We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sukau Rainforest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinabatangan District
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sukau Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Sukau Rainforest Lodge is a fantastic place to stay if you want the complete Borneo wilderness and wildlife experience. The lodge feels like you are miles away from the rest of the world, and there is an abundance of wildlife in and around the lodge. We were extremely well looked after from beginning to end - all of the staff were wonderful. In particular, Jackie the Chef was great, aside from making truly delicious meals, he was always concerned to ensure my sister (who is gluten intolerant) was looked after at every meal. It was fantastic service, and over and above what we expected.

The rooms are great, well appointed and very comfortable, and exactly what you would hope for in a rather exotic jungle setting. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, which makes it rather hot, but that actually adds to the whole experience.

I would thoroughly recommend Sukau Rainforest Lodge without hesitation. Thanks so much to all the staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank SFHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    151
    36
    10
    2
See reviews for
136
318
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a fantastic trip to Sukau Rainforest Lodge - from the moment we were picked up from the jetty to the time we left we felt really well looked after. The rooms are comfortable, the food excellent and the staff really went out of their way to make us feel good about our stay - nothing was too much trouble. Peter the manager really cares about the guest experience and took good care of us. Jumaini our boatman and guide was extraordinary - his spotting ability was exceptional seeing unusual creatures in trees and in the forest, and he was very good at getting to places before the other boats and using the electric engine - so we were surrounded by forest sounds and not alarming the wildlife. We saw elephants, proboscis monkeys, langurs, macaques, monitor lizards and a whole host of birds. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Amazing. Peter & his staff were great & made our stay something that dreams are made of. Our special thanks go to Sarina & Mincho who made meal times a pleasure, along with Alloa (not sure of the spelling, sorry) & of course Jackie who we wanted to take home to cook for us! Also to Jamil A. the boatman who got us up close & personal with a wild orangutan (amongst other wildlife).
Our guide from Borneo Eco Tours, Jumundai, was someone who also made our time special. Jumundai spotted EVERYTHING! We saw so much wildlife & how could we ever forget the heard of elephants coming to the river bank, bathing & then swimming across the river.
As a lodge manager, Peter made sure everyone knew what their program was for the day ahead & he was always there to make sure everything was running smoothly. Not many managers in the "real world" do this.
A great lodge & an amazing experience. Who could ask for more (besides air con!).
Great work team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borneo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I went with my husband and his 60 year old parents to the Sukau Rainforest Lodge. We had an excellent time! The lodging was cute and comfortable, the staff incredibly helpful, and the food was good (a huge plus for Borneo!). My in-laws went on 6 tours and saw so many animals, and they can't stop raving about this place. It can be a bit difficult during the day because it gets so hot in the rainforest and there is no AC (I guess that would take the "eco" out of "eco-lodge"!), so be prepared to drink plenty of ice-cold drinks from about 2-6pm.

I even had a medical issue (not related to the lodge at all), and the staff was so kind, accommodating, and professional. I would definitely go there again, and it's well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was my second visit to Sukau Rainforest Lodge and I can't wait to visit again one day!
The staff are super efficient & friendly. We were welcomed with cool towels and a gorgeous fresh lime drink! Instantly I started to relax and enjoy. Chef Jackie was very helpful with our dietary allergies and the food was always delicious and plentiful. The rooms have a gorgeous ambience and are spotlessly clean. There is a range of excursion options to choose from, all are excellent. The wildlife was fantastic and the conservation work encouraging to witness (nesting boxes). Mincho is a wealth of knowledge regarding all conservation projects and I appreciated learning more about this work and the goals to support genetic diversity in the wildlife. Congratulations and thanks for your hospitality :D

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brooke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you are in Sabah you must visit Sukau. The place is perfect for wildlife watching. The prices are a little high but it is worth it. We saw Oran Utan, crocodiles, proboscis monkeys, pygmy elefants and alot more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jonas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

While you can have a very nice trip to this lodge, there is much that needs to be improved, and there is a strong sense of a very popular resort resting complacently on its laurels and slowly going downhill. On the plus side, it is nicely situated on the river in the trees, and there are daily activities on the river and a nice road trip to the local bat caves. But the rooms are small and cramped and, in some cases, unbearably hot (there is no air-conditioning, and the fans may or may not work very effectively, depending which room you get). This was the only place in our three weeks in Borneo where one met (some, by no means all) staff who were grumpy and lazy, clearly fed up with tourists. The bar was often unstaffed and no sign of where anyone might be found to help. The shop advertised leech socks for sale, but didn't have any in stock. Coffee and tea were meant to be available all day, but it depended if anyone could be bothered to replenish the supplies. Milk was sometimes left out, at other times not. Meals could be decent, but were variable in quality. Breakfasts were uninspiring, and offered horrible coffee and orange squash rather than fresh juices. Although on our arrival there was a herd of (rarely sighted) pygmy elephants down the river, the lodge sticks to a rigid routine of where you visit, and unluckily our schedule did not coincide with the animals, who were accordingly gone by the time we were allowed to visit that part of the river. The much-vaunted electric boats are hardly ever used. Night cruises were surprisingly effective, however, with good bird sightings, and we saw orang utans on all 3 days we stayed here. The so-called jungle is, in fact, a very narrow strip of trees on the border of the river. Just a few yards beyond the river banks are miles and miles of palm plantations, where the jungle habitat has been totally destroyed. Overall, while a stay here has much to offer, the resort disappoints and needs some urgent management attention.

Room Tip: The lodge is generally full, so it's hard to choose your own room but, if possible, demand to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weltravelledofSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Teo, Owner at Sukau Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear weltravel, We apologize if your trip to Sukau was disappointing. It would be more beneficial if you could write to us to let us know which of our staffs were rude as all comments we've received about them have been positive thus far and such a comment is unfair to them. Do understand that most of our staffs grew up in the interior with little education and training. We do our best to make the atmosphere pleasant and do know that we are fully committed to Sukau Rainforest Lodge in every way. The management has and will always have Sukau Rainforest Lodge at the foremost of our minds. We wish you the best of travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinabatangan District
0.0 mi away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
0.4 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 30 in Sandakan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
4.9 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
5.3 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukau Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukau Rainforest Lodge

Property: Sukau Rainforest Lodge
Address: Sukau, Lower Kinabatangan River | 2 1/2 hours from Sandakan by boat, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Kinabatangan District
Hotel Class:3 star — Sukau Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Sukau Rainforest Lodge nestles on the banks of one of Borneo's most important waterways, the Kinabatangan River, home to many of Borneo's magnificent wildlife. Immerse yourself in the tranquility of the rainforest and the cacophany of its inhabitants, its majestic birds, all 7 species of Borneo Primates including Borneo's iconic Proboscis Monkey, Orangutans in their natural habitat as well as herds of Borneo Pygmy Elephants. Sukau Rainforest Lodge offers the rare comfort and luxury in the midst of the Borneo Rainforest whilst retaining an Eco-Lodge ethos, the delicate balance of true sustainability. We promise to give you and your family an experience you'll always remember and one you'll never regret. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sukau Rainforest Hotel Sabah
Sukau Rainforest Lodge Kinabatangan District, Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing