We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant pub”

White Horse Chedgrave
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Loddon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
ENG
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good restaurant pub”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We hadn't been for awhile @ decided it was time to revisit..
There were four of us @ we were welcomed by a lovely girl who was bright @ cheery
@ told us specials etc very clearly .
The men had the burgers which were home made, delicious @ nice chips well presented dish.
Us girls had the fish special of the day. It was really lovely fresh wild sea bass beautifully
Presented on peppers, onions @ potatoes.. We were all really pleased.
I don't understand how there was hardly anyone eating there. It was good value @ lovely food

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    49
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Simon and staff played host to almost 30 of our family and friends yesterday as we celebrated my parents Golden Wedding. The home cooked food was both mouth watering and satisfying and every dietary need catered for (coeliac, dairy intolerance, nut allergy and vegetarian - we have them all!). The staff went above and beyond to welcome us and tend to our every need. I have never had such good service and could not pick a fault in the entire day even if you paid me!

Helpful?
Thank Caton43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvb73, Owner at White Horse Chedgrave, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi there Caton43
It is always nice when we get an opportunity to demonstrate to local people how passionate we are about producing good quality food, suitable for various dietary requirements. We are all really pleased that your parents enjoyed their Golden Wedding Celebrations and that we were able to be part of their special day.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service, lovely pub!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were reccomended The White Horse by Pia who owns Oxnead Holiday Cottages in Rockland St. Mary's and it didn't disappoint. Simon, the landlord, and his friendly staff contacted us before we arrived as were were a group (12) and we pre-ordered before we got there. The welcome we got was lovely, the table was all set out in the bar as we had brought our dog with us and the food came quickly and all at the same time. Food is reasonably priced, drinks are great prices too, there is pool available for the competitive amongst your diners and Simon also offered us lifts home afterwards. Thanks so much for making us feel so very welcome, I couldn't have better things to say about this lovely pub.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_Albanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvb73, Owner at White Horse Chedgrave, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi Sophie_Albanite
Thanks very much for your review - we're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in the pub. We are always happy to offer a lift home if required!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and hospitality”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited the White Horse based on a recommendation from the owners of a local house we were staying. We were a large party and we ordered all our food before hand which worked out great. We had a lovely big table and the food was excellent. It was very reasonably priced for the quality of food. The staff in the pub were really friendly. The owner even drove us all home after our meal! There was an open fire and a pool table for entertainment. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saraecv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvb73, Owner at White Horse Chedgrave, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi there Saraecv
Glad you had a good holiday and delighted that we helped you enjoy your break. We hope to see you again if you're ever in the area.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A group of us used this pub as the base for a walk round Hardley flood. The landlord kindly served coffee before we started, let us leave our cars and then provided an excellent sunday lunch. Big slices of sirloin of beef with a variety of vegetables (including crispy and fluffy roasted potatoes) and of course Yorkshire puds. The roasted stuffed monkfish was very tempting and the mushroom risotto looked extremely appetising.

The puds were home made and the chocolate roulade with alcoholic red fruit came out as favourite...but the marmalade and ammoretti cheesecake wasn't far behind. The food was served with great expertise and good humour. Best of all the landlord unobtrusively set up a system for recording who ordered what which made paying easy...not always the case with a big group. We will all definitely be going again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvb73, Owner at White Horse Chedgrave, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi there Lizo2121
Big walking groups are something we get a lot of, due to the beautiful location in which we are situated.
It is nice when a member of a group takes the time to give us such a positive review. I know I don't just speak for myself when I say that all of the staff here enjoy their work and so nice that you have noticed this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Horse Chedgrave also viewed

Loddon, Norfolk
Loddon, Norfolk
 

Been to White Horse Chedgrave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing