We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet the most authentic”
Review of The Sawah

The Sawah
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Bantul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: PLEASE NOTE: ADVANCE BOOKING is STRICTLY NECESSARY, minimum 8-12 hours ahead.'Cooking after booking' is the motto: we are not a normal restaurant but a beautiful private home. At the moment our ONLY and highly appreciated menu is our RIJSTTAFEL (rice table), with about 10 different Javanese dishes. The name rijsttafel is Dutch, the food is not! ;-)
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Meet the most authentic”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Put TheSawah in your itinerary when visiting Jogja. Located in the outskirt of Jogja, it serves the most authentic Indonesian food I’ve ever tried in a place feels like home. Nothing is pretentious and being rushed here. When you’re here, the whole place is yours: you can even peek into their kitchen and the owner will be very please to show you around the house. Allocate at least half day to enjoy the whole package: the trip, food and atmosphere. It’s worth all the time and spending.

Cannot go wrong with any dishes here, with Soto Ayam, Nasi Langi and Nasi Goreng are the must try. They are popular Indonesian food, so popular that often at other eateries the taste is standardly good enough. But here, they are fabulously different! It’s a combination of freshest ingriedients the chef herself (Ibu Yayuk) bought at a nearby traditional market just one day before or on the dining day and her time tested culinary skills.

The concept of being a house to eat makes theSawah a friendly place with excellent service. Treating the guests as family, they are making extra miles to serve real food as an expression of love.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    36
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Uniquely Jogjakarta - well worth the trip”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The surrounding is tranquil and the house possess strong personality which reflects the owner's passion. The food was yummy and the service was warm and personal. At the end of the meal, the owner brought us around the house, now, that is personal service all right. Highly recommended and given a chance, I will bring my family and friends here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jeankoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“one of its kind dining experience”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It is really one of its kind dining experience, the food we ordered was authentic & delicious Indonesian cuisine, will prefer the food to be more spicy but understand that it needs to cater to other guest preference. Wim is a great host and show us around his beautiful home. overall a great experience!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Junn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“A little oasis amidst the rice fields surrounding Yogyakarta City”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have been in Yogyakarta for a while now, and we have become quite familiar with the Indonesian cuisine and "hotspots" in Yogyakarta when it comes to food. Nevertheless, Wim, Philip and their family who run the place (in a very welcoming way, by the way) have managed to impress us significantly. Do not consider this place an ordinary restaurant, because it's not. Wim and Philip personally welcome you in their home and prepare you a typical Indonesian "Rijsttafel". For those who don't know the concept: your table is filled with small portions of divergent Indonesian dishes. The food was absolutely delightful, and because of its variety, this menu is able to serve different wishes and needs.

Furthermore, the staff proved incredibly hospitable (even for Indonesian standards) and the house can be considered a little oasis amidst the rice fields surrounding Yogyakarta City.
We would definitely return to The Sawah and want to recommend the place to anyone who is visiting Yogyakarta; even if it were for just a couple of days.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Remy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food and an exceptional ambiance”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had an Indonesian 'rijsttafel' for lunch at The Sawah. Hosting a group of 12 was absolutely no problem for Wim, Phillip and the kitchen staff, who are all family. Booking in advance is essential though.
We felt very welcome as it feels like you're having dinner in somebody's home as opposed to a restaurant. Wim is a great host- entertaining us whilst Phillip was doing his magic in the kitchen. One of us was ill, and Wim made a point of her relaxing on the sofa and fussing over her.

And then there's the food....A large number of dishes were presented (and all fairly quickly, as opposed to many other Indonesian restaurants), all of very good taste.
You really must experience it to believe it- it was amazing! It's well worth the trip from Yogyakarta, perhaps combining it with a visit to the quaint pottery village The Sawah is located in.
We were truly sorry to have to cut the lunch sort as we had to catch a flight- next time, we'll be sure to make an afternoon out of it!

If I had to mention one negative thing, it would be that The Sawah is so far away from our home in Singapore...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kholtslag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sawah also viewed

 

Been to The Sawah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing