We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed & Feel Cheated”

Tanjung Piai National Park
singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Disappointed & Feel Cheated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Honestly, we wouldn't come all the way here if we are not around Kukup.
There is nothing to see. No wonder the counter staff sold us 2 tickets for RM6.

We can't even reach the globe platform because every platforms is closed for renovation.
The further we go is the jetty plank walks!!! The trip was all done within 30 mins.

We do not mind to paid the entrance fees, but at least the staff should inform us about the undergoing renovation and the closing of most platforms. Feel cheated!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    25
    14
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Tanjung Piai National Park, Johor, Malaysia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This sprawling nature park is located at Tanjung Piai, the southernmost tip of the Asian continent. There are mangrove trees galore and tickets are priced at RM 5.00 for adults and RM 3.00 for senior citizens. The waves here are very strong and if you fall off the ferry you can be swept away for good. A good place for photography and there are steps for you to descend to the floor level to take a good look at siputs and snails. The only setback is that there are lots of jetsam and flotsam and discarded plastic bags left behind by visitors. Sometimes you can see squirrels and civet cats (musang) scurrying on the trees. It is about an hour's drive from Singapore.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CowSense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Weekend at Tanjung Piai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Attended my colleague's wedding at Pekan Nenas and decided to drop by Tanjung Piai. Nice place to visit but disappointed that the facilities looked run down and in need of repairs. There was no electricity that day as place is undergoing renovation. Staff are friendly, polite and helpful. Lived in Johor Bahru all these years and now only managed to visit the place. So near and yet so far away just like most of us. We visit wonders in far away places but don't visit one that is just at our door step. Met and took a picture of a newly wed couple coming for a photo shoot but their day was ruined by the rain just as it did to mine. Could not reach the globe platform due to the high tide that flooded the walk way. Not many visitors that day and I had the place all to myself - Lonely Planet? Ticket prices varies for local and foreign visitors. Local senior citizens above 50 years pay Rm3.00 instead of the normal Rm5.00. Worth visiting if you love flora and fauna.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack101213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
317 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We came here by Oct 2013. The scene is great and we love its natural environment. There are lots of mangrove. We are very curious about these special trees which the roots are all above the mud. Because there is full moon high tide, the bridge toward the southernmost tip of mainland in Asia is flooding. We have to walk across the water bridge. This is very fun. We just like this refreshing experience. The tourist is few therefore you can walking freely and enjoy the beautiful view as long as you want. Recommend to anyone who love natural landscape.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank hweeying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One time is enough”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Honestly, I wouldn't come all the way here if it wasn't for a company road trip.

A part from being at the southernmost tip of mainland Asia, there is nothing must here. Unless you love reading about the different types of mangrove plants and animals. You need to pay to enter this park. And rubbish is found all over the mangrove. Its not a very good sight and to know that most of this rubbish might have been washed up from the sea or from other tourist visiting the park. Just shows how 'clean' we are in Malaysia.

When we reached the tip, everyone whipped out their cameras and took pictures with the big stainless steel globe just to make our 'mark'. I honestly rather visit other parks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank szetwinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanjung Piai National Park also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Kluang, Kluang District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Tanjung Piai National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing