We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Biergarten Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great little hostel at the back of the Biergarten bar/resteraunt. Nice, modern, clean and spacious dorms with a/c, huge lockers and individual plug sockets and lights, great! 2 kitchens, computers and plenty showers for guests too. The outdoor courtyard is really nice as is the balcony area. The por kilo resteraunt serves great home cooked food but is never too noisy or busy so doesn't disturb guests. Lovely staff too. Fab location in this tiny cute town!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

A great hostel for exploring and relaxing on Ilha Grande - with the most comfortable double room we had out of 5 hostels throughout Brazil. The breakfast offered was delicious with freshly boiled eggs every morning (quite the delicacy on hostel stays). Although the hostel is not located on the sea front, this is hardly a bother in the little village of Vila do Abraao.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here with my best friend and our Carioca friend from Rio who we were travelling with. We arrived as it was pouring rain and walking from the ferry port to the hostel was very wet! Make sure to bring a poncho to Ilha Grande! We settled into our triple room on the top floor of the hostel. The triple room was clean and the beds were comfortable single beds. Towels provided, lockers were great to have. The hostel was full and there was a very communal atmosphere. There is a kitchenette if you prefer to make your own food and we used the large fridge in the kitchen to keep our drinks cold. The hostel is very laid back and has a bohemian feel. Showers and bathrooms are shared (be patient if you have to wait and the toilets clog frequently) - water pressure is not good. Breakfast was great - the restaurant also serves lunch and dinner by weight (kilo) and the bar area can be a bit noisy at night (never bothered us as we came home late). Air conditioning was perfect and the location is great! We loved this place, you can tell its new and very well-run. After we checked out, we were still planning to go on a day-long boat tour before we left that night and they let us store our luggage AND take showers before we caught the boat back to Angra. Very nice!! The staff is young and so friendly, approachable and we were very impressed by the cleanliness.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our 5 night stay at this hostel. Convenient location with nice beds and air conditioning. The owner Victor was very friendly and made time to help us book our bus tickets to São Paulo, which we really appreciated. The other staff were also really lovely. Only downside is that the kitchen could have been a little bit more equipped, and it was a bit noisy at times with the bar / restaurant, which closes around 10pm so wasn't really an issue for sleeping anyway. We appreciated the convenience of the filtered water for all the hiking we were doing! :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amorous87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days while on Ilha Grande. There is a cool bar and 'por kilo' restaurant serving both guests and public out front.

There are dorms overlooking the bar area (rarely noisy) and newer dorms out the back around a semi covered courtyard area. there are also cooking facilities in the covered part of the courtyard.

The first thing that struck us in the dorms was how clean they were - all beds made, even daily during our stay. The bathrooms were also kept extremely clean throughout the day. Victor, the owner, is a really nice guy and very welcoming.

The atmosphere is very communal and friendly and rarely noisy. It's a little more expensive than some of the other hostels but it was definitely worth it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Clean, bright and good rooms. I stayed for two nights in the 3 bed room upstairs with normal beds (no bunk beds to be clear :) Highly recommend investing this little money more! Very comfortable beds with good mattresses. Lockers in the room!

The hostel has a very relaxed atmosphere and a welcoming attitude by all of its friendly and helpful staff! The owner gave me really good advice on which trails/beaches to do at best what days given my time. Very notable is their cool handling of last minute cancellations despite hostelworld booking (I called the same day in the afternoon as I would not make it to the island because of traffic meltdown in Rio de Janeiro). And Kristina, the Argentinian woman, was always up for a nice chat during her shifts and told me about some party/bars.

I easily met other fun travellers downstairs at the breakfast/dining area. Breakfast was the best included one I had during my 10 weeks trip through various hostels with ham, cheese, eggs, jam, fruit, cereals, coffee, tea, cake & biscuits.

There is a buffet restaurant directly in front and belonging to the hostel - good price value! I did not use the kitchen but it looked well equipped and clean like the whole hostel. Sanitary rooms were sufficient, well funcional design and very clean.

Overall I had a great time at the Biergarten Hostel and I definitely recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGirlOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This is a long overdue review, I stayed at the Biergarten Hostel back in August 2012 in the 8 bed dorm I think it was, and it was really really nice. The hostel is small/boutique, but the owner was awesome and made you feel completely at home. We did not want to leave! It was very clean, and in a great location. The breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay at this place again if we ever return!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sheree_Stewart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
1.8 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlin Hostel
Marlin Hostel
#3 of 25 in Vila do Abraao
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holandes Hostel
Holandes Hostel
#2 of 25 in Vila do Abraao
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
0.2 mi away
Welcome Surf Hostel
Welcome Surf Hostel
#11 of 87 in Ilha Grande
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Papagaio
Hostel Papagaio
#5 of 25 in Vila do Abraao
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biergarten Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biergarten Hostel

Address: Av. Getulio Vargas 161, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Vila do Abraao
Price Range: £17 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Biergarten Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biergarten Hostel Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing