We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Doberai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Doberai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have been travelling with my group all over indonesia. spent a lot of time everywhere. this review is not about the reef. because if you are looking about going on a vacation to Raja Ampat you probably already know how amazing the ocean is in this part of the world. This review gives BIG UPs to the Doberai Eco Resort and CREW!

The staff members were very friendly and pleasant. We enjoyed our time during the day with the dive masters on the boat, and at night over drinks with the admin staff. The staff proved to be very knowledgeable in regards to the ocean, its species, life in Papua, marine life, diving, etc..

No need to mention the diving, and quality of the reefs, and the diversity of marine life (that for granted).

The bungalows are cleaned every day. The food was amazing, with a variety of fish and vegetarian dishes served for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The resort offers great views (sunset, sunrise, and views of neighboring islands). No doubt, it is a Recommendable Resort to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indra j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    22
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
14
35
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in this island a few months ago but our stay was quite disappointing.

1. The manager was not friendly nor helpful at all.

2. No juice, no fruit exist... hey this is resort right?

3. Bing Tang beer was never cold, and RPH80.000 (US $8) for warm bing tang? Seriously? FYI,
you can usually buy this beer for $1.75 in Bali.

4. No snacks included, when they advertise "snacks are included and 24hrs room service...

5. The room was cleaned only once during 4 nights stay. They advertise fresh towels every day
on web...

6. Food was ok but be aware.... NOT resort food!!!

Breakfast: cold dry INSTANT noodle, fried eggs, cold soggy toasts.
Lunch: either chicken or fish, rice cold dry INSTANT noodle.
Dinner: same as lunch:)

7. So much rubbish in the Island. Everywhere... Staff litter cigarette butts. Well, is this really an
Eco resort?

We felt we were intruding their home whenever we had to ask for something e.g. snorkel gears, kayaks, life vests, etc etc.
Each activity was IRP500,000 which seems to be reasonable for people who are from overseas, but hey that is half of the average monthly salary in Indonesia.... Don't you think that is quite expensive? We tried to do a few activities, but sometimes staffs went to the main island and none of them were available, or sometimes they were just too lazy and reluctant to take us out.

It is really different from what we expected!!
The nature was absolutely beautiful so we are not being negative, but if you have choice to stay in different island resort, you should! This resort is quite expensive for what you get, there are so many other resort or accommodation where you can see beautiful nature everywhere in Raja Ampat!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank mathew192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AswadBandie, Owner at Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Every body knows that comparing apple should be with apple.

Raja Ampat can not be compared with Bali.

These are the reasons:

1. Raja Ampat is a sub district, and Bali is a Province.
In terms of infrastructure, Bali is far better than Raja Ampat.
These circumstances affect everything in the economy activities and growth of Raja Ampat.

2. Raja Ampat is an archipelago that consists of 640 islands.
It takes weeks or even month to fully explore Raja Ampat. And it all can be reached only by sea, by riding speed boat or ship or vessel. Bali is simply one big main island that can be explored by car.

Again, these circumstance affects economically Raja Ampat.

3. Pointing to # 2 above, speed boat can only run by consuming fuel or gasoline. Fuel is everything in Raja Ampat, Ironically, this stuff is considered to be the highest price in the country, it is IDR 16.000,- - IDR 20.000,- per litter, compared to Bali, it is only IDR 6.000,- - 9.000,- per litter. Worse is that, most of the time fuel is not available in Raja Ampat, so that people have to buy and bring it from Sorong, 2 -3 hours by boat from Raja Ampat.

Those three main circumstances affect massively economic activity as well as price and availability in Raja Ampat, everything such as food, logistic, building material, tools and equipment, absolutely
everything. The price are triple even much more.

From those very brief but blunt explanation above, we hope the guest could understand that Raja Ampat can not be compared to Bali or any other places in the Country or in the world.

Raja Ampat is Raja Ampat, it is the most beautiful marine tourist destination, and it deserves to have such a certain class or level of guests only.

The last. Kindly also compare our prices and services with other resorts in Raja Ampat not in Bali.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makassar, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Two weeks ago I had the privilege to 'taste' the nature of untouched Papua Land, when visited Doberai Eco Lodge. This resort it's like a window to what might hidden in Papua Land. A glimpse of its awesome-funbloodytastic underwater life. A slight taste of its biodiversity richness, the beauty of its quiet-mostly uninhabited beaches. Woke up by the sound of birds. Held breath of its first and last light of the day. That's the first dip. The second one is: the resort is clean, the room was nice, nice staff, three times a day of good meals. Home cooking style. What I love about the resort is it gives you space to be together with you. Inspiring place for writers, or those who need to get way for a while.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Staying at Doberai Eco Resort,Raja Ampat with the eco concept is really fantastic experience. The resort located in Uray island with its beautiful scene that you can enjoy from any sites of the island. Other than the spectacular view of the underwater with wide variety and colorful of corals and fishes, we also explore the island by doing trekking to the top of the hill and experience the most beautiful view that we never stop admiring it.
The service is excellent with friendly and helpful staff.

Would we go back ?...The answer is absolutely yes. It’s a perfect place for holiday destination.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wahyuni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makassar, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Excellent resort located in very nice environment, the coral reef and the fishes are awesome, just snorkeling in front of the resort, close to the small Island you'll see intact and diverse reefs. Bigger fishes can easily seen in the water behind the resort. I really enjoy the various sound of birds in the morning and in the afternoon. The services is wonderful, they are all very friendly, nice and diverse foods. Highly recommended

Room Tip: To maximize the time, come by early flight from Sorong on Friday am and get the first ferry at 9, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salatiga, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is my first review on Trip advisor as I have never felt the need to disprove the excellent reviews before. Please don't be tricked like me and my husband were.

My husband and I are living in Central Java at the moment and we have travelled to many places in Indonesia. We really wanted to go to Raja Ampat so we read a lot of reviews on the area and the resorts. We contacted several resorts but the only one that was quick to respond was Doberai Eco Resorts owner Aswad. We decided to stay at Doberai Eco resort after Aswad made it sound so wonderful. When we arrived after a very long day to Waisai we were greeted by the manager who we soon realized spoke very little English (luckily I know a little Bahasa). As we arrived to the resort we were shown the nice Eco rooms made out of palm, local timber and bamboo and then we were shown the bathrooms located about 100 m from our room (500 from the eating area). The bathrooms are very dark, have a lot of mozzies and no shower only a bucket of salty water to wash yourself with. I was okay with the bucket of salty water at first but after four days and being cold after diving you really want a proper shower. Also when you are paying $300+ a night you do expect better luxury than that even if it is an 'Eco Resort' which it is not.


If you think that you are going to an 'Eco resort' when you come here think again! My husband and I are very active and like to adventure so we decided to paddle around the resorts island. As we entered into the second bay right behind the staff accommodation we saw a huge pile of rubbish right on the beach. This was so disappointing and it really made me furious! Aswad the owner of this 'Eco resort' visits the resort once a month but obviously has no care or understanding of what it means to be Eco friendly and protect the precious marine environment of Raja Ampat. In addition, to the rubbish behind the staff accommodation we paddled further and and saw lots of rubbish at the Doberai Eco Resort 2 future building site. It was so sad to be very far away from anything but still surrounded by rubbish and to see people have no care for the environment. Advice from me Aswad would be get the first Eco resort right before you try and make another one, people will see the faults with place and will not return to this resort meaning the money of which is so important to you will not be in abundance.

The food. We were told that all snacks and meals would be provided but that wasn't the case. No snacks were provided only tea and coffee but you are lucky if the staff remember to have hot water available. The staff sleep most of the day and when you ask for anything they make you feel like you are bothering them and that is if they can even understand you. Breakfast consisted of cold packet mi-goreng with cold fried eggs and you get that every morning and trust me you get over it! Then lunch and dinner are nice but there is roughly 7 hours between meals and when you are snorkeling and kayaking all day you need food. On the second day of our stay another Australian couple arrived and instantly had the same complaints as us and were in shock. The food we had received for two people never increased when the other couple arrived and we had to make sure that we each had enough to survive literally as there is no shops or anything else for miles.

Also, if you are looking for an amazing resort for diving and exploring Raja Ampat this is not the place. There are only two kayaks at the resort which makes it very awkward when their other guests who want them when you do.. by the way kayaking is the only way to see the reefs without a $200 price tag from this resort. Also, the traditional fishing consisted of a bug can and plastic bottle with line wrapped around it (im so glad I paid for that, NOT!!!)The staff are from Sulawesi and have no idea on where to take people and you need to be able to speak Bahasa very well if you are to describe what marine life you want to see. I said that I wanted to see turtles and they had no idea what I was talking about. Luckily, anywhere in Raja Ampat has good coral reefs and we did get to see marine life including turtles. If you do want an amazing experience I suggest you go to Kri Resort; even the staff from Doberai admitted that it is the best and has the most amazing dive sites.

There is so much more I could say but I think you can understand from this review that it is not worth going to. It is a homestay at best. Please don't support a place that does care for the environment of Raja Ampat. Also, if you don't believe my review please look at the review from the Canadian man who stayed here he was very accurate!!!!!. The other Australian couple sent a personal email of their complaints to the owner instead of on trip advisor also.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Cluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AswadBandie, Owner at Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you very much if the guest defines Eco Resort differently. We believe on our own definition and it is reflected in the concept and lay out of the facilities of the resort e.g: location of the restaurant and bathrooms.

Our dive guides have been working in Raja Ampat, Waigeo area for years. Hence, we are certain on what we know.

Urai island has its own house reef, containing at least 6 dive beautiful spots, showing varieties of marine species such as wobegong, black tip shark, scorpion fish, turtle, pigmy seahorse, countless macros, and of course schooling fish as well as breathtaking coral reefs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I ve been traveling around the world for as far as I can remember. Last few year my destination has been Indonesia, and this last Xmas, I finally made it to Raja Ampat.

When I book online this resort, it look very charming. Once I ve got there, I couldn't believe it :-) It was exactly what I needed, I stayed for 4 nights in the Bungalow n3.

First day... and the following days

What a dream!.. in the early morning the tight is up and the sun shines through the floating bungalow, inviting you to to get out of bed, the stunning view and natural pool is waiting for you to say good morning, full of life!

Breakfast was really good, this place is so intimate that it feels like you ve been living there, and it s actually your house in paradise.

While we were there, there was another couple few bungalows away, but we felt that we had the whole island for ourselves, later on we went for snorkelling right infront. we saw, snakes.. sharks and infinite colours and beautiful creatures.

Lunch time was delicious and then straight for siesta time in our terrace.
Around 3 we went up to the hill, and then later to the beach at the other side of the island, just before I thought can this get any better.. BAAAM!

We stayed till sunset, top!

At diner time, there was a problem with the generator and all the light went down for 5 min.. Best 5 min of darkness ... THE SKY!!! .. no no seriously, you could even see satellites everywhere, falling starts and just incredible open view of the space!

They offer day trips, diving and they have snorkers to rent, cold beer, fresh water etc..

It became a tradition every night after diner, as well as our next days.. we truly enjoyed staying in here. it will always stay in our hearts..

THANK YOU RIKA AND ASWAD!
we will come back soon.

Love

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raja Ampat
0.0 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
#10 of 35 in Raja Ampat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.2 mi away
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
#11 of 35 in Raja Ampat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
6.5 mi away
Waiwo Dive Resort
Waiwo Dive Resort
#1 of 5 in Raja Ampat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Agusta Eco Resort
Agusta Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Waisai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat
0.0 mi away
Piaynemo Homestay
Piaynemo Homestay
#26 of 35 in Raja Ampat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort

Property: Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
Address: Urai Island, Raja Ampat 98482, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Papua > Raja Ampat
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Raja Ampat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:1 star — Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to experience a getaway you'll never forget? Tranquility from a private beach that will stay with you forever? These are the experiences you can expect from Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort.Unwind in the tropical haven of Doberai Eco Resort. Set on white sand beach and nestled between the luscious flora and fauna of Raja Ampat. Marvel at breathtaking mountain peaks, lush tropical plants and magnificent wildlife. Relax in a spacious Villa with spectacular island views and the beach is all yours.Positioned on a tranquil beach, this Doberai Eco Resort Island resort offers exciting leisure activities including diving, boat trips and mountain nature walks in Raja Ampat archipelago. Get a lifetime experience of watching Cendrawasih birds and Papua orchids in their natural habitat, and bring home a special Papua token as your memorable gift.Doberai Eco resort is the one and only resort in Raja Ampat purely owned and operated by professional Indonesian private sector company. This company is also in progress of developing a new resort in another most fascinating private island of Raja Ampat.To ensure that the indigenous people could also benefit from the day to day resort operation, the business operation economically involves the local people nearby the island starting from the development of the resort, employment of local people, raw material food supply, etc. By doing these, it is certain that the extremely high potential of tourism of Raja Ampat would economically and socially affect positively to local indigenous people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing