We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub but food could be improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Weary Friar

The Weary Friar
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Pillaton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kent
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice pub but food could be improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We regularly visit this pub when in the area and it is a great location for walking around/to/from!

The menu is vast here and the reason for my title is that I think they could improve by having a more streamlined smaller menu. I do think they try to offer too much variety and in our previous visit this reflected slightly in the food, for example, I'm sure the chips were frozen, however the fish was lovely and fresh so a bit of a mixed bag. Portion sizes are also huge which is good for some but could put off others.

Deserts on the other hand were amazing and definetely homemade and the staff really friendly :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent Lucnch @ the Weary Friar, Pillaton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Beautiful lunch, and the choices are brilliant, the menu`s are so big they resemble the Old Testament! Lovely 12th Century Pub, with oodles of character, first time I have been there in over 20 years of living in Cornwall, and it certainly will not be my last, what a hidden gem!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IanWilliams1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good honest food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Having Pre booked a meal with friends (4 couples) we sat down and was greeted with a pleasent and well presented waitress .
There was a good choice of local food though some dishes seemed slightly over priced.
The starters arrived promptly and enjoyed by all unfortunately the mains took nearly an hour to arrive, thankfully time went quickly as we had lots to catch up on.
The food was hit and miss , some dishes came out and looked and tasted wonderful.
Some dishes seemed to be pre cooked and served a little dry from overhead lamp heating.
The pub was extremely busy so I can only imagine this was why it took all but an hour between courses. Also this could be a cause of dry meats on the plate.
Overall on average £50 per couple (excluding drinks)so slightly overpriced for what was laid on the table.
Friendly but commercially run pub , lacks the feeling of a village atmosphere.
It takes a effort to drive there due to its location so not in a hurry to return .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whomenoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Xmas Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We had the most fantastic Christmas Dinner. The food was well prepared with an excellent choice of starters main course and deserts. The staff were very good and the meals were served hot and cooked to perfection. The atmosphere was lovely which made thing all the better. Very enjoyable day and I would recommend a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
179 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fairly good but not brilliant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Lovely pub that could really do better food to be honest.
The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was very cosy but somehow the food did not quite live up to our expectations bearing in mind it cost £122 for 4 people (2 courses). The lamb was pretty tasteless but the fish was good. One main gripe was that 2 of us ordered decaf coffee but it came fully loaded and not a wink of sleep was had as a result. One member of our group is sensitive to coffee so we double checked beforehand and was reassured that decaf it would be.
Other than that it is a very pleasant pub and we would return if in the area but not before looking around for alternatives. These pubs cannot rely on looking pretty these days; they have to deliver as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nmpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Weary Friar also viewed

 

Been to The Weary Friar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing