We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good we had a reasonable Sunday meal on a rainy evening”
Review of Temple - CLOSED

Temple
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Very good we had a reasonable Sunday meal on a rainy evening”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Yes reasonable. There was a monsoon like downpour on Sunday 20th July so we braved the rain for an early 6pm meal ahead of the 8pm bedtime for a 4 year old !

Arrived a bit soaked and put into the small inside part. It was quite humid and hot so suprised the air-con not working. Maybe its a cost thing.

OK so service was a tad Slooooww but not too worried.

Food was great. I had the spicy chicken starter in a bread. Filling. And then some sort of chicken in brown sauce for the main (Dark brown sauce) didnt look that appealing but tasted nice.

Our 4yr old had chicken tikka and rice.

Nice to notice the 4/5 rating from the Food Standards Agency. Much better than Hertford which rated Sharnshar 0/5 and Bollywoods 0/5 (Ratings correct at time of writing July 2014)

But Hoddesdon BEATS WARE hands down for 5/5 FSA rating both at our local Raj Mahal and round the corner Masoom. In my opinion the Hoddesdon Curry houses are much better all round.

Overall it was a nice change but I am a slave to the Raj Mahal so sorry guys you were good but not great! Better than Hertford tho..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 365drills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and Service”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have been coming here for years. Friendly, great food and Service. Not too be missed. Always make dishes as you want even if not on the menu. In fact we are going again tomorrow night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SueRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly service and tasty food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to the Temple since it opened and we also use it weekly for a carry-out (take-away/ home delivery). It is a welcome addition to Ware's Curry establishments. The service is always friendly and the food very good. Th Temple sizzler is very tasty and so are the Dansak, Jalfrezi, Bhuna as well as the starters, ie bhajis, puri, to name but a few dishes that we have tried and like very much. The naans are always fresh and fluffy, the poppadoms crispy and we always receive mixed pickle (which is nicer and less salty than lime pickle) as an addition. I can't fault the Temple and actually prefer it to Kishmish in Fulham which is good. I do wonder why they bother with the large bar space which never seems to get used but the restaurant space is cosy, stylish and inviting. The conservatory areas make it a good venue for larger groups that want a bit of privacy - and it is a good space to chill in the summer. Naz, Prince and his colleagues will take good care of your Temple experience without being intrusive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank haggis2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty good, staff delightful”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We picked this restaurant at the last minute because we were staying at Fanham Hall hotel for our wedding anniversary and chose not to eat there as it had been taken over by a wedding.
It was lovely. Set in the square with a front conservatory . We ate inside . I know most people would say " a curry is a curry " wherever you go but even though we had usual dishes they were beautifully presented and really tasty . Staff were polite and friendly . Attentitive without being intrusive and the atmosphere was lovely with soft modern music in the background . Glad we booked as it was busy but lovely nonetheless. Will definitely return .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stortlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very good food, will cater to any ones taste buds. Staff welcoming with a friendly smile. Best Indian in town. Would recommend, guarantee you will go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Temple also viewed

Stanstead Abbotts, Ware
Stanstead Abbotts, Ware
 
Ware, Hertfordshire
Stanstead Abbotts, Ware
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing