We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, terrible island and lodging...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Recanto das Estrelas
Ranked #6 of 18 Vila do Abraao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I really struggled to write this review...the staff here are wonderful and (generally) very helpful...but we had so many issues and problems.

Island specific: we arrived to a thunderstorm, which had caused an island wide black out. Water was streaming off the mountain and we had to wade in places in knee high water. Over four days, we had three power outages. Mosquitoes...lots of them. Once the rain stopped (very briefly, and the skies never cleared for our four days), we were greeted with sewerage on the streets, as septic tanks had overflowed, we weren't brave enough to swim at the main beach. Restaurants are expensive and the food just average. Laundry services are very expensive, we paid US$30 for one load. With the rain, it was impossible to do anything other than stay in our villa and venture out for food.

Hotel specific: as I said, the staff generally tried very hard. But this hotel wasn't cheap at US$200 per night. We had a large room, but the furnishings are VERY basic. We arrived and unpacked at about 7pm (once we finally found a luggage porter at the pier to take our bags in a covered trolley) only to find there was a leak in the roof. They kindly gave us a different room (although not sure what they would have done if the hotel was full), but didn't help us move, so we had to move all our luggage in the dark, down a flight of stairs from upstairs to downstairs, with a two year old. The serve a nice breakfast and have a nice garden and pool. The wifi is VERY slow...

The bed is reasonably comfortable, but there's not a lot of room for a family with luggage and very limited storage...eg there were no hanging racks, cupboards, chests of drawers etc.

I would give Ilha Grunge (as we took to calling it) a miss, and therefore this hotel as well. It was the lowpoint of our five week stay in Brazil (there are much better beaches and adventure destinations...maybe for young backpackers it is a cool party island like Ios in the Greek Islands), but for a family with young children - no way. When we walked around, it looked like there were nicer lodgings around town, but if we were paying US$200 per night, I dread to think what those lodgings cost.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

I have been 5 times to ilha grande and this was my second time at Recanto das Estrelas.
It is simply excellent. The localisation is 5mn away the city center meaning it is calm, quiet and peaceful (don't forget that brasilians tend to speak loudly).
The garden is beautiful and expect to see some Hummingbirds flying around, amazing !!!
The small swimming pool is great and clean as well.
Rooms are very clean and confortable !
Breakfast is great.
It has to be mentioned, the staff is excellent !!!

Room Tip: I have been in 3 different rooms in this pousada, all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Woodparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here with two other couples. It was a short 7 minute walk from the town center in Ilha Grande which is nice because it can get a little crowded when the cruise ships arrive. The simple rooms included a TV, refrigerator and stove. Unfortunately, the wireless was not working when we were there but there was a router. In the evening, we took advantage of the pool area which had a kitchen. We turned on a little Brazilian music and attempted to make delicious Caipirinhas! I slept like a baby because all I heard was the sounds of the rainforest. One night, we decided to use air conditioning. :-)

One of the managers, Pamela, was very kind and helpful. She gave great suggestions on places to eat, utensils to make drinks and set up early morning boat taxis to other parts of the island. Be sure to ask for her.

Room Tip: The upstairs room because of nice sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillyBobMenloPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jonathanmP2218XH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos do andar de cima.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glauber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fiquei no quarto de cima e não tenho do que reclamar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joiciney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
1.9 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#16 of 17 in Ilha Grande
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#11 of 17 in Ilha Grande
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41 mi away
Portal dos Borbas
Portal dos Borbas
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
88 reviews
1 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Tropicana
Pousada Tropicana
#5 of 18 in Vila do Abraao
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Recanto das Estrelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Recanto das Estrelas

Address: Rua Dona Romana 359, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23568-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Vila do Abraao
Price Range: £60 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn Recanto das Estrelas (engl. Corner of Stars) on Ilha Grande waiting for you. Our suites have big stars names in Brazilian popular music (Braz. MPB) such as Pixinginha, Noel Rosa and Altamiro Carrilho and others. The accommodations are large and practical for couples, families and even for groups. Confortable suites with garden view The suites accommodate 2-3 people with a double and a single bed. The rooms offer a balcony or terrace with hammock and are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fan, 32 "LCD TV, minibar, luxury shower with hot shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Recanto das Estrelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Recanto Das Estrelas Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing