We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome, cold beer and cool diving”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raja Ampat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papua Paradise Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we have just returned from 2 weeks at Papua Paradise and it really was amazing! On arrival we were greeted by Justin and Cheryl, the new resort managers, and a cold drink and refreshing towel. We were then shown to our room which is a cabin over the sea built in a traditional way with local materials. Considering this you have plenty of mod cons such as a fabulously comfy large bed with an amazing view the sea, separate bathroom with plenty of hot water on demand, fan, kettle with tea and coffee provided, safe and plenty of electric points to charge your camera, videos, laptops etc. A torch is provided as are umbrellas and there is also a water dispenser for fresh drinking water. Having unpacked we went out onto the verandah which has 2 sunbeds, 2 chairs and a table, a drying rail and a hammock! The views are to die for especially at sunset and there is also lots of activity to watch, such as fish jumping, sharks and rays swimming around, local fisherman heading out and about and passing whales!!!
We wandered down to the restaurant area which is set up so that guests sit together in small groups so you get to mingle and meet everyone as well as the managers. We were very impressed with the quality of every meal provided, especially the Indonesian meals and the spicy sauces that accompanied them! You have never tasted such amazing fresh bread and pastries either and it is also fantastic that the yummy doughnuts from breakfast follow you onto the dive boat!
The diving is of course incredible and the set up is very professional. There are 2 new dive centre managers, Matteo and Enya who are very keen to help you make the most of your diving. You have a very in-depth briefing from Matteo before you start and you are assigned a guide. We were so very lucky to have Deni who is the best guide we have ever had! His knowledge of marine life is unparalelled and he writes everything down for you on his trusty slate as you dive along. If you are into nudis please try to request him in advance as he knows every type you see by its latin name and can also spot a pygmy seahorse at a thousand paces! The set up for local dives is 2 in the morning, back for lunch, out again at 230 and then a choice of either sunset or night dive. Local dives tend to be more macro sites unless conditions are right for sea mounts such as paradise or bojo. There are day trips to Kri (which is fantastic for bigger fish, sharks etc) Manta sandy (speaks for itself) and Fam which has spectacular diving and a trip up a one of the islands to take pics. This is NOT to be missed! Each of the day trips get back in time to do a fourth dive if required.
We were here to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday which was whilst we were there. Justin and Cheryl couldn't do enough to ensure we had a very special experience. On the Sunday night the local staff had a sing along of local and western songs and the most amazing cake was brought out. All the staff and guests sang Happy birthday and we all sang and danced along with the band and it was a real party! On the Monday, which was his actual birthday I had asked for a meal to be served in our room on the verandah. Cheryl and Justin had a table set up, beautifully dressed with candles everywhere and waiter service of a 4 course Indonesian banquet which was simply stunning! All in all my husband had a very special and memorable 50th!
I cannot fault any aspect of our stay at Papua Paradise. The managers Justin and Cheryl really go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect for you and if you have any concerns just let them know and they will do whatever they can to meet your requirements. Matteo and Enya are full of enthusiasm to make sure your diving experience is all it can be and all the staff at the resort are lovely and welcoming ensuring you really do have a wonderful trip! I would not hesitate to recommend this resort and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFDuerden, Manager at Papua Paradise Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Hi there, thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We really appreciated your great company and not failing to make everyone smile. We hope you'll have the chance to come back and maybe even celebrate one of your birthdays again at the same time!

Warm Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Papua Paradise and loved Raja Ampat in general. We were disappointed to learn, however, that major expansion is planned at Papua Paradise resort with an increase in huts and plans for a swimming pool. This is why we would not return. They have a small saw mill going all day long for their building construction. The owners apparently have several properties in Indonesia (only 1 in Raja Ampat). We see the development going on and see it as yet another area being despoiled by what will eventually become overdevelopment.

The food was good, especially when considering the difficult logistics in planning/preparing food on an isolated island. For meals, people sit together at large tables which leads to interaction/conversations with others; we enjoy this as we can meet other tourists from around the world.

The staff was welcoming, friendly and the current managers were efficient and polite. (Note that they were quitting as of May, 2014.) The dive guides were extremely attentive, helpful and conscientious about safety.

A disappointment: while en route to the Fam Islands, twice the boat had to stop to pull plastic out of their outboard motor. We know plastic is a big problem world wide but had not expected to see any in Raja Ampat. Also, we were taken to a sandy beach for lunch whilst on that tour; we were dismayed to see it was littered with trash. They can't clean the whole ocean but one would expect the staff to at least clean up the areas they takes guests to (as well as the beaches around the resort)!

The water was wonderful. The beach (10 min walk) from the resort was awesome for snorkeling. We loved it & thought it was better than Palau or anywhere else we had been (including the Great Barrier Reef). Also Kri island area where we saw reams of fish and more outstanding coral. There were many small stinging jellyfish near the main resort so we didn't like swimming there. The nearby beach (wharf) is much better for snorkeling anyway.

The room was in an attractive setting with schools of juvenile black tip reef sharks swimming below the deck and lots of other fish as well. The sunsets were fantastic; you face west. The temperature is very hot and muggy (to be expected) but is tolerable with the fan. Best bet is to spend as much time as possible in a boat and/or the water.

Beware that every day the departure boat leaves around 7am (or so) and you are then transported to a hotel in Sorong where you will be trapped in a smoke filled, hot hotel unless you have an early flight. Lots of Indonesians smoke like crazy. The hotel they take you to also has pretty bad food so we recommend avoiding the food unless you're really hungry.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good; some are farther from the restaurant area thus requiring more walking. Plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I just spent 12 days at the resort and cannot understand how some people can travel 1.5-2 hours by boat to a very rustic area, and expect to have the exact same food, etc. as you do in a big city. I went to Raja Ampat for the diving and it was fabulous. In over 450 dives worldwide, I experienced my most beautiful of all at Mioskon dive site, with schools of fish, like there used to be in other parts of world in the distant past. I was totally mesmerized by the variety of fish and corals. I saw more mantas than I ever thought possible, both diving and snorkeling there, and never expected to see a wobbegong shark, let alone 6 of them. Raja Ampat is for brilliant schools of fish and pristineness. Only in Papua New Guinea have I seen such untouched, healthy reefs and fish. There was no A/C in the room but both of us decided not to ask for a second fan and made do with our oscillating fan. Considering how remote the lodge is, with no stores of any kind, except by boat journey to Sorong, the chef did a fine job of preparing both local dishes and European dishes to try and satisfy different palates. We did suggest they put in a common area for post diving exaggerations once they finish their remodel because as of now, there is no bar area or lounge of any kind for group gatherings, aside from the tables used for dining. The hot water for showers was sketchy and needs to be addressed, but it is in the tropics and cool showers are not unbearable. Divemasters were superb and Deni deserves special notice for writing all his observations on his slate. The only thing lacking, which Papua Resort has no control over, is critter diving. We did see 4 different pygmy seahorses, a few frogfish, and the tiniest fish I have ever seen, the "needle pipehorse" aka Lembeh Sea Dragon. It was as thin as a thread with a seahorse head! Combine Raja Ampat with Lembeh Strait, and you have the absolute best diving in the world, hands down! You will get the pristineness of protected diving in Raja with huge schools of fish, and the unparalled critter diving in Lembeh.

Room Tip: Room 6 was very comfortable but hot water went out often. The rooms are numbered 1-16 and the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fiftystatesevenconts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 18 days and cannot fault this excellent eco resort. The local snorkelling was the best for fish and corals from anywhere we have been in the world. The use of local materials in the accommodation added a real charm and the service provided by Chris, Leah and their team was second to none. The highlight was, of course, swimming with the Manta Rays.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

As the resort we wanted to book was full we booked at the advice of our travel agent two weeks in Papua Paradise eco resort. The information at the website was convincing and as we understood the owners were the same as Gangga Resort, Sulawesi, we we confident that the quality of the resort would be good. The info boasted that they had excellent food, comfortable rooms and an excellent dive centre.
Being there we learned that the original owner, an Hongarian company, had sold half to the owner of Gangga and the resort was in a transitional phase. There were new, luxurious airconditioned, rooms being build. Also a addendum of the restaurant was being build and new toilets.
there was building, hammering and sanding going on (loudly!) all day until one of the non-diving guests complained. Then they made less noise.
in the meantime repairs on the other rooms were not a priority and the old toilet near the restaurant was not functioning meaning you had to go to your room to do your business. Doable if you are in room 1, not so if you are in room 12.
Also the rooms leaked when it rained (ours above the bed) and also the roof of the restaurant leaked.
we had to change our room after a day because of a blockage of our toilet that could not be fixed short-term.
There was in the communal area (restaurant) nowhere to sit comfortably with a book, the only choice were the dining room chairs. Or your room, which meant that people left quickly after dinner.
I do understand that upgrading a resort is a process but we should have been informed about this. Then it would have been our choice to book or not and to do with less luxury if e did decide to book (maybe at a discount?). Now it is just a reason to complain.
The food was a disappointment. The indonesian dishes were ok, as is to be expected in Indonesia. But they were alternated with european style food and this was not good. And made for strange combinations (fried potatoes with chicken curry and aubergine lasagna???). Same for breakfast. There was a choice of bread to toast with a selection of jams and ham and (rubber)cheese and every day some very sweet breads. And an egg. After three days we were through with this. And asked for nasi goreng or something the crew ate themselves. Nasi Goreng (an accepted breakfast dish throughout indonesia) was not possible but we had white rice with a fried egg or a small piece of chicken. we did have to ask for it every day though.
it is a shame because the Indonesian cuisine is delicious and -from a sustainable point of view, this is an eco lodge after all- cheaper and more locally sourced to prepare than for instance the tortellini (with a sauce that tasted like it came out of a can). we had hoped to see more seafood on the menu but apart from a fish-dish every day nothing.....

the divecentre is professional and well-equipped and the dive masters are excellent. no complaints there at all. Also a great selection of dive sites and lots to see for macro-lovers. not a lot of big fish though.

All in all: ofcourse we had a nice trip: we came to dive and that we did as much as we liked.
but this resort will maybe one day be terrific, now is not the time to go there. Better wait until they finished redoing it, waterproofed their rooms, build a relax-area etc etc. And maybe made a choice to serve more indigenous and better quality food.

Room Tip: if you go now, there are two aircon-rooms ready. try to get one of those. They are new so everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FrancesSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aspanu, Manager at Papua Paradise Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Frances SH,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your time with us. We were very distressed to note your disappointment with some aspects of your time here, and wanted to address these matters.

It is true that the resort is in a transitional phase; it is very important to us that we will have a communal area, with comfortable seating, library, media center etc for our guests to use. The construction of this area is on-going and we are very much looking forward to being able to provide the facilities which we feel would do so much to this place. We do regret having only the restaurant available for communal area for the time being and very much look forward to the completion of the construction which will afford us a much more comfortable area for our guests to socialize.

I am very distressed to hear that the sound of the construction of the new dive center and the kitchen in particular was disturbing to you, and this concern is something very serious for us. We have since moved our workshop facility on the edge of the resort to an even further location, along with all power tools, so that our guest area can remain as quiet and peaceful as possible. Thank you for speaking to us about this matter so candidly, and I hope the changed that have come into place since this time (with the further distancing of our workshop) put an end to this problem.

I understand that during your stay here the roof was leaking and efforts to catch the and repair the leaks were ongoing - unfortunately when we have strong wind and rainstorms our traditional thatching can on occasion allow moisture into the room, but with quick repairs this is kept under control. We very much regret that you were inconvenienced by a leak in your room and in the restaurant during your stay.

We apologize that this move to a new room not long after your arrival was an inconvenience for you. As we spoke of at length, it seems that certain women's sanitary items had just been placed down the water closet in your room, the results required a great deal of time for us to fix and repair.

I am sorry that you were displeased with the restaurant fare, we do our utmost to vary the menu with Asian and European dishes. As we are on a remote West Papuan island, it can be difficult to obtain ingredients sometimes through supply boats to our remote area - we try to provide such commodities as ham, and imported cheese to suit all tastes, etc, and bake all of our pastries, donuts, homemade yoghurt, white and wholemeal bread fresh each day. As always, local breakfasts can be ordered from the kitchen, but I want to thank you for bringing to our attention your feelings that this option should have been easier to access - dining options for our guests are very important to us.
We serve seafood for lunch and dinner, daily, and all of our fish is locally caught. We do regret that, aside from the abundance of fresh fish, other seafood options which may be readily accessible in other parts of the world are more difficult to procure here.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your diving experience with us, and we hope you came away with some spectacular memories of your time in Raja Ampat.

As for the new bungalows it is true that we are also erecting several new bungalows, which will provide a slightly more luxurious alternative for guests seeking this option; although there are no plans to make this accommodation Air Conditioned, as it is important to us to minimalise our impact, and as the sea breeze cooled bungalows have proved more than sufficiently cool.
Again I would like to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, and can assure that we take such feedback seriously, and have already made significant changed to various aspects of our construction program, restaurant, and maintenance schedule after speaking with you and hearing your input.


Best regards,
Papua Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I am sure many clients of Papua Paradise have used this line.....but it is true and it is the first sign you see at the jetty. My wife and I stayed with PP for two weeks in bungalow 7. The location and accommodation are very dreamlike.

Being in Raja Ampat after all our research was amazing and we had to pinch ourselves - the life and abundance both underwater and on land is breathtaking. All the famous sites are in reach by the dive centre - being in central Raja Ampat. Our favourite was Sardine Reef - for the fish, sharks and endless postcard reefs. We felt ourselves being desensitized to the sites as they were so much richer than anything we had ever seen before diving.

Our accommodation was unit 7 - an over water bungalow all design and construction by the local Indonesian villagers. We saw them constructing an addition on the restaurant and service areas during the trip. It was very comfortable with bathroom with hot shower - we did find the gas on demand heater to blow out often - keeping bath door closed helped a bit. Staff were meticulous at prepping room when we were not there...almost magical at times. Since malaria is a concern they were setting up the netting and coils during our dinner...we did not see one mosquito amazingly enough. No AC but the breeze was enough most of the time. Everything that is on the island has to be brought on and removed so eco is a real concern - Chris and Leah - the managers - have done a good job of keeping awareness and eco mindedness at the forefront. There is a balance though as to attract clients who can afford to come - most want some of the luxuries like their own bath and hot water - perhaps better food than subsistence. They do provide these luxuries and the balance pretty well.

Chris is/was a professional photographer so he was a constant and valuable resource at the resort. My lens motor died and he helped me manual override to get more critical shots for the rest of our trip.

The restaurant provided very good food. The highlight by anyones standards who has stayed there is THE BREAD (...ok...maybe THE DONUTS). Shocking considering the remoteness to have fresh HOT bread at EVERY meal AND on the dive boat??? Unreal...what a comfort. We luved this.... I especially like their soybean dish - spicy - and oh so delicious. Fresh fish nightly available and chicken dishes.

The dive operation quarterbacked by My (Me) and Sylvain....was very responsive to our wishes to see all the "big sites". They accommodated our every wish and got all our shots. They strictly follow PADI rules here so don't expect too many cowboy dives....but they do offer 60min which should be lots - it does go by in a shot considering the reefs and fish life.

We left PP with incredible memories - we saw the Wilson Bird of Paradise, an amazing night dive on the last night that blew us away - mandarin fish, picturesque dragonettes, etc etc..

It is not cheap to stay here (or anywhere in R4) but my wife and I believe, considering the area and other options - we picked the BEST option value proposition. Central R4 - our own bath, overwater bungalows, access to all the big sites - Cape Kri, Manta Wai & Sandy, Passage, Fam, and many others.

Chris and Leah are gracious caring hosts adhering to eco principals and hiring local peoples - hats off to them both - keep up the good work.

Suggestion - if you get new digs for the office - that building would make a great camera station!

Room Tip: We liked unit 7...not too far from the jetty / restaurant but far enough away from any activity. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Big_D_Nanaimo_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the resort only a few days, as it was booked out. It has been a wonderful stay, even though as non-divers we felt at the beginning a little unconfortable. Most people who go to Raja Ampart go there for diving - but I think that it is also a great place for people who only snorkel. The food was really good, the staff was friendly and helpful. The nly minus is the rubbish on the see, which is beeing also dragged to the shore - but I think this is a common problem all over Indonesia.
The bungalows are very nice, with a balcony where you can enjoy the evening. All in one- I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kar0lcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raja Ampat
24.8 mi away
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
#10 of 52 in Raja Ampat
123 reviews
23.2 mi away
Waiwo Dive Resort
Waiwo Dive Resort
#3 of 6 in Raja Ampat
73 reviews
23.7 mi away
Meridian Adventure Marina Club and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
#13 of 52 in Raja Ampat
94 reviews
23.2 mi away
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
23 mi away
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
#12 of 52 in Raja Ampat
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papua Paradise Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papua Paradise Eco Resort

Address: Birie Island | Batanta, Raja Ampat 98484, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Papua > Raja Ampat
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Raja Ampat
Price Range: £101 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Papua Paradise Eco Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on an idyllic tropical island, surrounded with pristine reefs and unspoiled flora, Papua Paradise Eco-Resort, situated in the heart of Raja Ampat brings you closer to Mother Nature at her best. With all essential standards of service and comfort, combined with personalized service making Papua Paradise an unforgettable holiday for divers, snorkelers, bird watchers and nature enthusiast.Papua Paradise Divers is one of the very few PADI dive resorts in Raja Ampat. The diving facility operates according to best safety standards, tailor made service and professional approach. With this standard, numbers of divers diving at the same time are maximum 4 divers with 1 guide, guiding you through the underwater world of Raja Ampat, with over 1300 fish species and 540 coral species, considered as the heart of the world’s coral reef biodiversity, making Raja Ampat the richest coral reef ecosystem in the world.Our four vessels are purpose built for divers and all contain drinking water, coffee/tea and cakes, fresh towels, the latest safety equipment, and crew standing by for assistance. Small diving groups and experienced guides make your underwater experience unforgettable. Dive with manta rays, sharks, and shoals of schooling fish; explore the slopes of nudibranch, pipefish, and all the best macro in the region; discover the best of Raja Ampat diving in all its spectacular diversity.The island is teeming with exotic bird life, lush jungle foliage, and a spectacular array of fauna. Just a short boat ride from the sites of several endemic Bird of Paradise species, the resort offers specialty birding trips, jungle treks to waterfalls, and world class diving in the heart of Raja Ampat.Built in traditional style, entirely out of locally-sourced materials, and in partnership with the inhabitants of the local island village, Papua Paradise offers an exceptionally high standard of comfort and service, while maintaining eco-tourism values.Our spacious sea breeze-cooled bungalows contain modern hot & cold fresh water showers, comfortable beds with bed veils, tea and coffee facilities, a hammock and cushioned deckchairs facing the sea. Directly beneath the room balconies our nursery of juvenile black tip reef sharks can be seen, and moray eels, blue spotted rays and various other beautiful tropical fish are a constant presence along the house-reef. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing