We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation and food but good activities”
Review of Abai Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinabatangan District
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abai Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Abai Jungle Lodge is a great little spot along the river. The food is quite basic but this is understandable as there is no road access to here or the village on the other bank. The rooms are basic and clean. But you don't exactly come to the river to sit around in the room all day!

The activities are great. They include the river boat safari, both at night and day where we saw orangutans, numerous monkeys, pygmy elephants and more. We also did a village walk, which I usually find awkward but it was really informative. The boardwalks around the lodge are teeming with wildlife and we saw hornbills, monkeys and a leopard cat on our walk. Our guide Bryant was amazing I would highly recommend him.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Abai Jungle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

The accommodation is fine, quite comfortable and clean but the rooms get very hot. It is really humid here and no air -con or fridge in the room, just a fan which seems to circulate hot air. There is no-where to cool off, you are hot again in no time after a cold shower.
The river cruises are very good, guides excellent, and the river is not crowded with boats here as it is further down the river. You see lots of proboscis monkeys, we also saw elephants and crocodiles.Don't miss the night cruise to see the fire flies - magical. Food Ok but a bit limited because of where you are. Breakfast in the forest a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 498VivM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Simple but clean, comfortable accomodation. A very well managed lodge which managed to cater for a large number of people without one ever feeling there were too many people there! This is done by carefully timing the boat trips, walks etc meaning that not everyone is in the restuarant at the same time. Food is ordinary but well cooked and presented and there is plenty of it. Staff are helpful and friendly and there is a lovely sense of fun and adventure about the place. A definite "must" for a couple of nights to explore the river and also the boardwalks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After a trip down the Kinabatangan river from STI's sister lodge (Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge) we were pleased to see a resort in much better condition. the rooms were similar in design but the bathrooms were bigger, the water was clean and the food was better (though still not spectacular). Still no aircon, but it was not too hot being on the river. They have a good section of boardwalks running through the jungle behind the lodges, from whcih you can view a number of creatures including the semi-tame young bearded pig (his older, bigger brother took off through the marsh at one sniff of us, but the little one even hung around at breakfast at the jungle platform the next day, sticking his nose ontop the boardwalk to score any food thrown his way). The location on the riverbank is pleasant for sitting and watching the mighty river flow by. The visit across river to the moslem village is somewhat underwhelming. We had a great trip back up river to search (successfully) for the herd of pygmy elephants we had encountered the day before. Got great shots of them down by the riverbank ripping into the foliage. Also great views of more Proboscis Monkeys and Macaques. Ox Bow lake the following morning was delightful. Great photo opportunities and up close with some monkeys and various birds. The trip down river to Sandakan afterwards was also interesting though we were in the main boat and didn't stop for any viewing.

Room Tip: couldn't see much difference between the rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Metceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After reading several reviews I had prepared the teenagers for "roughing it". We did the 4 day 3 night tour with SI Tours which included one night at turtle island(separate review) and 2 nights at Abai jungle lodge. We had an amazing time I loved the rustic feel of the rooms and the wildlife noises that surrounded us. Our family of four was provided with our very own guide, who was attentive and could spot wildlife miles away. We saw snakes and 3 varieties of monkeys and on our last river cruise we spotted a mother and baby orang-utan. Our morning cruise had a special touch as we stopped for tea and coffee in a lovely tranquil area surrounded by lily's, we also visited a local village and planted a tree to replenish a part of the damaged rainforest. The traditional Malaysian food was fantastic and yummy banana fritters for afternoon tea. Breakfast in the rainforest was a highlight as was the warthog who joined us. SI tours run a very professional service whom I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Only spent a night at this lodge but packed in a huge amount in less than 24 hrs. Wildlife viewing mainly based on the river but they also have some small walks and viewing towers around the lodge that you can wander around yourself.

Yes, rooms a little basic but your not here to relax. The buffet style food was great and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Communal eating with guests is also great, to exchange experiences/sightings of the day.

Thanks to Sam our guide. Knowledgable, attentive, nothing to much trouble. Helped us manage to see hornbills, monkeys, crocodiles, owls and the fanstaic fire-fly display and even provided tea and biscuits during a break.

A special "big up" for Junior ... the friendliest wild boar I've ever met and the lodge cats.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a great time staying at this lodge. We spent one night here, but met return travelers. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food plentiful and delicious. Our guide was Terry who was able to spot orangutans, monkeys and snakes in the distance and made sure we all had the chance to see them before moving on. The boardwalk around the lodge makes exploring locally and the night tour easy for all ages.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellyBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinabatangan District
21.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
16.5 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
13.0 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
354 reviews
16.5 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
263 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abai Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abai Jungle Lodge

Address: 47 km from the river mouth of Kinabatangan River | Abai, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kinabatangan District
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Abai Jungle Hotel Sabah
Abai Jungle Lodge Kinabatangan District, Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing