We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service very friendly”

Simply Judes Brasserie
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Pentewan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Excellent food and service very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited this restaurant for a friend's wedding and it was amazing the food was very well presented and very tasty, the service was excellent with a warm friendly welcome from all the staff we will definitely return when we are next in the area

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqncol-allum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    9
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not have asked for better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We attended a wedding a Simply Judes recently, not having been before we did not know what to expect, we were not at all disappointed. The roast we had was fabulous ... a choice of 3 meats and lots & lots of veg, the roast potatoes were especially nice ( I know some asked for seconds, and they were not disappointed as more were brought out) I had the Turkey, my husband had the beef both very very tasty. Jude is a talented chef and both Jude and her staff are friendly and incredibly accommodating. We also had food in the evening, noodles of varying descriptions and a Beef Rendang to die for. We plan on returning to sample other delights from the rest of the menu very soon. Well done Jude keep up the good work!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great waitress, terrible food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were staying in the area and passed this restaurant on our way back to our hotel. The menu had a good variety and so we checked trip advisor for any reviews as it was advertised on their sign outside. All reviews we're positive so we went back later that day. There was only us and another table and so not much atmosphere but the waitress was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We decided to have the Indian side of the menu and chose chicken curry dishes. The chicken was awful - it was hard to describe how bad it was. The chicken was rubbery, slimy and made us feel sick. When we complained we were told it tasted like that as it was halal chicken!!!!!!!! Another dish was offered but we felt sick from the chicken so declined.
Put a dampener on the evening as we felt so sick because of the texture and taste of the chicken that we went straight back to the hotel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food but good friendly service !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited Sunday bank holiday wk end 6.30 ish, no other dinners as we arrived so we were a little dubious esp as the menu was so random however as it looked a lovely resultant we thought we would give it a try.
Ordered a roast dinner / scallops large portion and spaghetti bol with a side portion
of chips. The roast looked as though it was either a packet meal that had been heated up or lunchtimes left overs, the roast potatoes were definitely reheated!! However a good size portion but not a freshly cooked meal!!
The scallops 5 in all, came in the wrong sauce that was requested , also came with a dry salad with no dressing and a piece of hard bread which was
very chewy so non eatable.not really a main meal portion especially for the price of it!
The side portion of fries were definitely reheated chips!! Warm not hot and very hard and greasy!!
The spag Bol was again a micro heated meal and quite tasteless.
Lots of wasted food !!
After receiving the bill we noticed we were being charged for 2 portions of scallops! But that was rectified.
W
This wasn't brasserie standard
Quality of food and more a pub chain quality !
Would not visit again .
Lovely staff and building !!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Couchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a disappointment!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

A thorough disappointment...started with prawn cocktail which was basic and on the small side...frozen prawns and a few leaves. Then waited an hour for the main course which was mediocre at best ...on ordering the wine we were told there was only one bottle of pinot left on a bank holiday weekend this was astonishing ...given that there were only another couple of tables occupied, I worry how they would cope with a full house...wont be going again..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahclegg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Judes Brasserie also viewed

Pentewan, St Austell
Pentewan, St Austell
 

Been to Simply Judes Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing