We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Noisy but great location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I booked the best room for $35 aud, it was hellishly noisy from the people next door and the road traffic. Cigarette smoke came in my room from next door and stank out my room, management kindly moved me to another room. Unfortunately this one had a squirrel living in its roof. If I hadn't climbed mt kinabalu that day I don't think I would have slept well. However, the linen was clean, tiny bathroom with shower over the toilet. I don't think you get what you pay for but the location is fantastic as were the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    26
    25
    18
    9
See reviews for
6
36
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had no problems with the dormitory room at D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge.
The price is cheap and the bathroom facilities aren't the cleanest- imagine a campsite bathroom and you won't be too far away from the facilities available here. Shower is warm and powerful.
Staff were quite friendly and helpful. Food here was fine (and there are two cafes across the road).
Road wasn't too noisy at night- I managed to sleep quite well.
500m from Mount Kinabalu entrance. However, remember this hostel is not located in a town, therefore activities are minimal- use as a budget base for mountain activities.
Tip- take warm clothes- the blanket you are provided to sleep in isn't the warmest!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good for those with limited budget. The location is about 500m to the Kinabalu Park.

My main CONCERN is the BUDGET and the LOCATION.

Yes, lots complaining about the noisy of vehicle on the roadside, but if you are tired you don't bother it anymore. I still can have a good sleep.

I stayed here with my family the day before we climb as we get no transport.

The room comes with basic facility like tv, WIFI, blanket, towel, packet of soap&shampoo.

Bathroom is attached with heater. You can rent other amenities like heater jug.

Breakfast is free as advertised-(fried egg, two slices of bread with butter & jam, a sausage, baked beans and tea or coffee).

You can leave your bag in the lodge while you go up to the mountain.

Overall is good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QeeQee_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

If you don't self driving, stay here is quite convenience as the location is very near to the Kinabalu Park. Cleanliness is just averagely. Please bring along your own sleeping bag if you wish to stay here because the dorm is only provide thin layer quilt. They provide hot water for shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canndyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

If you want to be treaded like dirt, this is the place to be!
Owner and staff really unfriendly and rude. And they charge you for everything.
Wen I got here the owner asked me if I wanted coffee or tea. I thought: thats nice, a welcoming drink (happened to me before, so nice)
No, she let here staff tell me I had to pay for it, later on.
It is very cold up here.
I slept on a thin matress with a really thin blanket. Extra blanket? 5r. Extra matress? (Weird, they know the matresses are bad, right?) 5r. Electricity? 5r. Towel? 2r. Did my laundry (1,5kilo) costed me 20r. Didnt even wash it with soap.
No lockers, but they will not take the blame if something gets stolen.
And it didnt feel save to leave my passport or anything here.
They took off early in the evening and played loud music in there house, above the dorm.
No walls, no inside, when they leave they lock the restaurant and wifi in the restaurant/sitting area only.
Go to your room, to get out of the cold: no wifi.
What was really, REALLY rude:
I was happy and did the thumbs up sign. Every time I got near them, they made fun of me, in malaysian.... Doing what I did.
Crappy place!
Only good thing is: it is near the entrence of the park.
But thats all.
The reason of their additude.
Spend a bit more in another place and enjoy! Certenly if you are planning on hiking the mountain!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tesza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu District hotels

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights to be close the the park. The room was freezing, definitely needed the blanket they provided. The shower was warm but you could only stay in it for about five minutes before the water ran out and you had to wait for it to heat up again. The food was ok. I explained that i was a vegetarian but each time we had breakfast they would bring out bread with sausages. We had the worst nights sleep here, which wasn't the fault of the hostel but there is a karaoke bar across the road and there were some of the worst singers we have ever heard wailing into the small hours of the night. It drove us crazy! Plus the hostel is right by a really busy road so you can hear trucks passing all day and very early in the morning. Only 5 mins walk from the park and here are lovely views over the valley but they are about the only two positive things from staying here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

On the plus side, this place is very close to the entrance to the park. But the property is very old and run down, and my room was large but very uncomfortable, and the balconies face away from Mount Kinabalu. True, there was plenty of hot water, service was quite good, and to the owners' credit, the restaurant has very reasonable prices considering residents have nowhere else to go as this is very far from Kundasang village. But at the price (RM 120), this place is very overpriced.

Room Tip: All the rooms look identical. Not much to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu District
0.5 mi away
Laban Rata
Laban Rata
#2 of 2 in Kundasang
149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kundasang
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kundasang
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ayana Holiday Resort
Ayana Holiday Resort
#1 of 33 in Ranau
68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kinabalu Park
Kinabalu Park
#3 of 27 in Ranau
74 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kinabalu Poring Vacation Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge

Property: D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge
Address: KM 53, Jalan Tinompok, Off Kinabalu Park, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dvilla Rina Ria Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing