We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to feel nature!”
Review of Pousada Ouro Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Ouro Verde
Ranked #2 of 16 Vila do Abraao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“A place to feel nature!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Rita and Rodrigo are very warm and welcoming hosts, and they always put a lot of effort to make you feel like at home! You can always rely on their tips and suggestions about Ilha Grande, its beaches, its trails, the places where to eat, ...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karkkainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    55
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
30
143
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Staying here was just such a great experience. Rodrigo & Rita are so friendly & welcoming. They are so helpful & know everything about the island. The breakfast is great & Rita makes all the Jams & breads. Your surrounded with nature here & it's only a hop skip & a jump to the main st. I can't recommend this place enough, there's au suites but also an outside shower with fresh river water flowing from it and as Rodrigo would say "it'll make you feel brand new" I miss the place already ;(

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadzer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigshafen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A simple pousada something to avoid the crowds in the center . No party music, no disturbances by drunk party goers . Super were Rita and Rodrigue , who lead the pousada. Multilingual , they know every square inch of the island and do not save with useful tips if you were telling your Up Preferences . Do and don'ts concerning localities were also there , we have not regretted compliance , either financially or culinary . The breakfast is fine, made ​​jams and spreads itself , sausage and cheese typical of the country , everywhere not that nice of your home when going there to the butcher . the location allows a view towards the jungle and a stream a few feet away - with a little luck, looks over an insanely great visit and demands attention , let's rapid about you :-) Since the property is adjacent to the jungle , nature is anxious to retrieve this place - creepy crawlies and beetle can be found sometimes in the rooms, and , of course, outside.. beautiful colorful and unusual for Europeans , nice photos done for our small home. Hummingbirds fill up a meter in addition to our hammock Liquid without having to disturb to human presence . An oasis of calm , we were very happy to have booked there after sufficient Rechereche - checked out their hp with additional pictures.
The Pousada is just 7 minutes walk from the pier and yet on the edge of the village in the forest. There is no internet - as almost everywhere on the island, which has technical causes. There is no air conditioning but the fan is sufficient, since it's been a few degrees cooler in the jungle as "downtown". We had a great time during x-mas and met a warm family there, they fantastically looked after us.

Please enjoy the time with Rita and Rodrigue, listening to their recommendations, rejoicing in the location in nature while of relaxing after an exciting day!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank patrick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotland, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

If you will walk up the hills for some minutes, you will find yourself in a beautiful rainforest garden. The charming owners speak fluent english and are keen to help you with tips to make your holiday great.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agneta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

RIta and ROdrigo, the owner are very friendly people. They are doing a totally home made breakfast, DELICIOUS! They are full of help and information, because they really love their island and love to welcome guests.
The location is great, 5 min walk from the noise of the main street. Monkeys which come to say hello during breakfast cannot be wrong!
The room was nice, clean, with everything you need.
THis is the best place to stay in the island for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundtrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Firstly Rodrigo and Rita are two of the nicest people you could hope to meet - they really made us feel at home from the moment they came out together to meet us at the gate - they chat to you over breakfast like you are family friends and are full of useful information and tips about the island and what the options are for beaches, hikes etc.
The pousada itself is in a peaceful setting with a patch of the forest for a garden where you can sit in a hammock, listen to the river (or howler monkeys!) and watch the hummingbirds or marmosets which come to visit. The room was very comfortable with a fan and fridge to help with the sometimes humid climate. Breakfast is excellent (great cakes guys!). Location is towards the back of the town (hence the forest) but it is only 5 minutes to the restaurants / 7 minutes to the beach and pier. HIGHLY recommended!

Room Tip: It was nice facing the garden at the back where you could hear the river and spot wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PousadaOuroVerde, Proprietário at Pousada Ouro Verde, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write to us and give us your feedback. We aim to excel every day and for this
we need to have feedback from our customers. We continue to maintain focus on the service
we are known so far. We are pleased that your stay in our Pousada was up to your expectations.
We hope to see you soon again,
Yours sincerely,
Rita & Rodrigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Rita and Rodrigo are great hosts. So friendly, kind and warm and always on hand to give tips and advice, but with a lightness of touch that I felt looked after, but never intruded upon. I really felt at home at Ouro Verde. The rooms are clean and cosy and the whole pousada is the kind of place I was happy just to relax at. It's well located, just a few minutes from the main town, but tucked away in the forest enough to be much quieter than the main drag. The walk there from down was like a little adventure every night: through gradually-narrowing vibrant streets, over the little bridge that crosses the river and into the jungle where there pousada is located. And the breakfasts are lovely. The freshly made bread and Rita's cakes are worth the stay alone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nineteenseventynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
0.1 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Tropicana
Pousada Tropicana
#4 of 16 in Vila do Abraao
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada Cachoeira
Pousada Cachoeira
#11 of 24 in Vila do Abraao
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 96 in Ilha Grande
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlin Hostel
Marlin Hostel
#2 of 24 in Vila do Abraao
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Ouro Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Ouro Verde

Property: Pousada Ouro Verde
Address: Rua do Bicao S/N | Rua getulio vargas s/n, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Vila do Abraao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Ouro Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ouro Verde Pousada offers rooms with simple furnishings; tiled floors and a private bathroom. All are equipped with a TV, fan and showers with solar heating.Every morning guests can admire the forest views, while enjoying a buffet breakfast. It offers fresh fruits, breads and cakes, as well as tea, coffee and juices.Surrounded by lush flora and fauna, Pousada Ouro Verde is a 8-minute walk from Abraao Beach and offers scenic views of Cachoeira do Bicao Waterfall. It provides practical accommodation and a variety of leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Ouro Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Ouro Verde Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing