We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting - DONT GO THERE.....EVER- Dangerous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Aquario Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aquario Hostel
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disgusting - DONT GO THERE.....EVER- Dangerous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is, by far, the worst hostel ive ever been to!!!!!It is such a shame because the emplacement is really nice

First of all, we were "welcomed" by a girl who tried to convince us to go stay to another place. When we told her that we booked from HostelWorld, she looked really disappointed and she said "tonight there is a party and tomorrow there is a party too!!! The room smelled really bad and the sheet had not been changed (there was hair all over the sheets). There was mold covering the walls and the ceiling of our room. There is a lot of aggressive dogs everywhere in the hostel and they get into fights. One night, we came back from the restaurant and a dogs that was obviously dying (covered with blood and shaky) was standing in front of our door. The first night there was a party (a local party) which is ok but the party was REALLY loud and we kept hearing bottle crashing. The staff are weird and they always looked high...they do not try to help you in any way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    34
    23
    7
    20
See reviews for
1
47
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at this hostel during the easter holidays. The location is good, near the beach...but almost all hostels on the Ilha Grande are close to the beach, so don't go there because of the pictures that show the terrace by the water!
We got there before check-in time and asked to use the toilet in the common area....It was the dirtiest toilet I've seen so far in Brazil.
When we got to our room, there was no water and the lamp on the ceiling wasn't working.
They told us there were no towels left and that we'd get towels the next day...we didn't.
The sheets were incredibly dirty and there was mold on the walls and on some of the pillows.
The beds were almost falling apart.
During breakfast, men were working with drills etc (they are expanding...). We asked them to wait until after breakfast, which they finally did.
Most of the people working there (one exeption!) were unfriendly, kept answering in Spanish when adressed in Portuguese, didn't really care about the light/water problems until we went to the hostel next door to ask for available rooms and the owner talked to Aquario hostel about it...
We don't need luxury and are used to hostels, but this was unacceptable :-/

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We slept 2 nights in the captains room, a double bed room with bathroom. They told us, this is the nicest room in the hostel. No way, the room was not accepteble even for a hostel. The bed was dirty and uncomfortable, the pillows full of mildew, the room was dirty, several lights did not work and the bathromm was f***. The whole hostel is in an unadequate shape, rubish is everywhere, it smells and the inventory is broken. Every 2 nights there is a big party and sleeping was not possible because the whole island comes to that party.

This is the worst place to stay on Ilha Grande and the whorst hostel we ever had. NEVER AGAIN !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floseb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We had a terrible experience in the Aquario Hostel. During our second night there, at about 3:30 AM a drunk man tried to enter our room, after not succeeding he was standing outside our room, cursing and threatening us. We didn´t have the hostel phone number so we tried to call the local police, and hoped they will contact the hostel reception. We also hoped someone will hear that man, or watch him on the CCTV camera which was outside the room. Yet, as written in other reviews, the reception desk is not manned 24 hours so no one came to help us. That guy also took some of the clothes we had drying outside our room where (we never found them). After a long hour in which we were too afraid to get out of the room the man had just fell asleep on the floor just outside our room. Only at about 7 AM this man walked away, of course we were unable to sleep until that moment.

During breakfast we discovered that this man was actually another guest in the hostel who attended the party they were having. We expected the hostel to take measures against such a violent and aggressive guest, but not only they were not able to protect us during the night, they were also unable to protect us from facing this guy who made our night there into a nightmare. He simply told them he was drunk, and that he can´t remember anything from last night - and the hostel staff just accepted this lame excuses.

Yes, it was not the hostels fault that he this guy was drinking so much. BUT as a guest I expect the hostel to protect me while I stay there - Aquario Hostel failed to do so.

Moreover, I expect hostels to have zero-tolerance towards any kind of violence. Hostels should set a clear line of the unacceptable behavior, and when this line is crossed a hostel must take severe measures (ban a guest, call the police, etc.). Aquario Hostel staff had forgiven this guy too fast and literally did nothing. We wanted to feel protected again and continue to enjoy our vacation but that was simply not possible while we had to see this guy in every breakfast and around the hostel.

To conclude, for us this issue is so much more important then a hostel location, or how clean are the toilets. Don´t compromise your personal safety, STAY AWAY from Aquario Hostel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights after a 15 month trip hoping for a bit of luxury before we went home. The room was ok with fan and air con but pretty basic otherwise. We had an issue with security as the only way to get your room cleaned was to leave your key at reception. All good if the reception was manned 24 hrs which it wasn't. We came home after a day trip out to find our room wide open, key in the door and no-one around, When I questioned reception they said that they had to do some work in the room. Fine but it would have been nice to have been told at breakfast.

Generally the staff were very disinterested and not helpful in anyway. The hostel has great potential but it feels very run down, grimy and shabby...the lack of professionalism from staff doesn't help and having your breakfast served by a lady with a cigarette hanging out of her mouth is not the best.

Don't try and cook here either as the kitchen is filthy and badly equipped. We struggled to find a clean plate and fork for our one and only home cooked meal there.

The 'famous Thursday night BBQ' is non existent...we signed up and got a plated meal of chicken, rice, chips and salad (not BBQ).

All in all a fairly disappointing hostel after 15 months. We have stayed in a lot worse but for this money you expect a lot more.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank katythompsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We arrived by water taxi (Easy Transfer company) to the small pier outside Aquario and as soon as we checked in we were greeted by the owner who made us feel very welcome. We we given room 10 which I believe is the best of the rooms in the hotel location wise - great views and with air conditioning and a ceiling fan which is very useful. The hostel staff were really helpful in arranging a boat over to the mendes beach for a very reasonable $30R - this and the beach just a 15 minute walk away are the best beaches I have ever been to.
All in all, this island is paradise and Aquario was a perfect base for us. We loved staying here after 7 weeks of traveling across South America. We are not sure what improvements have been made to the place but we haven't had any of the issues reported in some of the older reviews on here.

Room Tip: Room 10 is the best of the rooms with upstairs views of the beach and just far enough away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garethwhite1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in aquario back in April and after completing our around the world tour I can say that out of all the hostels we stayed in all over the world that this place was the worst.The owner was friendly and it had nice views but the rooms were rank!!!Our bed was propped up by books and the room was so mouldy. There was also obviously a problem with the drains as there was such a smell. After leaving aquario we had to wash out clothes 3times before we could get rid of the smell of the room. I'm sure there are nicer places to stay in ilha grande. Don't make the same mistake we did!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jent244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
0.4 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Biergarten Hostel
Biergarten Hostel
#1 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holandes Hostel
Holandes Hostel
#3 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
0.4 mi away
Hostel Papagaio
Hostel Papagaio
#6 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquario Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquario Hostel

Property: Aquario Hostel
Address: Praia da Julia, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Vila do Abraao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aquario Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquario Hostel Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing