We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Massage in the UK!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ware
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The Best Massage in the UK!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just stayed at this property for 2 nights as I was in and out of Stanstead Airport so wanted something close, but not at the Airport. Decided to have a massage and had no idea of what a gem the Spa had, did not get her last name but her first is Sabrina. She was very sweet, asking firstly what areas needed more attention, pressure strength etc. She was very professional and after asked her for a few eating recomendations in the area which she deliverd with great knowledge and enthusiasm, the Marriott chain should be very pleased with this employee. Great stay..

Room Tip: Take in a massage..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barking1RedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

I am extremely happy to read that your experience met your expectations and you had the best massage in the UK by Sabrina. I am extremely proud to hear this feedback and I cannot wait to share your comments with Sabrina and the team.

I cannot wait to welcome you back and have the honour of being of service to you once again.

Best wishes

Govert Deketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    475
    297
    150
    83
See reviews for
324
577
31
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed for one night as a treat away. The hotel staff are excellent. Especially the bar and restaurant/breakfast staff. Check in was ok, nothing amazing or welcoming. The room was spacious and comfortable. The spa is excellent, lovely pool, nice changing rooms, very clean.
The room was so hot though. The window was small and we didn't sleep well because it was hard to get any air in.
Overall, I would go back though, perhaps not choosing to go in the height of summer

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

I am extremely happy to read that your experience met your expectations and thank you so much for your kind comments regarding my staff.

I cannot wait to welcome you back and have the honour of being of service to you once again.

Best wishes


Govert Deketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for one night for our anniversary. We had a package deal which included a room in the manor house breakfast dinner in oakes grill and a 30 minute spa treatment. The drive up to the hotel and grounds are stunning. The reception staff were friendly. The room had a lovely view of golf course. Some reviews say rooms are dated. I say they have character and are fitting for a building of this age. We loved the room. The spa treatment was lovely. We had a back massage. This was similar to treatments we have had in other hotels. Food in the oakes grill was beautifully presented. Our thanks to the waiting staff who were attentive and refilled our water and wine glasses when needed. The breakfast buffet was delicious. Maybe the food could have been a little hotter. The staff at breakfast were all friendly and very accomodating. Even staff in the corridors all smiled and said hello and one manager explained some of the history of the building while we were walking along. We would definately hope to return in the near future and are glad to have discovered this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle199707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us for your special celebration.

I am extremely happy to read that your experience met your expectations and thank you so very much for awarding us 5 stars.

I cannot wait to welcome you both back and have the honour of being of service to you once again.

Best wishes


Govert Deketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for one night, last night. We try to stay at a nice spa hotel once a month. This was a last minute thing. We first arrived and the hotel is very impressive the staff on the front desk were very welcoming, and the more mature gentleman on the door in the lobby was very polite and helpful. We had booked a normal queen room, using the Marriott app, when we arrived we didn't have a queen bed, we asked if we could pay to upgrade to a bigger room. We then moved to room 568 which is a prestige room, which had been recently refurbished, it was decorated very nicely. It was so much bigger and nicer all round, a good upgrade for £65.00. It was very warm yesterday and the hotel doesn't have AC, so we needed to have the windows open, however there was a swarm of wasps outside our window, it looked as there was a nest in the wall outside our window. We were forced to keep our windows closed, we did report this to the front desk, however they didn't seem to want to do anything about it, they didn't propose us to move rooms, it was like a sauna in the room. Apart from this the room was lovely. The swimming pool area was very nice, we used this on Saturday, it was nice to relax in there after a week working. We had breakfast in the zodiac restaurant this morning, however I wouldn't say this was a breakfast for a hotel that claims to be a 5 star hotel. Overall I would rate the hotel as a 4 star rather than a 5 star. But well worth a try.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your social review following your recent experience here at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

It is always valuable to hear our guest’s point of view on what we are doing well and how we could improve. It is indeed pleasing to read your comments regarding my front office staff and concierge, which will give me great pleasure to share with them all. Saying this, with reference to your accommodation, unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in any of our bedrooms, this is something we are looking into. I was sorry to hear that you had to keep your window closed due to the fact that you had observed a wasp nest in the wall outside your window and you had reported this twice but to no avail, for which I apologise. I know it is of little comfort to you now but following your review I have asked our maintenance team to investigate immediately.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time in the swimming pool. Nonetheless I was disappointed to read that you were disillusioned with the breakfast experience which I have fed back to my Executive Chef and his brigade.

Thank you once again and I trust that we will have the honour of being of service to you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Govert Deketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hanbury Manor cannot be faulted by it's staff who were unfailingly polite, obliging and helpful.

The hotel itself is impressive overall but rather tired otherwise; our room in the Garden Court - some distance from the main Manor - was spacious but rather worn out and old fashioned. Comfort was not an issue - lovely bed and bedding but a dearth of electric sockets for this multi media age - even the kettle had to be moved from its tray to the desk to be plugged in.

No sockets by the beds to plug in phones, Laptops (see below) and Kindles overnight.

Wi fi is £14+ a day!!!

Restaurant wise we went to the Oakes for an evening meal - lovely, attentive service but food 7/10 - expensive for what it was better than £55 for 3 courses in the Zodiac restaurant.....

Breakfast buffet brilliant - crispy and soggy bacon kept separate!! Again staff attentive and lovely.

When the heavens opened during breakfast a buggy took us back to the Garden Court room - even an umbrella to cover us to the buggy.

Lovely grounds also to wander in but the accommodation needs serious investment to bring it up to present day standards and to replace rather tatty furniture and decor.

Lovely weekend but get a deal as it is not worth the advertised rates.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your social review following your recent experience here at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments regarding my staff, which will give me such pride to pass on to them all. I have noted your feedback regarding your accommodation and I have taken on board your advice with regards to arranging for sockets to be by the beds to be able to plug in mobiles etc. As you mention, internet is indeed chargeable in the bedrooms, however wi-fi is complimentary in the public areas but will be sure to escalate this comment on your behalf.

Regarding the Oakes Grill restaurant, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your evening meal and the service that you encountered but was disillusioned that you only scored us a 7/10 for the food. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and you were taken to your accommodation in one of our buggies as it was raining.

Thank you once again and I trust that we will have the honour of being of service to you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Govert Deketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Peaceful, relaxing hotel in beautiful surroundings. Stayed for a couple of nights this week. We had a 10 year old and 2 small dogs. Very accommodating staff. Will hopefully visit again very soon. Area is perfect for outdoor activities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

I am extremely happy to read that your experience met your expectations and thank you so very much for awarding us 5 stars.

I trust that we will have the honour of being of service to you once again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes


Govert Deketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at the Hanbury manor and what a lovely surprise. Stayed overnight for my wedding anniversary and it was fantastic. A bit overpriced for 1 night but none the less it was great. Great room, staff, grounds and breakfast was yummy.

Room Tip: Couples Romantic packages are great. huge room, bed, bathroom.
See more room tips
Green Features: They advertise in the rooms on how to save energy and so forth.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastendangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanburyManor, General Manager at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club and thank you for choosing us.

I am extremely happy to read that your experience met your expectations for your special occasion and thank you so very much for awarding us 5 stars.

I trust that we will have the honour of being of service to you once again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Govet Deketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ware
1.4 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,145 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,624 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
652 reviews
11.0 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Hanbury Drive, Ware SG12 0SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Ware
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its fragrant walled gardens, stately Jacobean country house and 200 acres of Hertfordshire hotel parkland, the historic Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club makes a lasting impression. As London's time-honored "Original Country Retreat," you'll find the obliging service and amenities expected from a luxury hotel in Hertfordshire, UK. It's a standard that extends from the richly paneled library warmed by an open fireplace to elegant guest rooms each designed offering plush new bedding, business-savvy touches, high-speed Internet and flat-screen LCD TVs. Savor our local culinary offers from Oakes Grill and Vardon's Bar, or enjoy the Hanbury Afternoon Tea in Oak Hall. Yield to the blissful pleasures of the luxury spa, workout in the fitness center or take on the championship golf course. For weddings, our luxury Hertfordshire hotel offers a distinctive setting that provides memorable occasion. When looking for luxury Hertfordshire hotels, choose the impeccable Hanbury Manor Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hanbury Manor Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Hanbury Manor Hotel Country
Marriott Ware
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club Ware, Hertfordshire
Ware Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing