We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!!”

Simply Judes Brasserie
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Pentewan
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a disappointment!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A thorough disappointment...started with prawn cocktail which was basic and on the small side...frozen prawns and a few leaves. Then waited an hour for the main course which was mediocre at best ...on ordering the wine we were told there was only one bottle of pinot left on a bank holiday weekend this was astonishing ...given that there were only another couple of tables occupied, I worry how they would cope with a full house...wont be going again..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahclegg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    9
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere excellent food”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Jus had dinner at Simply Judes Brasserie. The food was delicious and the atmosphere lovely and friendly.
Definitely a place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank HugoDoswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dining at Simply Judes”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great restaurant with an really good menu and wine selection. The staff were very attentive, the food was excellent and will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank izzyliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mothering Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a Fabulous lunch we have just had a 3 Course Lunch for £12.95 a Choice of 3 Starters, 3 main meals, and 3 sweets.The food was delicious plates piping hot.The staff are very friendly nothing to much for them We also sat in the Garden having drinks and a break between courses.so no rush the restaurant was full and everyone was enjoying themselves Little touches fresh Daffodils on the tables and the place is so clean We will definitely return Well done to all the Staff and JUDE.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivybearbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disapointing Evening.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This used to be the Old School House and was excellent. This was our first visit under the new owners and it was for my wife's birthday. At dinner on the Tuesday eveing we
were the only people in all night !! Why didn't they ring us and cancel ?
I have to say the two people on duty were very pleasant but also somewhat amateurish in some areas. A crispy duck starter was fine but the main courses were dreadful, Overcooked chicken and very soggy rice. We both left more than we ate.
This could be a pleasant restaurant but it does not know what it wants to be with a large English/ Asian/Thai etc. menu. Needs more direction and a better chef.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CBGDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Judes Brasserie also viewed

 
Pentewan, St Austell
 

Been to Simply Judes Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing