We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat
Ranked #4 of 9 Raja Ampat B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were going to stay for two nights before leaving beautiful Raja Ampat, but we pulled the rip cord after a night here. For a basic room over murky waters on an increasingly dirty beach, Hamueco is so overpriced at 400 thousand rupiah per person per night. Food was not great and portions were limited. This is not a home stay, more like a motel on stilts. The rather basic communal bathrooms were steps aways on the beach. No sink, no soap. There's one hammock for rooms that are built for two people. It feels like the place was built to make easy money, without really much thought into the comfort and enjoyment of the guests.

Can't say I'd recommend it. Sorry.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aliila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamueco, Owner at Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello,

thank you for your review, and we are sorry you are not enjoying your stay with us. About our facility (basic room, bathrooms on the beach, no sink and soap, hammock only one in each rooms) we've inform it all on our website by pictures we post. As we also been mention before, we are a budget accommodation which you can see all facilities we have posted on internet. About the food, we will inform your input to our kitchen.

Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Makassar, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

First of all I must say that Raja Ampat is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, and Humueco provides a lovely base from which to enjoy this place. Swinging in your hammock over the sea, with fish jumping and crabs scurrying by is pretty perfect. Hamueca is also among the few affordable places to stay, although be aware that diving is sub-contracted out to neighboring dive shops, and it is pricey. You have to bring enough cash to pay for your accommodation as well as diving (diving was 500-800 Rps/dive).

The accommodation itself is simple but comfortable. We were the only couple staying at Hamueca, and we did think that if there had been other guests we would struggled with privacy - the walls are paper thin and I'm sure you would be able to hear every word on the other side of the wall. Our only real complaint was the food - we expected simple fare, and are happy with that, but felt that more variety would have been possible with the produce on hand. We asked the cook to cut down on the oil, and to provide noodle soup as a change from fish and rice every now and again, and this helped somewhat.

Organizing the trip was pretty easy, communicating with Hasna on the phone. Be aware though that Hasna is in Jakarta, so one-site planning (for diving) and problem-solving can be a bit tricky as the staff speak very little english.

There is no refrigeration, so be prepared for a beer-free visit. We brought a bottle of whiskey for evening drinks on the porch. All in all, we had a great trip, and did some SPECTACULAR diving. Raja Ampat lives up to the hype.

Room Tip: The room at the end of the pier has windows on three sides. It would be the best pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Asha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamueco, Owner at Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello Asha,

thank you for your review about our place. It is great to know you enjoy your stay with us. We are trying to improve our food, and thanks for your input. Now we have staff that can speak english, so i believe it will be easier for our guest especially foreigner.

Thanks :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

When my husband and I were looking for a place to stay in Raja Ampat , we realized that there were not many places convenient for us because in Raja Ampat most of the resort are very expensive and the Homestays are not worth the price they offer. When we thought we were not going to find a place that was relatively inexpensive, nice and good, we found Hamueco .
Hamueco offers very good tours in their Facebook page. Hasna, who is the owner, was responsible for organizing everything for us. She waited at the airport when we arrived and was responsible for paying all expenses and transfers. Hamueco is a very quiet place, perfect for a relaxing holiday. If you're going to Hamueco as a couple make sure to reserve the first room on the dock. It is the only room that has windows on 3 walls and you can appreciate the view lying on your bed, very romantic! All the tours that we did were excellent; the treatment of Hasna and her employees was magnificent. Our vacation was great but my only problem at Hamueco was the food. We were served rice, fish and vegetables at every lunch and dinner even when before the trip I had informed the owner that I do not eat fish. She told us that occasionally they were going to try to cook chicken which never happened. When you first get to Sorong Hasna is probably going to take you to a grocery store, so if you have problems eating fish make sure you get plenty of snacks, fruit, cereal, bread and canned chicken or something like that. They don’t have a fridge available so do not buy anything that needs to be refrigerated.
It is very important for you to know that Wayag Islands is temporarily closed. So if you are planning on going to Raja Ampat, make sure to ask Hasna if the Islands are still closed. I think the islands have been closed for a long time and it is the first time something like this happens. Don’t be disappointed if you find out that they are still closed, Hasna will make sure to take care of you and plan a trip to “ little Wayag” which is very similar to the Wayag Island and very very worth to check out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kasandra819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hands down the best place we stayed in all of West Papua! I had organized our stay with Hasna (speaks fluent English) on their Facebook page and she did everything for us. She was actually on the same ferry with us from Sorong and got us a taxi to the lodge and we got a beautiful overwater bungalow at the end of the pier. They have a generator at night and will keep it on if you need to charge your batteries. I've called it the World's Cheapest Overwater Bungalow on my blog and it is superb value. The rates currently around $70 for a couple in low season include 3 meals a day, usually seafood but they will bring other food for non-seafood eaters like me. The mandi is a long walk down a dark pier so bring a flashlight if you think you will need to make midnight visits.

I could lie on the bed and look out the door to my right and see Palm Cockatoos flying through the trees, even an Eclectus or 2 and the sunsets over the deck were amazing. I would def come back here next time we are in Raja Ampat.

Hasna knows everything there is to know about this island and can organize an excellent bird watching guide named Benny to see the Wilson's BOP and Red BOP. I blogged about my adventure. http://www.milestothewild.com/stunning-birds-in-waigeo-easy-birding/ She can also book you for diving or snorkeling (we didn't go as we were here for birds) and get your transport. Most people here don't speak English so she will translate.

This is a wonderful new place and once word gets out, its going to be packed but they deserve to be successful. I'd say get here as soon as you can!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tikibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent an unforgettable week at Hamueco Resort, in the middle of the Raja Ampat area. It comprises 6 semidetached bungalows on stilts on the water, overlooking Saleo beach in Waigeo island, half an hour drive from the main town Waisai (where the ferry from Sorong arrives). Excellent value for the price and a cheaper alternative to the usually expensive resorts in the Raja Ampat area. The bungalows are simple but very nice and cosy, with mosquito nets, comfortable beds and a balcony with hammock overlooking the sunset beach. The people there will make you feel like at home and attend all your needs. Bathroom facilities are shared, 'mandi' style, but with fresh water all the time. All the meals are provided and the food is very nice and tasty, with some local specialities. The owner, Hasna, can also help you to organize dives with the nearby Waiwo Dive Resort and also boat trips around the islands and to the famous Wayag limestone islets. There is also a very nice coral reef right in front of the beach (you have to swim a little bit though).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ibagur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raja Ampat
1.2 mi away
Waiwo Dive Resort
Waiwo Dive Resort
#1 of 5 in Raja Ampat
64 reviews
2.4 mi away
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
#11 of 43 in Raja Ampat
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
#5 of 5 in Raja Ampat
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Agusta Eco Resort
Agusta Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Waisai
64 reviews
13.8 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Lodge
Raja Ampat Dive Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mansuar Island
65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
#12 of 43 in Raja Ampat
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat

Property: Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat
Address: Cemara Saleo Beach, Raja Ampat 98482, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Papua > Raja Ampat
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Raja Ampat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamueco received their first guest at December 2012. Build near a local family from Raja Ampat, we offers people experience to interact with local people but also having comfortable room with basic amenities. We're still trying to have it eco friendly environment by limiting electricity (since we are using generator set for electricity) and water use. Our price included with 3 times meal. Our location is 45 minutes from Waisai Raja Ampat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing