We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disappointing - will never get there again”
Review of Aquario Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aquario Hostel
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely disappointing - will never get there again”
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I can only agree with most of the previous posts - the place is a shame for this beautiful island and needs an urgent complete renovation. Although the receptionists were nice, they weren't able to make our stay more confortable. The room was tiny, the beds stank of mould, not to mention the terrible bathroom. The breakfast area was disastrous, I remember a Lady preparing the cheese and ham with a cigarette in her mouth - this was really scandalous! To be aware when booking this one - you really might regret it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niuvois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    34
    23
    7
    20
See reviews for
1
47
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

A quirky place! The owner is very charismatic and fun to chat to. Cooking your own food is interesting - the gas hob in the kitchen is ancient, which I quite liked but found a bit of a challenge, however members of staff were helpful about that. Has a natural swimming pool, hammocks overlooking the water, a pool table and lots of places to sit around and chill. Great views from the dorms. Breakfast basic and filling. It's a nice 10 minute wander along the beach to get to the main town, also the hostel is on a main hiking trail. 3 negative points for me - the bunk beds were extremely precarious (I felt nervous sleeping on a bottom bunk due to the creaking and movement!), the party boat that arrives daily is a pain in the ears unless you're a fan of trashy euro techno, and the transfer I'd booked from Rio never showed up which meant an expensive and stressful journey there. They were apologetic but offered no reimbursement or discount which I thought would've been fair.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumandcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The hostel (i would not call it a pousada!) was dirty and needed a paint. The Young owner seemed to be helpfull but was'nt. He said to help us in the morning to get a taxi boat but he was not there. We had to walk one kilometer with heavy luggage while i had a problem with my feet.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We made the mistake of not looking this place up on tripadvisor before going (1st mistake). It was recommended by a friend who stay 5 years ago. What a massive disappointment. The location is beautiful but the place is in serious need of a clean and some investment. We were made to pay for the room (double) up front (6 nights). If you do stay make sure you inspect the room before handing over the money (2nd mistake). The room could only be described as a mouldy sardine can. It had a double bed jammed in between a bunk bed and a air-conditioning unit that didn’t work (so barely any room to move let alone put your bags). The sheets were dirty and thin, the bed was so old and so used that it was seriously sunken in the middle (so much so that you roll into the middle and the sheets slide off, i got a sore back) and there was mould on the walls. The bathroom wasn’t much better. a depressing room to say the least. The room smelt of mould and you felt dirty when getting out of the shower. Basically the room made us so depressed that we considered leaving the island on the next available ferry and it made my girlfriend cry.
Following the first night of non sleep we told them that we will be checking out early (couldn’t find accommodation the second night so had to stay another night). We were told we would be given a refund. To be fair they did make an effort to have us stay by offering us a nicer room. They even came into our room and removed the bunk beds and replaced the mattress with a not so sunken one which we appreciated but it was to little to late. After the efforts they made to keep us the woman that runs the place was quiet angry when we left the next day. We didn’t get a full refund (3/4 nights refund) but we didn’t want to hang around to argue the point as we were so happy to be leaving. As we were leaving the young guy behind the counter apologised and even admitted that our room was terrible and that the rooms on the ground floor are nicer. Fair enough.
All in all not much positive to say about the place. Its a real shame as it has such potential with the great location. The place needs attention and they could start by removing all the mold and replacing the horrible beds.
We moved into a much nicer place which immediately lifted our spirits.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DommelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2009

When you arrive and see the location it is amazing. However, that is all this place has to offer, the dorm rooms aren't that good and the place seems run down, for sure a a party place and yes we noticed the owner also trying to pull his guests. If you want cheap so so accommodation and party this is the place for you. They have BBQ once a week with a good band.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Lovely location
Owner who tries to pull all the girls..hence.....
...Parties and bands most nights, but cheesy English and American music. Noisy if you want to sleep.
Damp rooms with the odd cockroach,
Quite a cheap bar.
Not far from the ferry.
I would only recommend it to certain people!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

75 Reais for a double and I think it was 30 Reais for a dorm - good breakfast (bread, watermelon, cake and coffee) - natural sea water swimming pool - free internet (based in Che Largarto next door but only two computers and when I was there only one worked) - towels provided - ok size rooms - amazing views across the bay of Abraao - helpful and friendly staff

The rooms weren´t particularly clean, and the sheets were similar. The bathroom was pretty horrible though as the sink was blocked with various muck. But if you can live with it the hostel is pretty reasonable in cost, and the location is great.

Do check out the posades though along the beach. Obviously the furthur back along the beach you go, the cheaper the price.

Food
All you can eat burger and salad thing at hostel = 15 Reais (they also offered all you can eat barbeque for 25 Reais on other nights)

Activities
Hostel offered trips and other activites as well as equipment hire

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richtbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
0.4 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Papagaio
Hostel Papagaio
#6 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holandes Hostel
Holandes Hostel
#3 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
0.4 mi away
Marlin Hostel
Marlin Hostel
#2 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquario Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquario Hostel

Property: Aquario Hostel
Address: Praia da Julia, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Vila do Abraao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aquario Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquario Hostel Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing