We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holandes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holandes Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a great hostel, yes the walk up the steps is a killer with your bags but once up there its a little oasis with great staff, awesome rooms and a great breakfast... highly recommend and we will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    73
    14
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
52
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Holandes hostel is definitely a must at Ilha Grande.
The staff is just amazing and very helpful. They offer great service and advice on things to see around the region.

The place is really perfect to meet new friends or share drinks with other guests. You can also order awesome caipirinhas for very cheap price!

The common area is really pratical for cooking or just hanging out. You have a lot of places to hang out; It depends if you're looking for a quiet place or if you want to mingle with other guests.

The hostel is very central too. You have supermarkets around, not far from the beaches, the pier or hiking/trekking spots.

I can totally recommend this hostel for those who are looking for a cheap quality place to enjoy Ilha Grande.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Beautiful location, lots of trees and greenery, rooms were nice, breakfast was nice. Wifi not good. Communal kitchen quite small. Slightly far away from port, but still only 10-15 minute walk. Receptionists did not speak much english but still very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from four nights in this hostel. The place it is set in is beautiful but during our stay there was no electricity for 36hrs!! Apparently this is a common occurrence! Rooms are crazy warm without air con and security is poor with anyone having access to the rooms. Wifi doesn't work for more than five minutes and the staff unfortunately don't speak any English which made checking in quite difficult. Breakfast is good, cheap drinks, close to town up a hill though. Was disappointed with my time here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmahayes540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Great hostel at the back of the village, a little bit further than most to the beach but still only 5 minutes!

Feels as if you are in the jungle, with a good breakfast and chilled atmosphere. Staff were really helpful and some spoke perfect English, they all seemed to know a lot about the area and where was good to go and walk (definitely go to the waterfall).

Rooms/bathrooms were clean and beds were comfortable for hostel standards. Slightly on the pricier side but you get what you pay for!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SCS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in a private cabin after being unable to book Biergarten! We enjoyed our time here, the cabin was clean if a little small.
This was one of the few hostels we stayed in that always had hot showers and it had a great breakfast with lots of variety. The cabins are layed out nicely and the outside areas are all well presented.
We were slightly unimpressed when we first turned up, after walking from the pier with our bags in the heat, a few people who were sat in the social area just stared at us as we arrived. I then had to ask where reception is only to find out that these people worked there. We were then checked in and showed to our room without being told any information except when breakfast was; for example, the wifi password (which is very poor), hostel facilities or the option of dinner at the hostel. We later discovered that the communal kitchen area was extremely small with there only being enough space for 2 people.
We tried to enquire about laundry facilities at the hostel but weren't able to understand as the majority of staff don't speak any English.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but were disappointed with some minor issues that added up.
I'd recommend staying here but it could be even better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackinBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Del Este, Paraguay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

really a nice hostel. The people are very friendly, bedrooms and restrooms are clean, the place is quite, a little bit apart from the Abraao Pier, but sorrounded by nature. The breakfast is just delicious: fruits, juice and a different cake everyday. The also offer a cheap dinner from Mon to Fri and again, just delicious. The caipirinha just makes your evening better. I´d totally recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhityShin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
1.6 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#16 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#9 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabanas Paraiso
Cabanas Paraiso
#20 of 81 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada Cachoeira
Pousada Cachoeira
#12 of 22 in Vila do Abraao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
16.6 mi away
Welcome Surf Hostel
Welcome Surf Hostel
#13 of 81 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abraao Hostel
Abraao Hostel
#6 of 22 in Vila do Abraao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holandes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holandes Hostel

Property: Holandes Hostel
Address: Rua da Assembleia s/n, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23960000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Vila do Abraao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holandes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holandes Hostel Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing