We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sukau Rainforest Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Ocean(Lahad Datu)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel City Star(Sandakan)
US$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$56
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveller rating
519
189
44
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
189
44
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsborneo eco tourspygmy elephantsthe rivernight cruiseceiling fanboat tripsmall poolexcellent guideplunge poolair conditioningsir davidrooms are clean and comfortablerainforest lodgegomantong cavessandakan airportwildlife experiencewildlife viewing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 769 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights and had the best experience on a holiday that I've ever had. The staff were extremely helpful, the food great, the views spectacular and the most wildlife I've ever seen with excellent guides. There were an abundance of tours to choose from and in the end just not enough time to fit it all in. Everyone working at the lodge were very helpful and were all happy to have a laugh. I will definitely be returning sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Every room is great.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perthtraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had the best time. We loved the lodge, the staff, the food and everything about the place. Firstly the trip in was excellent, the guides Jupadi and Dean were excellent spotters and we were able to see orangutangs and crocodiles as well as monkeys and birds. Jupadi explained about life on the river and how we would go slow past the villages to show respect. On arrival at the lodge we were welcomed with cool drinks and refreshingly cool towels and greeted by Dean who explained the lodge set up. It rained heavily so our afternoon tour was cancelled and we were offered a night tour instead which is usually a chargeable option - good service. Early next morning we went on a river cruise to the oxbow billabong, back for breakfast and a boardwalk guided tour which was very interesting thank you Dean. After another delicious meal and rest we had an afternoon cruise with Jupadi and were lucky enough to see Pygmy elephants as well as monkeys, a storm stork, a flying lemur and many other birdlife including a beautiful kingfisher. Leaving the next day was a bit sad for us as we had enjoyed our time here and were sorry to go. The trip back to Sandakan was eventful with more orangutangs and crocodile sightings. The captain was very good and skilled. I would highly recommend this lodge as they employ local people when they can and have put several of them through a tour guide course, one of which was our guide Dean ( not his real name). Would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank jdaizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Our stay at Sukau Rainforest Lodge was the highlight of our 3 week tour of Malaysia. We took a 3 day 2 night tour from Sandakan and we were first taken to Sepilok to see the orang utans (which was breathtaking). Following came our 2 hr boat journey to the lodge. It took 3hrs because we saw such a lot of wildlife along the way (Crocodiles, Orang Utan, Probiscus Monkeys, Macaques and beautiful Sea Eagles) which was brilliant. Also needless to say but the scenery is stunning. We had a warm welcome upon arrival at the lodge and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. During our stay we went on 3 river cruises including a night cruise. We saw so much wildlife including Elephants and it far surpassed what we expected. The boat driver was utterly amazing at spotting anything, including a tiny Kingfisher in the dark! Our guide, Randall, was very knowledgeable and knew everything about the animals we were seeing. We also enjoyed a walk on the boardwalk at the back of the lodge where we were told all about the flora and fauna of the jungle and the medicinal properties they harbour. The food at the lodge was good and was mostly local Malaysian food which was exactly what we wanted. There wasn't a lot of Western food available but wasn't really expected being in the middle of the rainforest. Our room was very clean and perfect for the environment. Drinks were reasonably priced and similar to those in Sandakan. We truly loved our stay and would like to go back one day.

Room Tip: Take a decent rain coat, it is the rainforest after all!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

This place is amazing...
Situated on the edge of the river is this beautiful lodge with a lush verander and lovely stylish rooms. There is everything here you need (apart from Moskito nets) and the staff are incredibly friendly towards all the guests. The food is real good and the price of drinks is comparable to the big towns.
We arrived here from Sandakan on a Borneo Eco Tour trip with our guide, we travelled 2 hours by boat to get to reach the lodge. Once at the lodge we took 4 river boat trips to see the wildlife and got to see Elephants, Macaques monkeys, Pig tail monkeys, Gibbons, Probiscis Monkeys, Owls, Snakes, Birds and Crocodiles. If you are nearby and thinking of doing something like this pick this trip with Borneo Eco Tours and stay in this lodge.
Oh and of course I have to mention Sir David Attenborough stayed here when filming a documentary on Borneo. Apparently he stayed in room 5 so many guests ask for that room.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank a_wandering_pig_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Looking at the various reviews we are some what surprised of the good ratings for the Sukau Rainforest Lodge/Borneo Eco tours (= same owner). We are very experienced travellers but were not impressed at all. We booked via Agoda (750 euro for 2 nights including transport, morning and afternoon safari, visit to Sepilok, War memorial and meals) which showed to be cheaper than booking directly at the lodge (where we were giving a ‘wrong’, rather expensive quote. Quite odd). Booking individually served us well as we are less keen on travelling in bigger groups. What a surprise. We ended up in a group session from the start to our return in Sandakan. Even the seating plan for the meals was in a group. Fortunately, the group was nice but this was not what we expected. The boat trip from Sandakan was explained as a max. two hours trip. It however took more than 4 hours due to sight seeing on our way (this transport to the lodge showed to be considered as our afternoon cruise). Why not better manage expectations? The welcome of the lodge manager felt artificial (a standard, military style story with simulated jokes). Breakfast and diner is served at the veranda but during every meal there was not enough food of the main dishes (even after indicating).
The safari’s were nice. We saw many animals including proboscis and macaque monkeys, two crocodiles, four pygmy elephants and many birds. The rooms are ok. Not very clean (sticky plugs and spider webs, etc). Just realise you are in the middle of the wet rain forest. Internet worked well in the mail sitting area.
We noticed that many of the guests were not satisfied with the support of Borneo Eco Tours. Not that strange if you imaging that guides who are still in training are used to deal with a group of 13 (well paying) guests. Also our booking was suddenly changed (our suspicion is that it better fitted in the over all group planning). It was only due to individual efforts of the inexperienced but very kind guide that we got for what we paid for…. I do not know if there are many alternatives in this area but I would suggest to explore in stead of returning to Sukau Rainforest Lodge and especially making use of Borneo Eco Tours.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRL_ADMIN, Owner at Sukau Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear JAEMH, I think the guest reviews speak for themselves of our service and quality of work. My apologies if you didn't have such a great time but we pride ourselves in being the best lodge in Sukau and also the BEST tour operator in Sabah, certainly the most established and professional.

A quick clarification, the reason the price appeared cheaper on Agoda is because they misrepresent the price by excluding the government and service charge. We practice transparent pricing and quote all prices as nett but unfortunately Agoda attempts at deceiving by quoting excluding taxes. Since Agoda does not allow transparent pricing, we have made a decision to stop using Agoda. I note that this was one of your major grievances and I have personally rectified this.

Your comments were not specific in what areas we let you down. We would appreciate if you could provide more detail directly to us so we could improve and better our services and facilities. Thank you for staying with us and we do sincerely hope that you would someday return so we could prove to you and ourselves that we are and that we can do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews