We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bruce Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bruce Bay Cottages
Manitouwadge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

we have been at Bruce Bay cottages several times now and every time has been absolutely great. Being an elderly couple we like the quietness, watching the lake and the birds and the nature and beauty of it there. Also very convenient to great meals in town and little shopping if we decide to do our own cooking, Very helpful and friendly hosts!
will be back again! Just love it!

Room Tip: all the cottages seem to be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank railik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I love these little cottages. They are just the right mix of well-worn and comfy - like those great cottages furnished in "early attic" and family hand-m-downs, but with a cozy warm stove for a cool night and a great view and excellent night's sleep. The island is great with little beaches at the end of paths and the lighthouse at the end of an interesting walk (or drive, I suppose, if you were staying at the lighthouse). There are canoes and bikes to be used, and the little town of Bruce Mines in pretty handy. And the hosts are great - or at least Pat is - I didn't meet Larry. There was a mix-up on our date of arrival (entirely my fault) and Pat still scrambled to make sure we had a place to stay. Great customer service combined with a lovely location - what could be better. I think a family could have a very happy few days or so at these cottages

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breadbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

The cottages and lighthouse are in a beautiful location and have quaint charm and everything you need to have a fun outdoors vacation. Hosts Pat and Larry have worked hard to get the buildings, grounds, and trails into shape for guests. Value for the money is excellent, and I would recommend this experience on Lake Superior to those looking for a real lakeside vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJSTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed for two nights at Bruce Bay cottages and loved every minute. Pat and Larry were very welcoming and very interested in making our stay the best it could be. The cottages are cute and well-maintained with everything you would need, and the lake views are amazing. Beautiful location, great sunsets, and we wish it were closer so we could go back every weekend!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hope, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stay at the Lighthouse annually in late October. The accommodations are wonderful with virtually all the facilities of home. The location offers much, including sitting outside watching the water on Lake Huron (or watching one's ship come in to the dock across the bay), hiking on many trails, visiting the small shops in town, and having dinner at the German restaurant downtown. It's not a long drive to Sault Ste. Marie or to Thessalon. We plan to return every year until we either are no longer able to drive or we run out of money.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erie910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

My family loved the cottage we rented #8. We enjoyed exploring the island on foot, canoe and kiyak. It was the most relaxing stay we had on our trip across Canada. My wife and three kids where very comfortable in this spacious cottage. We have booked again for this August.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank youngZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruce Mines
10.0 mi away
Carolyn Beach Inn & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The Bavarian Inn
The Bavarian Inn
#1 of 1 in Bruce Mines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Beach Inn
Hilton Beach Inn
#1 of 5 in St. Joseph Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Bay Cottages

Property: Bruce Bay Cottages
Address: 82 French Island Road, Bruce Mines, Ontario P0R 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Bruce Mines
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bruce Mines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bruce Bay Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to nature on 2 private islands and stay in a cozy waterfront cottage on Lake Huron or the McKay Island Lighthouse. Complimentary bikes, canoes and kayaks. Bruce Mines is 45 minutes from Sault Ste Marie and the International Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bruce Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing