We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the name says...Paradise!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raja Ampat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papua Paradise Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
St. Thomas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Like the name says...Paradise!!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Wow....I have to say this is the best resort my husband and I have ever stayed at! It had everything we were looking for, and was run by diligent, detail-oriented, efficient, and very friendly staff! We really couldn't have asked for anything more!

What really mattered to me on our trip to Raja Ampat was to go to a place that featured the main dive sites (Kri, Manta Sandy, Passage, Fam, etc), offered many dives per day (4), and also had birdwatching and topside activities. Papua Paradise had all of this and more, including beautiful accommodations and amazing food....we were really happy and loved every day of our two weeks there!

Their dive schedule is very flexible, and you can dive as little or as much as you want. My husband and I were there to dive, and were pretty much in the water the entire time, and they were wonderfully accommodating and organized....we ended up doing 48 dives in the two weeks we were there, so needless to say, if you like diving, they have you covered! Their system is very organized and efficient, and you can go on local dives close to the resort, or go on "day trips" to other areas such as Kri, Manta Sandy, and Fam. A huge plus is they have reliable, fast, amazing boats to take you to the dive sites....their largest boat had 3 200 hp Yamaha outboards, and their mid-size boat had twin 150's, so you don't waste much time at all in transit! It was great not to have to deal with diesel fumes on the boats either, and all the boats (they had 4 I believe) were in great condition and well taken care of (something that is not always seen at certain resorts)!! We really appreciated that!

Their dive sites are very varied, as the ones closer to the resort are usually less current and more focused on macro life, and the ones farther out are sometimes more current and more big fish. We saw all the quintessential Raja Ampat marine life while we were there, so many different species of fish it will take a while to go through all my pictures and ID everything! It was very amazing to see such healthy reefs, with pristine conditions that have been basically untouched by human impact...all the coral species and fish species are a biologists' dream!

They have wonderful dive guides as well that show you around the area and are top-notch at spotting smaller critters like the Pygmy Seahorses and such. Our dive guide was Frangky and he was AMAZING!!! We loved him, he was such a great guy and went above and beyond to spot things for us...he really made the diving there awesome, as we saw soo many critters on dives with his excellent spotting skills. I am really into Syngnathids, and with Frangky we saw 4 species of Pygmy Seahorse, a pipehorse, multiple species of pipefish, shrimpfish...the list goes on! All the other dive guides there were also very good, we went on a few dives with Deni, Nikko, and Nimbert, and they were all very great guys!

Topside, the islands of Raja Ampat are breathtaking, and even though we spent most of our trip diving, we were still able to enjoy the beauty of the islands, and usually between dives they take you to villages or just island beaches to relax a bit and have a wonderful surface interval. Some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen, and we were lucky in that almost every day we were there it was bright and sunny!

They also had many birdwatching excursions, and I was planning to do their bird-of-paradise trip, but time got away from me and we simply just did too much diving to fit it into our trip! I'm sure it was amazing though, as we did do their hornbill cruise, and saw so many hornbills flying into the jungle and roosting for the night....it was awesome! Also saw palm cockatoos and white cockatoos, different types of pigeon, kites, herons, and lots of other species of bird that live around the area. They had around 3 birdwatching excursions, and also an excursion to a waterfall on Batanta (larger island, right next to Birie, the smaller island the resort is on) that I wish we would have done, as it looked beautiful! I guess that's our excuse to come back!

As for the rooms, they were breathtaking....over water bungalows with outside decks, western bathrooms, ample charging areas for cameras and such, and a big bed with a mosquito net encircling it. I was wondering about mosquitoes, but it was never an issue, they provided mosquito coils for the room, and also ample bug spray, so everything was just fine and I never got bit up very bad at all. Yes there are bugs and lizards, but to me, that was part of the appeal of the place! Actually, that is what I came there to see, all the wildlife was an added bonus!

As for the food....it was amazing! Always different options, and it was served buffet-style, which was perfect so you can get as much or as little as you want....they provided all the great Indonesian condiments as well, which was a huge plus for me, I put kecup manis on everything! Usually at every meal they would offer a soup, a rice, a fish, a chicken or beef, a vegetarian or egg dish, and mixed vegetables. Their chefs were really good also, as everything was very well prepared. They also had homemade bread, it was awesome, and fresh fruit and desserts too. They would also have cakes and such (sometimes pisang goreng....yay!!!) after the afternoon dive too that were always wonderful! Yes I ate a lot of food, and yes it was amazing! The kitchen staff was also very friendly and attentive, and always smiling!

In fact, everyone that worked there was very friendly, and the people really were the "cherry on top" of the trip! Everyone was so nice, friendly, always smiling, it was a great atmosphere, and even though everyone was busy (they were expanding so lots of extra projects around) they always made time to be cheerful and wonderful to the guests.

The resort was run by managers Chris and Leah, and they really made the place what it was...they were amazing, very passionate about the Papua Paradise, and had huge attention to detail and it showed in everything at the resort. The organization and quality of the resort was second to none, and because of this we would love to go back and visit anytime, and I will definitely recommend it to any of my diver friends wanting to go to Raja Ampat. There were many times during the trip after seeing other operations at dive sites, and being sooo thankful we were at Papua Paradise!! So thank you, thank you so much for making our time in Raja Ampat memorable and amazing! It really was paradise on earth and the most beautiful area I have ever been to in my life!

Room Tip: If you want a shorter walk, choose the lower numbered bungalows...if you like more of a walk, take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    25
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
93
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I chose Papua Paradise because of its remoteness and rawness - and it is true, there is no phone, no internet, no TV, you are completely in nature. The bungalow was built above water, so you enjoy sea view and nice breeze all the time. Just on the island you see interesting birds. At night, you can see thousands of stars, which you could never see in cities. And when you go to bed you hear the sounds of tides.

The resort is perfectly well-managed. I have visited other resorts of similar kinds, and Papua Paradise is for sure one of the best. The managers Leah and Chris understand pretty well what guests need and they arrange everything nicely: the rooms were cleaned twice a day, complimentary laundry, good food, water and towels on boats, name tags on all your dive gear... just to name a few. And they were very responsive if you need anything particular.

The dive was awesome. I had a very good dive guide Deni. He oversaw the diving arrangement well and took good care of less experienced divers. He found us many interesting things underwater, and he communicated everything with us very clearly - even underwater!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but need to walk longer (~5 minutes) if you stay in rooms farther to the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had such a good holiday in early 2013 that we arranged to return in November to escape the start of the European winter. There is always the risk of being disappointed by a second visit, but fortunately this was not the case with our stay at PPER. The resort has become busier and has a significant number of extra staff and guests; the plans for more accommodation and facilities are well advanced, but the resort retains its wonderful atmosphere...a unique mix of efficiency, enthusiasm and tranquility. Every day feels like an adventure, from the moment you wander onto the balcony, brushing your teeth, to look out for baby sharks, stingrays, jacks chasing shoals of fish.
Much of the credit goes to the management team. Chris and Leah work so hard, very hands on, really concerned to ensure everyone gets what they want and never too busy to stop to look for the resident octopus or chat about the meals. Even with more staff they are always available, and they have managed the increase in numbers very deftly, with all the staff just as friendly and helpful as ever.
Chris really is a Renaissance man with an insatiable interest in a myriad of subjects, from his eco sewage system, violin making, brilliant photographic skills, boat making to newly acquired plumbing skills! We learned such a lot from him about underwater photography and really appreciated his interest and help.
Leah must be the most unflappable person in the whole world. All the staff adore her and she has a great relationship with everyone. Another talented underwater photographer, her coaching and interventions were such a help to me.
Mie, along with Sylvain and Deni, do a great job organising the dive centre. It is even better than last time with streamlined systems, great briefings with drawings of dive sites, excellent boat captains and crew and knowledgeable guides. There are more guides, with some from Manado, who have excellent spotting skills for the four types of Pygmy seahorse, hairy shrimps, and other microscopic creatures. Nimbert and Yoris, local guides, have developed and are also great spotters as well as being charming people now happy to carry out briefings.
Each evening the diving programme is posted, taking into account everyone's wants and abilities. There is a maximum of four divers to a guide. The pattern is, for local dives, to have two morning dives starting at 8am after breakfast; diving is from boats and the surface interval is spent drinking coffee and eating donuts on a white sand beach or a village jetty. You return around midday and then there is an afternoon dive and/or a sunset or night dive.
All the gear is assembled on the boat before diving and between dives. All you need to do is look after your wetsuit and check everything you need is on board. There is a special camera crate on each boat and a rinsing tank on the jetty.
Entry to the water is by backward roll. After the dive, you remove your BCD and fins in the water and the staff lift it into the boat. A towel and a glass of water is handed to you as you step back onto the boat. Nitrox is available and there is a good system for checking Nitrox levels.
Several times each week there are day trips to sites a little further afield. The boat again leaves at 8am, lunch is taken on a jetty with time to chat to local children or snorkel, and the boat returns to PPER around four o clock.
You wash your own wetsuit and the staff take care of everything else, returning fins, masks etc to you own crate.
At present there are four boats but with plans for another three boats there is great flexibility for meeting guests' requests.
During our stay, some people did PADI courses, mainly with Sylvain who developed their skills, confidence and enthusiasm in a short time, and ensuring they loved their diving.
The diving is Raja Ampat! Many sites have some current so before each dive the current is checked and if necessary another site is chosen. There is a huge variety of dive site - something for everyone. The corals are stunning on most sites, and the reefs themselves are often breathtaking. However the fish are the stars really. On most dives you see sharks, white tip, black tip, grey, wobeggongs and even walking sharks. There is a special manta trip to a cleaning stations where mantas are more or less guaranteed, but often you see mantas and mobulas during the course of a dive. The shoals of jacks, barracuda, grouper, emperor, etc are astonishing and the reefs abound with a huge variety of reef fish. For lovers of tiny critters, there are many local dives where you see astonishing things and as the holiday progresses you start to recognise and spot them yourself. All the guides are happy to help with fish and critter ID, even when presented with a less than clear photo!
During our stay there were several snorkellers and they were delighted with the snorkelling, coming to some of the distant dive sites on the boat and seeing a huge amount of different fish and reef life. The two house reefs are good for snorkelling.
The accommodation is lovely with spacious rooms reached by jetties, amazing views, nice bathrooms, comfortable beds, an electric fan, mozzie net and a desk. The housekeeping service is excellent, and it is a pleasure to find the room beautifully clean and tidy. Mozzie coils are lit in the evening and repellent is provided, but we had very few insect bites/stings. The laundry service is free and prompt.
The restaurant has a buffet style arrangement with a choice of three dishes plus veg. There is always fish and at least one vegetarian dish. The fish is bought from local fishermen and is very fresh. There is a variety of cooking styles, with several delicious indonesian dishes. Tea and coffee is available free all the time, and there are facilities in each room to make hot drinks. beer and soft drinks are available to buy. The food is even better than during our last visit with extra touches such as home made bread, home made yoghurt, appetisers and fabulous fruit.
Internet is available in the restaurant area and in some rooms, and there are reference books as well as a library.
We visited the Fam Islands. The diving was sensational and the corals amazing. There is a walk up a hill to look at the Raja Ampat Islands view seen on so many magazine covers, and to see the long beaches of pure white sand devoid of hotels and people! Lunch on a jetty gave us a chance to meet local women who make soap and coconut oil. They are shy at first but we had such a good time trying to communicate with the women and children and some of the older men, with lots of laughter.
Other guests who visited the Passage said it was a magical day...one for our next visit! Trips are also available for various sorts of bird watching and visiting other islands. Birie island itself is lovely, with beautiful gardens full of orchids, and other tropical plants growing very naturally. There are lots of birds as well as frogs. The evening sounds of the frogs behind the resort and the staff gently playing guitars and singing near the restaurant are perfect. No wonder all the staff are so friendly and smiling. They also get to learn to dive and there is progression for them to develop their careers with PPER.
So, our second visit was even better than the first. The combination of a lovely place to stay and such good, well organised diving is a world beater. One morning, just in front of our bungalow, there were several baby sharks, a large momma grey shark and a troupe of enormous bumphead parrotfish. Not a bad start to a day in paradise!

Room Tip: Rather swish new larger rooms will be available soon for those needing even more luxury,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Total bliss. Fabulous diving, although we didn't even need to get in the water to see baby reef sharks (from our room) and octopus mating (from the jetty). And the snorkelling on house reef two was some of the best I've ever done. The reefs are full of colour and life - much healthier than in many other places sadly. The dive guides are excellent spotters, super safe and good fun. Currents were always checked (by the merman Nibert!) and where they were too strong we moved on. Providing towels on all the dive boats is a lovely and welcome touch. The 'resort' itself is just magical, the bungalows are huge, cleaned twice daily (!), airy, equipt with every form of mosquito repellant. The food is excellent, healthy, plentiful and great choices for a non-meat eater. All the staff made us feel so welcome. Cannot recommend Papua Paradise highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This resort is first class. Chris and Liz run and excellent dive & nature resort. This is just the best of Raja Ampat. Diving is wonderful with great boats, helpful, well trained guides and 2 house reefs that are so good.

Room Tip: All the huts are over water and excellent views with water splashing under your hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinhausen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Bungalows are very lovely constructed with a balcony right in front of the sunset and aboth the fisch! The diveguides know a lot and lead very good. The food is always enought and good. The best of all I liked the people working for Papua Paradise. They are always happy, sing and lought a lot and playing around but still do there job!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were here for a week with my wife. The resort is basicly a row of water bungalows. Walking on the coastal path can you reach the common dining water bungalow and a bit further on a larger pier you reach the diving center.
The bungalows have west/northwest orientation so you can enjoy the sunset every evening from your private terrace. You can see fish , rays , small sharks swimming in the water. The water bungalow is airy and open so the lack of air conditioning is not a problem. There is a standing fan and a double bed rotected with a light net. Only the first night was a bit unusual hearing the sound of the coastal waves from below , then we really got use to it, thinking back it was a great experience . Morning and night birds are crying and at night frogs are growling. In the evening walk on the beach the use of skin mosquito repellents is recommended, in the bungalows mosquito spiral was lit every evening and we got all kinds of repellents complimentary. I had no mosquito bites during the week.
The resort managers Chris and Lea are extremely kind people, they helped us in all questions. The food was delicious , it was in buffet-style. Chilled beer and soft drinks are in the restaurant with self-service/pay after system. Coffee / tea / hot chocolate is free.
I dived a lot and I can only say good . The unlimited package contains 4 dives/day. Local dive in the morning means two dives with a 15-20 minute fast boat trip and between the two dives resting on a local island with coffee / tea / cookies.
When the break is at the local village pier, it offers good snorkeling opportunity for UW photographers. There was two full day diving trip with big speed boat and three dives included in the price. One was Manta Sandy / Airborek jetty / and another one, the other was three dives at Kri / Mioskon.
Free Nitrox is included in the unlimited package. All the dives were in small/medium current. I really enjoyed here the night dives, maybe because I am UW photographer... The leader of the Dive center Bryan organized everything good. We came from Hungary, the other guests were from Switzerland and Italy.
Alltogether we felt ourselves very well , if you dont mind the long journey to Raja Ampat we can only recommend this Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raja Ampat
23.2 mi away
Waiwo Dive Resort
Waiwo Dive Resort
#1 of 5 in Raja Ampat
64 reviews
23.0 mi away
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
#11 of 43 in Raja Ampat
36 reviews
14.4 mi away
Agusta Eco Resort
Agusta Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Waisai
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
#10 of 43 in Raja Ampat
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
#5 of 5 in Raja Ampat
1 reviews
16.2 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Lodge
Raja Ampat Dive Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mansuar Island
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Papua Paradise Eco Resort

Property: Papua Paradise Eco Resort
Address: Birie Island | Batanta, Raja Ampat, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Papua > Raja Ampat
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Raja Ampat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Papua Paradise Eco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on an idyllic tropical island, surrounded with pristine reefs and unspoiled flora, Papua Paradise Eco-Resort, situated in the heart of Raja Ampat brings you closer to Mother Nature at her best. With all essential standards of service and comfort, combined with personalized service making Papua Paradise an unforgettable holiday for divers, snorkelers, bird watchers and nature enthusiast.Papua Paradise Divers is one of the very few PADI dive resorts in Raja Ampat. The diving facility operates according to best safety standards, tailor made service and professional approach. With this standard, numbers of divers diving at the same time are maximum 4 divers with 1 guide, guiding you through the underwater world of Raja Ampat, with over 1300 fish species and 540 coral species, considered as the heart of the world’s coral reef biodiversity, making Raja Ampat the richest coral reef ecosystem in the world.Our four vessels are purpose built for divers and all contain drinking water, coffee/tea and cakes, fresh towels, the latest safety equipment, and crew standing by for assistance. Small diving groups and experienced guides make your underwater experience unforgettable. Dive with manta rays, sharks, and shoals of schooling fish; explore the slopes of nudibranch, pipefish, and all the best macro in the region; discover the best of Raja Ampat diving in all its spectacular diversity.The island is teeming with exotic bird life, lush jungle foliage, and a spectacular array of fauna. Just a short boat ride from the sites of several endemic Bird of Paradise species, the resort offers specialty birding trips, jungle treks to waterfalls, and world class diving in the heart of Raja Ampat.Built in traditional style, entirely out of locally-sourced materials, and in partnership with the inhabitants of the local island village, Papua Paradise offers an exceptionally high standard of comfort and service, while maintaining eco-tourism values.Our spacious sea breeze-cooled bungalows contain modern hot & cold fresh water showers, comfortable beds with bed veils, tea and coffee facilities, a hammock and cushioned deckchairs facing the sea. Directly beneath the room balconies our nursery of juvenile black tip reef sharks can be seen, and moray eels, blue spotted rays and various other beautiful tropical fish are a constant presence along the house-reef. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing