We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great!”
Review of Holandes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holandes Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed there with a very longstanding friend for a wonderful treat packed weekend last month. I thought it was beyond 3 stars, certainly the staff were so helpful and well informed -I thank you again. If I go back I'll certainly be back there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophia1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Holandes Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

this is a great place to vacation, you can enjoy the happy moments with friends and family here, very good breakfast, bedroom will bring a deep sleep and energetic, I will be back next year with my family to enjoy again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard1965340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a great hostel, yes the walk up the steps is a killer with your bags but once up there its a little oasis with great staff, awesome rooms and a great breakfast... highly recommend and we will be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Holandes hostel is definitely a must at Ilha Grande.
The staff is just amazing and very helpful. They offer great service and advice on things to see around the region.

The place is really perfect to meet new friends or share drinks with other guests. You can also order awesome caipirinhas for very cheap price!

The common area is really pratical for cooking or just hanging out. You have a lot of places to hang out; It depends if you're looking for a quiet place or if you want to mingle with other guests.

The hostel is very central too. You have supermarkets around, not far from the beaches, the pier or hiking/trekking spots.

I can totally recommend this hostel for those who are looking for a cheap quality place to enjoy Ilha Grande.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Beautiful location, lots of trees and greenery, rooms were nice, breakfast was nice. Wifi not good. Communal kitchen quite small. Slightly far away from port, but still only 10-15 minute walk. Receptionists did not speak much english but still very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from four nights in this hostel. The place it is set in is beautiful but during our stay there was no electricity for 36hrs!! Apparently this is a common occurrence! Rooms are crazy warm without air con and security is poor with anyone having access to the rooms. Wifi doesn't work for more than five minutes and the staff unfortunately don't speak any English which made checking in quite difficult. Breakfast is good, cheap drinks, close to town up a hill though. Was disappointed with my time here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Emmahayes540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Great hostel at the back of the village, a little bit further than most to the beach but still only 5 minutes!

Feels as if you are in the jungle, with a good breakfast and chilled atmosphere. Staff were really helpful and some spoke perfect English, they all seemed to know a lot about the area and where was good to go and walk (definitely go to the waterfall).

Rooms/bathrooms were clean and beds were comfortable for hostel standards. Slightly on the pricier side but you get what you pay for!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SCS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
0.3 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#9 of 17 in Ilha Grande
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Biergarten Hostel
Biergarten Hostel
#1 of 24 in Vila do Abraao
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Albatroz
Pousada Albatroz
#9 of 83 in Ilha Grande
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 96 in Ilha Grande
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holandes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holandes Hostel

Address: Rua da Assembleia s/n, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23960000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Vila do Abraao
Price Range: £18 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holandes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holandes Hostel Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing