We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Haute Muraille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Haute Muraille
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Last night of our holiday in France at la Haute Murallie was wonderful. Beatrice gave us such a warm welcome and the 'romantic' room was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was superb, especially the home made mini apple pies. Will certainly return if we are in the area - an easy distance from the Tunnel, but in a countryside and peaceful setting.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
49
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay at "La Haute Muraille" after reading very positive reviews. It certainly lived up to my expectations. Beatrice and her husband are wonderful and attentive hosts. The rooms are beautifully decorated, bright and well equipped ( Nespresso coffee machine, fast speed internet, flat screen tv, hair dryer and soaps) . Bed was ever so comfortable. The room was spotless.
Breakfast is served in main house (all rooms are in a separate building). It is continental breakfast.
We stayed in room" romantique" which has a separate seating area at the top. Perfect if you have children.
The B&B is situated about 15/20mn to Calais, perfect location if you are after a nice stopover. I find it good value for money (€75 for our room) and a perfect place to end or start your holiday in France or simply enjoy a lovely weekend away.
Looking forward to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

If you're travelling in the North of France and like us, you want to avoid the big cities, drive past Calais and head to this superb B & B. We followed the owner's instructions to find La Haute Muraille and up until the very last turn, they worked well. We missed the final turn because the sign was not easy to spot and it comes up very quickly after turning off the main road. But a u-turn further down the road had us on the right track fairly quickly.

We were met by Beatrice and her youngest son and instantly felt welcome. They took us to one of the four rooms, each tastefully themed. We'd chosen La Chambre Authentique, the least expensive of the four at around 69 Euros. Themed rooms are usually a turn off for me but Beatrice has styled each of hers beautifully. Ours incorporated one some beams from the original dairy building that this had once been. The bathroom was outstanding and because this B & B had only opened in April 2012, everything was still fresh and sparkling clean. The Nespresso machine was a lovely touch too.

La Haute Muraille sits quietly at the end of a track in the middle of farm land so there is no chance of noisy neighbours bothering you.

Breakfast in the family home was a real treat. Fresh croissants and bread from the village, freshly squeezed juice, and Beatrice's own apple tart still warm from the oven!

One of us was battling a dreadful cold and so we decided to stay an extra night in this peaceful B & B. Luckily, there was another room available so we were able to sample La Chambre Romantique. There was something else that encouraged us to stay - the delicious scallops served at Le Turbot in nearby Gravelines!

Thank you Beatrice for making this little stopover one of the highlights of our trip to Northern France.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms and all are fitted out to the highest standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piligar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here twice when travelling from and to the UK. The location is perfect: only 15 minutes from Calais and close to the motorway (but not too close, so traffic is hardly noticable). There are 4 rooms which are all unique in character but equally lovely and comfortable. Continental breakfast was served in the main house in a 'room with a view'. Plenty of variety of freshly baked bread, home made jam, fresh fruit juice and even home made apple pie and cake (apparently they serve something different on a daily basis). Lovely owners who speak english and are very helpful.
If you are after a bed and breakfast that serves British cooked breakfast, you will be disappointed, but if continental breakfast is OK, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Our stay in La Haute Muraille was a really pleasant one. The owner made us feel very welcome. I like this personal approach very much, it's so much better than a hotel where you are just a number.
Our room was very nice and very clean. I loved the bathroom. There was also a little mezzanine where we could have a cup of coffee in a sofa.
The breakfast was in the house of the owner and was very good. She even made apple pie. Nice to chat to the other guests.
The car was parked right by the guesthouses and there was no doubt about the safety (far from the street).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Folquin
4.7 mi away
Campanile Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage
12.5 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Dunkerque
2.2 mi away
Logis Hotel du Beffroi
Logis Hotel du Beffroi
#1 of 1 in Gravelines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
8.6 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel La Cuis'in
Hotel La Cuis'in
#3 of 13 in Dunkirk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haute Muraille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haute Muraille

Property: La Haute Muraille
Address: 821 rue du Capitaine Henri Coustre, 62370 Saint Folquin, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint Folquin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Folquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
bed and breakfast on the wonderfull côte d'opale near calais,car ferry,channel tunnel and dunkerque quiet cosy in two words the paradise,between the countryside and the beach:all our 4 rooms are equiped with wifi;flat screen tv,nice shower,private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Haute Muraille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing