We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Meeting in Cornwall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast

Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentewan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Pentewan B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Meeting in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Thorncliffe in 2012 for the first time. The welcome we received then was superb
And the views from the breakfast conservatory are outstanding .
Our daughter and Grandchildren were staying in a campsite nearby which we could see from the B&B.
Our Daughter and Grandchildren decided to stay at the same campsite this year and so we thought we should return to the Thorncliffe to spend time with them, once again our welcome was superb it was like long lost friends returning.
The accommodation is not huge only 2 rooms are let, but you couldn't wish for more , the breakfasts are outstanding.
Our thanks go to our Hosts Jim and Pat , we will return it is perfect for us.

Room Tip: The only down side to this B&B is there are no en suite facilities but both rooms do have wash b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBreward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed with Pat & Jim after a recommendation and we were not disappointed. Very friendly B&B and we were made to feel very welcome. As mentioned in the other reviews the breakfast was very generous and Pat cooks to order so you don't have to stick to the same set menu, which was great for me as I'm very fussy! We'll hopefully be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tudgey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent four nights in Pat and Jim's B & B. They were the most friendliest fun loving couple and nothing was too much trouble.

They made us feel so welcome and at home. Highly recommended and excellent position for visiting the breathtaking Lost Gardens of Helligan.

Maureen and Judith

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I echo the comments already made. Pat and Jim are the most attentive, friendliest and loveliest people, who cannot do enough to make you feel at home (I could quite easily have moved in permanently!) The accommodation was very comfortable and the tasty breakfast beautifully cooked and presented. Thank you so much to you both and I will definitely recommend you to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

After an 8hr car drive from London to Cornwall for a charity event, we couldn't have been happier to be greeted by Pat and Jim. Such a lovely friendly couple who were incredibly accommodating and made a mean breakfast (defo try the mushroom, egg and tomatoes!!). The views across Pentewan Sands were incredible from our room and the house immaculately kept. If you want to experience a beautiful coastal village without the noise and fuss of a large campsite,I would recommend this please in a heartbeat. !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

After a nightmare journey down to Cornwall, it was so nice to be greeted in such a warm way by Jim and Pat. It was like staying with a well-loved aunt and uncle! They made us feel very welcome and relaxed. The B&B was lovely and comfortable and clean, with everything you could need made available. Breakfast started with a lovely fruit salad and yoghurt, with cereal and toast and a fab cooked breakfast to set you up for the day. The beach was just a 5 minute walk away and you could see the sea out of your window -perfect! Would very happily come back and stay any time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P0lly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Recently returned from a two nights stay at Thorncliffe. The house was immaculate, the views breathtaking and the breakfasts were delicious. After an arduous journey we were instantly made to feel at home with a home brew! Within minutes of arrival, we felt as if we had descended on relatives, such was the friendly nature of Jim and Pat. They really went over and above for us and were incredibly generous. We couldn't fault the place and urge you experience the friendliest bed and breakfast west of the Tamar!

Room Tip: Mind your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentewan
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
1.9 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast

Property: Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast
Address: Thorncliffe Higher West End, Pentewan, St Austell PL26 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Pentewan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pentewan
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast Pentewan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing