounded by three windows
Train station showing double futon also for sleeping and 'caboose' woodstove
Train station campfire and view of site
View from train station over the valley
The old beam barn
Loft in the barn
Loft in the barn
View of lower level of barn
Tree house
Inside of tree house
Inside of tree house
Shower in the barn
Our trees, trails and beauty
Spring fed pond for swimming and fishing
View from back deck of tree house
Swimming in the pond
Our 'peace of heaven'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Port Burwell, Bayham, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rableton
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Perfect Lovers Retreat”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in the straw bale cabin.

Go for the vista, the wood stove, the king sized bed loft, the trails

And the welcoming helpful hosts

We are definitely coming back to experience a different season!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudsysr
Chatham, Canada
2 reviews
“Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed for 3 nights just after Labor Day in the Railroad Cabin. It was very restful and quiet (which is what we wanted).The only noise we heard were the birds and crickets. The cabins are spaced quite away apart so the privacy is very good which was not a big issue anyway because we were the only ones there for part of our stay so we had the 400 acres to ourselves.The owners were very friendly,accommodating, knowledgeable and respectful of your privacy. The cabins are very rustic and each has its own niche and history about them. All in all it was a very good stay, hiked a little , swam a little , fished a little and relaxed a lot . The only recommendations we could make is possibly putting a freezer in your barn to sell bags of ice (only reason we had to leave the farm) and a horn on your electric and very quiet side by side (haha)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharron C
2 reviews
“Stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Will stay again if i could add anything i would add a place i coild get ice closer for my cooler but i loved the peace and quiet

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A rural camping hideaway near Lake Erie”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The owner of this property is very nice and makes it known that he is available for his guests. The property is not that easy to find (even with a GPS), so print out turn-by-turn directions. The location is rural; there is not much around. The property is large, so there is plenty of space between each dwelling. The cabin we stayed in (Train Station) was small, perhaps efficient. There are camping amenities: fire pit, picnic table, potable water, charcoal grill, tiki torches and even primitive outhouse. Wood is provided. The interior of the cabin had a wood stove, camp stove (propane), and some kitchenware (glasses, etc.). There was no strict check-in or check-out time; the owners want you to be comfortable. We attempted to explore the nature trail, but weren't able to navigate too far. I feel that the price ($75 CAD + $10 CAD booking fee) could have been a little better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Ease of contacting the owner
Liked least: Price paid given the location and accommodations
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceed Expectations! Beautiful location, Great value.”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The photos don't do justice! I wanted to find a cabin in the woods to celebrate my birthday with some friends for a night and decided to book at Otter River Farms. Doug was very accommodating and he got us settled ensuring we had all the necessities for the night. We were a party of nine and we occupied the Beaver Cabin (Sleeps 6) and the Lower River (Sleeps 3). Both Cabins were within walking distance of each other but both felt private and secluded. The views from the cabins were spectacular! They are situated on a forested hill overlooking the winding otter river below. The Beaver cabin was large enough for all of us to spend time playing board games by lamp light. Fire kept the cabin toasty the entire night and was easy for cooking and preparing food. Both cabins and Outhouses were clean and had no smell. Kerosene lamps and firewood were provided. I would recommend this property to friends and will be returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing