We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, modern hostel with good amenities. Friendly owners!”
Review of Biergarten Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Biergarten Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Biergarten hostel is easily one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. The 6 bed dorm was spacious, with plug sockets and a reading light by each bed and large lockers. The beds are made each day for you and everywhere is extremely clean. The owner Viktor is very friendly and helpful and doesn't mind you drinking your own beer. The resident kitten, Sylvia is very cute and will brighten u your stay. Couldn't recommend more highly!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very clean, large lockers for storage, showers nice and hot! Great breakfast and good communal area. Really enjoyed our stay here, very friendly owners who were more than willing to help us out and just chat. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyJaneBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very nice hostel in the centre of town - close to restaurants, walks, beaches, etc. The rooms are immaculate and have good lockers. They face onto a courtyard which is a good place to chat to other people in the hostel. The owner is really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

I really liked this place for a few reasons - the beds in the dorms were very comfortable, the owner was super nice and was happy to give you information on all the stuff you could do on the island, you could drink your own beers if out the back, breakfasts were amazing (so great to have eggs!) and the buffet restaurant was great as well. Also it was super clean - highly recommended even if a bit pricey in high season.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rakingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

With this review we just review the restaurant. We haven't found it on tripadvisor seperate to the hostel. The food is really good. It's a per kilo self service restaurant with a good selection of different food. It's not cheap, but worth the money. We ate there 3 times. The only bad thing was the service (the guy at the till). I mean we didn't expect him to speak in english to us. But he didn't say not one single word to us during the 3 times we ate there: no welcome, no "obrigado", nothing. The way he looked at us already when we entered the restaurant made us feel very unwelcome. And the worst of all was that he had headphones in his ears all the time even while serving us at the till. We couldn't believe this. That is really a pity that a good restaurant like this has such a bad service (even though it's a self service restaurant I would expect a little bit of a customer orientation even if it's just at the till). So: Go for the food and don't expect to be treated like a welcome customer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank focus1focus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Nice, new hostel. Owner was vey friendly with very good English. Rooms were lovely.
Only 4 stars as breakfast, whilst it was good, not as good as others we've had in brazil. But super hostel all round. The buffet at the restaurant was also very good and worth having whilst on the island.

Traveled April 2013 as a couple.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Unlike many budget options in Abraao, Biergarten gets the basics right.

Rooms -- as well as bathrooms and linens -- are spotless. Cleaners fold clothing and bed linen for dorm guests on a daily basis. (Yes, I was impressed to see my shorts nicely folded on top of my backpack.) A/C units are modern and thus very quiet.

Bathrooms have real hot showers -- no electric shower heads here. Don't underestimate the importance of a nice, clean, hot shower after trekking six hours to/from the beach in the jungle.

Victor, the owner, speaks excellent English (if you need that) and seems like a genuinely nice guy. Other staff at the hostel are just as friendly and helpful.

This is certainly not a party hostel, but a small hostel where it's easy to meet other friendly, laidback -- but not crazy -- guests in the pleasant kitchen area or downstairs bar/restaurant.

Speaking of the restaurant, Biergarten's kilo/buffet spot offers good value -- but not 'cheap' -- food. Especially if you are vegetarian, you will find a lot to like at this restaurant, although meat eaters will also be pleased.

Budget travelers who appreciate good value and cleanliness -- as well as being close to the party without staying at the party -- should elect this excellent choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
1.8 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#16 of 17 in Ilha Grande
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holandes Hostel
Holandes Hostel
#2 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlin Hostel
Marlin Hostel
#3 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
0.1 mi away
Abraao Hostel
Abraao Hostel
#6 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Welcome Surf Hostel
Welcome Surf Hostel
#12 of 91 in Ilha Grande
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biergarten Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biergarten Hostel

Address: Av. Getulio Vargas 161, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Vila do Abraao
Price Range: £17 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Biergarten Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biergarten Hostel Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing