We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place with a difference...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sawah

The Sawah
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Bantul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$12
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: PLEASE NOTE: ADVANCE BOOKING is STRICTLY NECESSARY, minimum 8-12 hours ahead.'Cooking after booking' is the motto: we are not a normal restaurant but a beautiful private home. At the moment our ONLY and highly appreciated menu is our RIJSTTAFEL (rice table), with about 10 different Javanese dishes. The name rijsttafel is Dutch, the food is not! ;-)
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A place with a difference...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We ate at this "restaurant" two nights in a row, the first night we enjoyed the "rijsttsfel" several dishes which together ad up to a (large) meal. The second night we took a cooking class, where Phillip explained all the ingredients and the different methods of cooking, although he said to have kept it simple, we ended up with another "rijsttafel".
All the dishes tasted great and we enjoyed both meals (together with the hosts thoroughly!
The place is amazing, a beautiful home, with lots to see and plenty to talk about. Therefore I think dining at The Sawah is an unforgettable experience, so don't miss the opportunity while you visit Yogyakarta!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hieke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    36
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

It was indeed a surprise when i found out from tripadvisor that the number one restaurant to visit in Jogja was a home eating place instead of a real restaurant, thus it became one of the must-eat place on my list and it did not let me down at all.
There were three of us and we enjoyed the food, drinks, service and the house tour after our lunch. We also had fun with Hero, the dog.
The meal started with a refreshing welcome drink that had honey and mandarin orange in it, followed by a generous serving of soto ayam and gado-gado(i think) for my friend who is a Vegan. By this time, my vegan friend is almost full. We were served 10 dishes after the appetiser and gosh, we had ourselves extremely filled up. In our opinion, the amount of food was simply copious. My vegan friend was able to enjoy 8 dishes out of the 10. We spent 3 hours for this meal. Everything was delicious except for the Gudeg which we had tried before this visit, it's a dish that required an aquired taste. Thus, it's no fault of theirs.
Wim took the effort to show us around the house after the meal and he seemed to be genuinely keen about the episode, despite maybe having done it for umpteen times. Phillip was friendly, Erwan was diligent and the rest of the family were welcoming.

The journey to The Sawah took about 25mins by taxi and cost about Rp30000.

Helpful?
Thank Grayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were in Jogja for 4 days and 3 nights on the Easter weekend. Having done some homework before we departs on where to dine. We found The Sawah rated as Top 1 and we have decided to pay a visit to this restaurant on one of the day after a day trip to Borobudur. As suggested we have to make reservation for dinner on the Friday night. The restaurant is located outside from Jogia city center and it take about 30 minutes by car or taxi ride to reach there. As we were early, we took a walk at the padi field next to the restaurant (which was challenge to navigate on the narrow path). Do it at your own risk to avoid falling into the padi field.

The restaurant was housed in Philip and Wim residence. The place was well done up with pond and water surrounding the dinning area. The minus side a lot of mosquitoes so go prepare with insect repellent sprayed before u head up there. The ambience and the services made the dinner a great pleasure. The home cooked Javanese food was excellent! Sedap.. For 2 people, the portion was just nice but we can't even finish it. When we were done with our meal before dessert was served, the owner, Wim brought us to tour around his house. We felt like we were his friend than customers. Sawah, keep up good work to continue to preserve the authentic Javanese food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esther08800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“The reason why you'd want to go is not the food, but the house tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Being so far away from the centre, how The Sawah rose to no.1 in Tripadvisor is a bit of a mystery to us and we spent some part of the dinner speculating about how we could perhaps try to open a restaurant at home (and we mean literally in our house) and reach no. 1 with the help of friends, betting on the personal and intimate touch of being in someone's house.

In any case, the setting was nice sitting on their verandah. It was the Indonesian menu (70% of guests choose the Indonesian option) and the food was very copious. We could not finish a single dish. It was overall good, in a homemade way with no emphasis on presentation or timing (with the exception of the appetizer salad, all other dishes were brought at the same time). With many different choices offered at once (maybe 10 different dishes) you can always find something you like! However no single recipe could score as the best we had in Indonesia despite the obvious homemade advantage.
Being able to order wine (only one kind available) was nice and the overall price of the meal was very affordable.

Now, the real reason why you'd want to go to the Sawah is not the food, but the trip to the outskirts of Yogyakarta and the visit of a fusion-architectured house. Indeed, the owner came to see us and toured us around the house which was interesting - this attention to guests and stories and shared intimacy are the reasons for good reviews and make the experience different from a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Noctanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must Do Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Travel lovers, if you don't go to La Sawah to experience dining in the home of Phillip and Wim, then you haven't really experienced the best of Jogja.

My husband, his work colleague, and I dined at La Sawah in March 2014 based solely on the recommendations of Trip Advisor. I understood based on the reviews that we were in for an experience, but I didn't give my husband or his colleague any clues as to what a dining pleasure they were in for.

If you've read other reviewers, you already know La Sawah isn't a restaurant at all, but rather a private family home and a labor of love for the owners. When you go to La Sawah (and you should go) you will be treated like an honored guest of the family. Our menu choice --the Indonesian- was wonderfully done and very tasty. The price was more than a fair value. But the time we spent with Wim, touring the property and hearing the stories, was the best part about the experience.

My husband and his colleague happened to be in Jogja for an important work meeting they had organized with an international team. After dining at La Sawah, they cancelled their Monday dinner reservations and rebooked the event for 14 people at La Sawah. Although, I was not in attendance, I hear the experience was equally impressive.

Be sure to call ahead at La Sawah. The first reservation typically chooses the menu for any subsequent reservations. Keep an open mind and a empty tummy for the best possible experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpatDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sawah also viewed

Yogyakarta, Java
 

Been to The Sawah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing