We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected comfort in the forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sukau Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unexpected comfort in the forest”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The feel SRL gave was comforting, homely, tranquil. One feels close to nature by walking barefoot on the corridor, sitting in the open taking in the sounds n sights of the forest. The staff, guides esp, seemed happy working there, n would tell w pride how the lodge goes green n also help the locals. There's no air-con n recycled cooking oil used as fuel oil.
While the lodge is children friendly, easily excitable kids may cause displeasure as they run on e wooden floor.
Annoyingly, some guests disregard the staff's instruction not to enter the lounge with soiled shoes, when many other guests were actually barefooted or w the provided room slippers.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    157
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
140
334
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We spent 4 nights at Sukau Rainforest Lodge, which is a 2.5hrs and 90km boat trip up the Kinabatangan River, in March & had a truely amazing stay! During the boat trip up the river to the accommodation we start to get the feeling we were really in the jungle as we only pass a couple of villages of what the Malay’s refer to as “River People”. And about 1.5hrs into the journey we spot our 1st orang-utan in the true wild! Have seen many in Zoos & nature reserves but never before in the wild!! This is really a priviledge.

The lodge is quite small, only 20 rooms and all have been newly refurbished with a lovely sitting area at the back of the room looking into the rainforest.The dining area is on a covered deck that extends out over the river and out the back is a boardwalk leading into the jungle that crosses elephant paths, so the boardwalk has gaps to allow the elephants through otherwise they smash it up! The boardwalk is a necessity as the ground is extremely water logged and boggy, everything at the lodge is built up off the ground. The wildlife spotting is done from small boats, basically long narrow wooden dinghy’s, that hold eight people plus the guide. During our stay here we do two afternoon, one early morning and one night time wildlife spotting excursion in the boats. We are quite lucky with the wildlife spotting, we see lots of Borneo pygmy elephants, long tailed macaques, pig tailed macaques, crocodile, hornbill’s and the main two things we came to see, the very weird proboscis monkey’s & another orang-utan, it was a huge male with enormous cheek flaps & he is looking right ast us.....where else can you experience something like this?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gayengarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Our stay at Sukau Rainforest Lodge (May 18-20) exceed all expectations. From the time we were met at the airport we felt welcome. The 2.5hr boat ride up the river was to be a highlight,
seeing 2 Orang Utan and a herd of Pygmy Elephants and the only shower of rain. On arrival at the Lodge being met by Donnie, Brett and their excellent staff, gives it a personal feel.

We took advantage of all the boat trips on the river - Orang Utan, Proboscis Monkey, Crocs and a variety of other animals and birdlife including the Rhinoceros Hornbill are to be seen. A huge thank you to our guide Jumaidi for his keen eye and knowledge of the Kinabatangan River wildlife and area.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, a good variety of buffet style food for each meal which is served overlooking the river. A must do for anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurWay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

For those who love nature, a trip to Sabah's Kinabatangan River is a must! We stayed at the Sukau Rainforest Lodge and enjoyed every moment. The lodge's commitment to eco-tourism and attention to the environment (including attempts at self-sufficency in energy and water) is to be commended. The staff was simply wonderful, from Husin the head cook to Annie (whose grandfather originally owned the land) -- very friendly and accommodating. Our river cruises were beyond expectations -- with the added unexpected treat of viewing the shy bearded pig and the pygmy elephants! A highlight! We also spotted an orang utan with her baby in the trees in the boardwalk area behind the lodge. Richard, our guide, was knowledgable and helpful. Really had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Besuki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just wanted to give people a positive feedback on this lovely lodge. We stayed here the beginning of April for 2 nights with 2 children aged 14 and 10. The pick up from our hotel in Sandakan (The Nak Hotel - see my other review) through to arrival at the Jetty to collect the boat was fine. Richard was our guide, lovely guy and so knowledgeable. The trip is approx 2.5 hrs via the sea and then obviously the river, great location the rooms are just the job, everything lovely and clean and great showers etc. the children were in the room right next door. Food was fab catered to all tastes. Did a trip up the river on the day we arrived and were woken at 5.30am the following day for a 6am start to see the birds etc. we were greeted on the veranda (overlooking the river) with coffee, tea, toast etc. as a scooby snack! A good 2hrs on the river - so peaceful and lovely proboscis monkeys etc. etc. fabulous birds. Returned back to a full breakfast even marmite!!! II wont bore you with all the details but we had a lovely time here - the staff were absolutely lovely, Donny the Lodge Manager does a fantastic job and all in all wouldnt hesitate to spend just that little extra and stay here - so very worth it. PS. hope you see the pygmy elephants! Any questions just ask.

Room Tip: There are only 20 rooms 10 on one side and 10 on the other, to be honest, the further away you are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrsshearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Sukau Lodge as part of a 4-day EcoBorneo trip. I have only praise for both the trip and the lodge - it was simply a perfect holiday. Nestled in the jungle, with monkeys in the trees, geckos on the walls and the sounds of hornbills and gibbons, the lodge nonetheless provides a beautiful and comfortable place to stay, with friendly service and excellent food in a magical outdoor dining area by the river. Our guides were fantastic and it was clear that they really cared about the area and its wildlife, and loved showing it to guests. This is not a place where you 'might' see wildlife. At the least you will see many species of monkeys and birds; if you are lucky you may see wild orang utans, crocodiles and monitors (we were lucky) and if you are very lucky you might see elephants (we weren't that lucky). One big plus for this lodge compared to others is that they use electric boats - you have a much better chance of seeing wildlife and it is much more fun cruising silently down winding jungle rivers and creeks. We loved every moment.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We went expecting basic accommodation and facilities so we were astounded to find such comfortable accommodation in the jungle! Fabulous welcome, delightful rooms, great meals and incredible wildlife. Our guide Fernando, Captain Jack the skipper, Peter and Annie were great. A trip of a lifetime - thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TpoNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinabatangan District
49.1 mi away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
0.3 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukau Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukau Rainforest Lodge

Property: Sukau Rainforest Lodge
Address: Sukau, Lower Kinabatangan River | 2 1/2 hours from Sandakan by boat, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kinabatangan District
Hotel Class:3 star — Sukau Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Sukau Rainforest Lodge nestles on the banks of one of Borneo's most important waterways, the Kinabatangan River, home to many of Borneo's magnificent wildlife. Immerse yourself in the tranquility of the rainforest and the cacophany of its inhabitants, its majestic birds, all 7 species of Borneo Primates including Borneo's iconic Proboscis Monkey, Orangutans in their natural habitat as well as herds of Borneo Pygmy Elephants. Sukau Rainforest Lodge offers the rare comfort and luxury in the midst of the Borneo Rainforest whilst retaining an Eco-Lodge ethos, the delicate balance of true sustainability. We promise to give you and your family an experience you'll always remember and one you'll never regret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sukau Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sukau Rainforest Hotel Sabah
Sukau Rainforest Lodge Kinabatangan District, Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing