We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hub for our adventures”
Review of Bruce Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bruce Bay Cottages
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The island keepers Larry and Pat were extremely kind, welcoming and helpful. It was very obvious that they wanted to make our stay as nice as they could. We stayed at cottage number two. It was very cozy and we had no complaints. Alot is included in the week. Great value. We will be coming back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dav192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We rented a cottage near the beach.

The cottage is not fancy but it meets your needs...bathroom, comfy bed and quaint kitchen. We like the rustic look so this place was perfect for us.

The beach was nice for us because our daughter enjoyed playing with the other kids. If you are seeking quite time, then renting by the beach would not be a great option for you - seems to be noisy most of the time.

Being near the beach though gives you easy access to the lounge and kayaks, canoes, row boat and beach toys (which are included in cottage rental). I found this to be one of the best parts of this cottage - free use of all these great beach items and boats.

Another bonus was free use of bikes plus free firewood. You can't go wrong with that.

We didn't really like the fact that when someone is renting the lighthouse, you are not allowed down the road to it at all - at least according to the people renting it. They were really rude when my daughter and I wanted to take a ride near it so we could take a picture of the lighthouse.

The owner is really wasting a lot of space by saying that you are not allowed on this space (between lighthouse and cottages) when there is a lighthouse rental. There are many beaches and paths between these two areas and it seems a shame not to be able to use it. I can understand the renter not wanting people directly on the lighthouse land, but there is so much other land, it seems sad that you can't go on that land also.

The price is great though. For all the extras you get, it is a great place to stay.

The cottages are near town and their attractions (museum and mine).

We loved having bonfires at night.

There is no tv which was fine with us.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

... Bruce Bay Cottages is really the place to go. A friend and I stayed there for three nights late last fall, near the end of their season so it was even more quiet since most of the other guests seemed to be hunters or travelers passing through who all arrived late, left early, and were never seen except in the shadows around their fire pits at night. The cottages are rustic, yet clean and comfortable and well-supplied but, as the owner warned when I made the reservation, "you are roughing it." Ours had one large kitchen/dining/sitting room with two sleeping cubicles separated from the "great room" area with curtains. There's no insulation in the cottage, but there's a wood stove that really gets it toasty warm. Everything is very basic-- no tv, no phone, no air condition, no whirlpool tub, but -- yes -- there is indoor plumbing and electricity. (If you're looking for more than that, why would you go to a remote island in the North Woods in the first place?) The cottages sit right on the lake shore and you have your own private fire pit in the front yard -- with plenty of free cut wood nearby (bring matches). It was sensational to build a roaring fire at night to cook out and/or just watch the amazing sky full of stars. Several short hiking trails on the island take you to secluded picnic spots, other tiny beaches, or rocky mounds that are a great place for watching the sunset. There's a former boathouse that now functions as a "lounge" with an ample supply of board games, books, life jackets for the free kayaks, some toys for kids, comfy chairs, and extra kitchen supplies It's a good rainy day hideout if you get cabin fever in your own little cottage. A brisk walk to the next island, takes you to the lighthouse that is also a part of the rental complex. Ask the owners before you venture onto the lighthouse property. But if it isn't rented or the renters haven't arrived yet, the owners seem quite willing to let you look around the grounds. The town closest to the island is Bruce Mines. It's just a village, but full service -- gas, groceries, liquor store, restaurants, post office, telephones, etc., and a few attractions of its own. The stay at Bruce Bay Cottages was a restful, restoring, commune-with-nature experience for us -- two 70+ American women. We would gladly return. We might even be convinced to share this secret treasure with our grandkids. Or we might just guard the secret jealously for our own get-away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsPincheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island-Pat, Manager at Bruce Bay Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank You for taking the time to write this review. We hope you have the opportunity to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We have just booked our 21st annual vacation at Bruce Bay Cottages! We are so excited to be taking our baby grandson there for the first time this summer. The cabins and lighthouse are so roomy and quaint, and it has all of the amenities needed. We love that they also provide canoes, kayaks and a boat for fishing...including lifejackets! There is a beautiful beach for swimming with a raft. The best feature though is the miles of shoreline and trails and the breathtaking views! The staff always go out of their way to ensure your comfort. We are looking forward to our next adventure this summer!

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are fantastic, but the lighthouse is over the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

So, we stayed here during the week for one night last fall. They were working on the the hydro in the area at the time but nobody mentioned that. We stayed at a nice little cabin, I will add pics. It was clean and quaint and quiet. The whole place is actually pretty cool. However, when people rent the lighthouse, your not even allowed in the area and I wish someone had told me that because even though I was only going to sunbathe, the current residents were totally rude. Also, the main beach area seems to be occupied by the people who rent cabins in the area, and thats where the kayak rentals are.We couldn't find the beach at first, because there are no signs in the area! So, the power got switch off around 8pm, fine because we were done with everything, we had bought food for breakfast the next day, we didn't know they were going to turn the power off again. We spoke to the owner who told us she didn't like "confrontations" and we got the heck out of there! Too bad, its a great place in a great area but there needs to be signs posted so you can find things and if someone is renting the lighthouse then it needs to be off-limits. I might return in the future, only if Bobbers is booked.

Room Tip: The lighthouse looks pretty neat....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ws34nipissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here with my family in November at the lighthouse cottage. It was a great time. It had all of the amenities that you needed: a full kitchen, plenty of beds and a warm fireplace. It was such a good price for how many people can sleep in the lighthouse. They even let us bring our dogs, who loved roaming around the island trails.We enjoyed the views of the lake right out the window. We watched the freighters pass by everyday. We are renting one of the smaller cabins this summer so we can swim in the lake and bring our kayaks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

we have been at Bruce Bay cottages several times now and every time has been absolutely great. Being an elderly couple we like the quietness, watching the lake and the birds and the nature and beauty of it there. Also very convenient to great meals in town and little shopping if we decide to do our own cooking, Very helpful and friendly hosts!
will be back again! Just love it!

Room Tip: all the cottages seem to be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank railik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bruce Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Bay Cottages

Address: 82 French Island Road, Bruce Mines, Ontario P0R 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Bruce Mines
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Bruce Mines
Price Range: £53 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bruce Bay Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to nature on 2 private islands and stay in a cozy waterfront cottage on Lake Huron or the McKay Island Lighthouse. Complimentary bikes, canoes and kayaks. Bruce Mines is 45 minutes from Sault Ste Marie and the International Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bruce Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing