We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ware
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed here on a fri and sat night for a wedding. On approach the house was amazing and so were the gardens. I was checking in with the bridal party and check in was labourious and not very well organised. I was told my room was paid for one night and was about to pay for the second when the groom stepped in and told them it was paid for in advance for both nights as part of the package. I would not have known this and would have paid!
My room was ok, it had 2 very small double beds for me and my husband. The brides room was supposed to be a suite, but my room was bigger!
Upon speaking to other guests they were all very happy as they had been upgraded! Not sure this is the right thing to do to the bridal party that has pre booked a year ago at considerable cost! Even the hairdresser was upgraded to a suite!!
One guest told me that she had telephoned to book and quoted the special reference for the wedding room rate and then looked online and booked it cheaper!
Not great service.
The food in the oak grille was outstanding, cannot not fault a thing.
The golf bar is good with reasonable drink prices, this is however tucked away at the back of the hotel whilst the cocktail bar next to reception has way inflated prices, ie £11 for one glass of white wine!!.
The whole mentality of the place seems to be to get money out of you wherever they can.
The spa pool is very nice.
The wedding went extremely well but the wedding planner got the appointment wrong, they left the present box with money in unattended and had to be asked to serve the wine, also, the best man was left without a starter.
The bride and groom were left chocolates with the name of a different bride and groom who had a wedding in a different part of the hotel.
On the last day, we had someone elses bill through our door.
This has the potential to be a very nice place but too many small details are unattended to which to me does not make this 5 star.
I would not go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMH1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,395 - 1,401 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

We arrived the night of our wedding.... when checking in, I was in my wedding dress, stated in the special instructions that we were arriving after our wedding, and they put us up in a TWIN ROOM!!!! Left a bill for us at breakfast - when it was included in the room booking and when we ordered room service for our evening meal the next day - a £4 portion of chips consisted of 11 chips!!!!!! We both had rubbish nights sleep too.
overall - a pretty rubbish mini-moon, very disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Had a lovely day at the Spa. Would definitely recommend to others, massage by Jenny was amazing, very professional and confident but truly relaxing. All the staff were very helpful, I am not easily impressed but the standard of service all round was excellent. Food in restaurant was great and changed to suit my needs with no fuss!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I spent a night here over the recent bank holiday weekend. The grounds are impressive and the staff friendly and helpful, but the building is tired and in need of refurbuishment.

The bedroom was spacious and had a nice bed, but furniture was damaged and the bathroom dated. One of the main reason we chose the Mariott was the spa which was extremely disappointing. There were only a few deck chairs by the pool and no relaxation room - the changing rooms were also poor.

All in all, this could be a great hotel - just needs a complete refurb!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSandybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Visited this hotel during May and have to say the reception lady was amazingly helpful. The hotel is in need of a little renovation but overall lovely. Room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Food was, as always found in hotels, a little over the top price wise but there is a very good pub very close by!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsF011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Its a manor house (built somewhere in the 1800's i think) with beautiful gardens. its huge too. food was good.the white wine suggested by the restaurant manager was absolutely awesome! stay comes with breakfast. I paid 119 quids for one night stay, which is quite alright given that the place reeks of elegance! there's even a very old fashioned trouser press in the room. i had issues with the radiator and i was given a portable one for the night, no big deal. a place to go if all you want is some peace & great food.

Room Tip: ask for a higher room and one that is nearer to the reception, else you need to walk quite a bit if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

WARNING! If you are looking for a quiet relaxing break at a country hotel, this is NOT the place to stay. This is a very noisy family hotel with poor levels of guest care from badly trained staff ( and managers )

Lovely setting, that's where it ends.

Check-in was smooth, but not exactly welcoming. We decided to have tea, it was 4pm, unfortunately hotel had "run out" of supplies, we were offered scones, a few moments later cakes appeared from another direction. We then had to get up and ask for plates/serviettes etc .

The swimming pool was mobbed with parents and children. No chance of a quiet swim or treatment there then.

In the evening ate at Zodiac restaurant, for what it was, it was very expensive. Other cheaper restaurant, which was fully booked, probably with all the families, would probably not have been the best place to be anyway. Although our restaurant was pretty much empty, restaurant staff decided to sit another couple right next to us. Why? I have absolutely no idea. But it was interesting to hear, even at 8.45pm, out of the 4 main course choices on the menu, one had already "run out"

Our room was well furnished, but looked out over a courtyard, we had to close the curtains even during daylight hours, otherwise there was no privacy from the other rooms and walkways at the same and higher levels around the courtyard.

Whether it was our ill-fitting door (there was a huge gap at the bottom) or the fact that our room was on a main through route to the spa and the "cheaper" restaurant, I don't know, but we were kept awake till about 1am by holidaying guest and then again from around 7am by families on their way to the breakfast room.

At 9am we had the special treat of housekeeping hoovering outside our room.

We went for breakfast at 10 am, it was a madhouse. If you like airports and railway stations, you will love this.

When we checked out, the reception staff never even had the courtesy to ask how our stay was.

So we made a point of asking to see "the Manager". We were asked to wait in the lounge. We were not offered coffee while we waited, and when the manager appeared 5 minutes later, he did not offer either. We went though our "feedback" with him. He kindly offered that when we next stay in the hotel, call him, he will try to get a quieter room for us. Is he mad? Or does he not understand these things? There is no way we would spend our time or our money at such a terrible hotel again. So thanks, but no thanks.

Room Tip: If you are determined to go then call Chris Spalding the duty manager before you book make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HOTEL-CALIFORNIA-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ware
1.4 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
10.8 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,711 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,828 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
691 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Hanbury Drive, Ware SG12 0SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Ware
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ware
Price Range: £104 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its fragrant walled gardens, stately Jacobean country house and 200 acres of Hertfordshire hotel parkland, the historic Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club makes a lasting impression. As London's time-honored "Original Country Retreat," you'll find the obliging service and amenities expected from a luxury hotel in Hertfordshire, UK. It's a standard that extends from the richly paneled library warmed by an open fireplace to elegant guest rooms each designed offering plush new bedding, business-savvy touches, high-speed Internet and flat-screen LCD TVs. Savor our local culinary offers from Oakes Grill and Vardon's Bar, or enjoy the Hanbury Afternoon Tea in Oak Hall. Yield to the blissful pleasures of the luxury spa, workout in the fitness center or take on the championship golf course. For weddings, our luxury Hertfordshire hotel offers a distinctive setting that provides memorable occasion. When looking for luxury Hertfordshire hotels, choose the impeccable Hanbury Manor Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hanbury Manor Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Hanbury Manor Hotel Country
Marriott Ware
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club Ware, Hertfordshire
Ware Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing