We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Slept well here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ware
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for a nearby wedding. Lovely grounds encased within the golf course. The rooms were spacious and the bed very comfortable so had a great night sleep. Buffet breakfast was included and good selection, and the spa was very relaxing and luxurious. Felt well looked after here and would go back.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Nik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

I am happy that the hotel meet your expectations and I trust that we will have the honour of being of service to you once again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Govert Deketh General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel, amazing views, delicious food, lovely spa area, perfectly clean rooms!

Everything I expected and more! Service was great! A brilliant all round experience! Hotel package prices weren't too bad considering the venue!

I have 2 slight disappointments;
- the car park, whilst huge - if your unlucky to park at the end of it, it's rather a long walk to and from (particularly with luggage)
- prices; don't expect the prices to be reasonable, you certainly don't get what you pay for- whilst everything is delicious and great services, it's all overpriced!
- wifi; room wifi for 24hrs is £15! Just ridiculous! Whilst there is free wifi in public areas, mobile signal is limited due to the location so it's very disappointing that wifi is so expensive in the rooms!

However it really is a beautiful hotel with stunning interiors, and if you book a package deal and don't buy extras it's pretty reasonable!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

I am happy that the hotel meet your expectations however I have noted your 2 slight disappointments which I will escalate on your behalf.

Thank you once again and I trust that we will have the honour of being of service to you once again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Govert Deketh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Overall, this beautiful manor sits in stunning grounds. Breakfast on the terrace was wonderful, staff really helpful and the place oozes character. It does however need a bit of modernising in the rooms which are inferior in my opinion to some of the quality chains such as the crowne.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Medicine_Man2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

I am happy that the hotel meet your expectations and I trust that we will have the honour of being of service to you once again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes


Govert Deketh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

As a frequent guest at the Hanbury manor I keep coming back due to the spectacular grounds, very helpful staff and very high standard of hotel every inch of this hotel is five star, the meals are fantastic and so is the spa, I cannot fault this hotel and will be going again this weekend.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us once again and welcome back!

I am happy that the hotel meet your expectations and I trust that we will have the honour of being of service to you once again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Govert Deketh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location, if you want countryside staff professional and pleasant and helpful, plenty off fresh air and they serve good food and wine. Local pubs and restaurants within walking distance if you need a change.

Room Tip: Pricey hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike_Heapey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

I am happy that the hotel meet your expectations and I trust that we will have the honour of being of service to you once again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes


Govert Deketh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Returned this afternoon from a two night stay at this gorgeous hotel and have come home feeling extremely relaxed. The hotel has a serious wow factor on arrival. Check-in was a breeze, with very friendly reception staff. Our room was over in Garden Court, which wasn't the easiest place to find, but once we'd located it we were more than happy with it - 602. We took several walks around the beautiful grounds and enjoyed watching rabbits and squirrels play. We strolled to the local pub. On our first night we had pre. dinner drinks in Oaks Lounge, where I had the best cocktail ever; an upside down cheesecake! Both nights we ate in Oakes Grill Restaurant. All the food was delicious, particularly the steak. And the service was excellent. We were fortunate enough to be able to enjoy drinks on the terrace after eating. Breakfast was superb, with so much choice. Ate far too much as always! Our room was spacious, our bed huge and extremely comfortable. Encouraged us to get plenty of well deserved rest away from the busy hubbub of every day life. Overall Hanbury Manor is a lovely place to stay and I'd love to return. We didn't make use of the facilities this time, ie. spa, swimming pool, sauna, etc. as we just wanted to chill out. Maybe next time!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fuertelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

I am happy that the hotel meet your expectations and you had a fabulous weekend and you left us feeling extremely relaxed.

Thank you once again and I trust that we will have the honour of being of service to you once again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes


Govert Deketh
General Manager

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Not really a great hotel at all. I know star ratings relate to facilities only and not overall quality, but this hotel is lacking on both counts. The golf course is awful and will the rom size is impressive and adequate, it lacks any substance to make it a true 5-star experience. Most, if not all the guests are stag-do, hen party types (nothing wrong with that) but this gives the air of wannabe, fake tan dross -
not the swanky well-heeled set the hotel would possibly prefer. Consequently you get a 3-star experience but with 5-star prices. If you don't mind paying £6-7 a pint and overpriced food, you may find it to your taste. Tacky.

Room Tip: Good rooms are overpriced. Your call
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us at Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel & Country Club. I am sorry that you found the experience fell short of your expectations.

I am surprised to hear your feedback with reference to the golf course. Hanbury Manor is widely recognised as one of the best golf courses in England with each hole offering a unique challenge. We normally receive exceptional commentaries regarding our course therefore I was extremely disappointed to hear your feedback.

We do have a different mix of guests at the hotel and many of those choose us for special occasions and golf parties.

With regards to the prices charged for a pint of beer. Our normal price is around £4.00 for a pint of beer which is in line with other properties. We do benchmark ourselves regularly with other 5 star properties to make sure we are in line. We also carry out this procedure with regards to our food offering. Saying this I do appreciate your feedback and will be sure to escalate this on your behalf.

Thank you once again for your review and I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards



Govert Deketh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ware
1.4 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
10.8 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,730 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,837 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
7.5 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Hanbury Drive, Ware SG12 0SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Ware
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ware
Price Range: £99 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its fragrant walled gardens, stately Jacobean country house and 200 acres of Hertfordshire hotel parkland, the historic Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club makes a lasting impression. As London's time-honored "Original Country Retreat," you'll find the obliging service and amenities expected from a luxury hotel in Hertfordshire, UK. It's a standard that extends from the richly paneled library warmed by an open fireplace to elegant guest rooms each designed offering plush new bedding, business-savvy touches, high-speed Internet and flat-screen LCD TVs. Savor our local culinary offers from Oakes Grill and Vardon's Bar, or enjoy the Hanbury Afternoon Tea in Oak Hall. Yield to the blissful pleasures of the luxury spa, workout in the fitness center or take on the championship golf course. For weddings, our luxury Hertfordshire hotel offers a distinctive setting that provides memorable occasion. When looking for luxury Hertfordshire hotels, choose the impeccable Hanbury Manor Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hanbury Manor Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Hanbury Manor Hotel Country
Marriott Ware
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club Ware, Hertfordshire
Ware Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing