We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing and thrilling day”

Phil Price Rally School
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The most amazing and thrilling day”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Phil price rally school was a fun filled and exciting day. Full of driving with the most patient and fun instructors who obviously enjoy their jobs enormously. A full briefing on safety and skills and tips needed for the day from a pro driver. Experience the pro rally stage with Phil price driving is a must! 2 cars on the go all day so you only get a short break before you're back in the car. You even get to drive a pro rally car around the stage with professional navigation instructions. Tea, soft drinks, snacks and coffee available all day with a Lovely lunch all included in the price all prepared by the lovely Gill. At the end of the day we had time trials in which we competed against the other guests. Such fun. Everyone gets a trophy as a keepsake. Spectators have a good day at a small cost including the rally experience on the rally stage.
We camped nearby for the weekend in the lovely welsh hills although there are b&b's nearby too.
This was such a good day And such good value for money we are going again in August 2012.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank classybird_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hard to pick any fault”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Without doubt a very good experience, and while it may appear expensive it's very good value, and you get a lot of driving and tuition for your money. I have been to Phil Price three times with PB42, and to two corporate days at Oulton Park, and while both locations are good, you get far more for your Money at the Rally Centre. The location and scenery are fantastic, and once you are locked into the centre for the day it's an excellent opportunity to switch off and enjoy yourself for the day, with great food and very good company. Book now, you will not be not be disappointed.

Helpful?
4 Thank PaulDn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant. A good day was had by all.....”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We all arrived (8 drivers & 7 spectators) from 9am
Tea Coffee & biscuits served on arrival.
There is a room with seating for about 20 people, where spectators (£15 each including lunch & refreshments) and drivers can rest. This is also where Phil Price gives a talk, safety info etc.. There is a balcony overlooking the training area, where drivers learn to drive Mk2 escorts.... sideways... around a circuit.
Our 8 drivers (£299 each) had lots of time in the escorts, taking turns continuously from about 10 till 4pm, except lunch time.
After lunch, time trials add a competitive edge, just for fun of course!
Then each driver gets to drive (with Phil as co-driver) a Subaru, fitted with dual controls (including 2 steering wheels). You can elect to drive from left or right seat if you prefer.
We each drove out onto the "stage" driving for a couple of miles.
Later, each driver (& spectators who pay an extra £15) have a passenger ride in Phil's Subaru ... at high speed!
In all, a very well organised action packed day.

No previous experience required to have fun here.
OK, I confess, this was my third time, and hope to go again sometime!

If travelling from afar on the day, as we did, try booking in advance a good value full breakfast at the Horse & Jockey, Station Road Knighton. Alternatively, just arrive at Halls of Knighton's Cafe (open from 8am but not Sundays) in Broad Street for a bacon sandwich, hot drinks etc.

There a many B&B's listed on Phil Price website too.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank PB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Once in a life time experience”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I was bought the one day rally experience by my parents as a Christmas gift. The voucher lasts 12 months. My partner was also bought the "Ride of the lifetime" experience where by Phil takes you round on a high speed circuit of the rally stage in his fully works spec Subaru Impreza.

I was a bit apprehensive as I rarely drive and I've been unimpressed by karting but this was an amazing experience. The rally circuit is set in a particularly stunning section of the Mid Wales border regions (I'm biased because I grew up in the area but it is stunning).

After parking up you're met by Phil and the friendly crew. They make you feel right at home. Once everyone has arrived, the fundamentals of rallying are explained, along with copious cups of tea and biscuits.

Then it's straight into the Escort RS2000 to drive the practice circuit. A very weird experience driving a rear wheel drive in slippery conditions for the first time, but great fun. After a initial drive, the instructors take you around an explain lines etc. Then you're straight back in to hopefully have a better go and get the car sliding properly this time.

In the mean time, Phil takes people around the circuit on a "slow" drive explaining the course. The course is of such high quality that many of the top works teams go there to practice.

The day we were there, he also drove the guests up to the top of the hill in his Shogun so that they could see the stunning view. In the mean time us rally drivers have been getting loads of in car experience with plenty of tips from instructors.

After a really nice lunch, co driving is explained. It's then your turn to drive the full stage in the dual control Impreza. There's no taking it slowly as Phil gets you to put your foot down, all the while he's reading out the co drivers notes explaining the route ahead of you. This bit was great fun, you get to drive a 4wd car a high speed safe in the knowledge that a pro is there to rescue you!

Back in the Escorts, you get to drive the practice stage in reverse, ready for the time trial later on.

Phil then brings out the full works spec Subaru, anyone interested in rally will know what a stunning car the 555 Sabaru is. He then takes all of the people on the rally experience and anyone who's purchased the "ride of a life time" out on a high speed circuit of the course. It's breath taking, quite literally. Forget Alton Towers etc, if you want an adrenalin rush. To be hammering up a straight to 90mph then slam the breaks on into a hair pin turn... wow! If you bring any guests with you, don't let them go away without doing this, it's only £15 and it's one of the most amazing things you'll ever try.

Everyone then takes part in the time trial around the practice circuit, timed one direction and then the other.

The price might look expensive on paper but just take into consideration the cost of maintain the vehicles (don't even look at the price of buying a rally spec RS 2000, new replicas starting at £100k), the amount of driving you actually do and the whole experience, it's a bargain!

Definitely one of the best days of my life and you certainly won't regret it. Everyone in my group loved it. The one family who were there were actually on their second visit they'd loved it so much!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank TaffInThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil Price Rally School also viewed

 

Been to Phil Price Rally School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing