We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming retreat”
Review of La Haute Muraille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Haute Muraille
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were looking for an interesting place to stay around Calais, La Haute Muraille did not disappoint. The Romantic Room was truly that and Beatrice showed us her three other rooms which each had their own charm too. As others have noted the breakfast was a real treat and our hosts were so very hospitable and sweet that we wished our scheduled had allowed us to stay for several nights rather than the one we had booked.

Room Tip: All four rooms are quiet and have the same garden view however the Romantic Room really won my heart...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmc894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for La Haute Muraille
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here because of the good reviews and wanted somewhere near to, but not in, Calais. It was perfect for us. The Romantic room was very stylish and comfortable and the upstairs area was good, with settee, coffee table and good Nespresso coffee machine. Breakfast was a superior 'Continental' breakfast, with homemade apple tarts, homemade jams and eggs from the resident chickens. The breakfast table was well set up with good crockery etc. It was a very quiet location, with lawns and trees, at the end of a country lane. Beatrice and her husband were the perfect hosts and we would be very pleased to stay here again anytime in the future. Excellent! Pat

Room Tip: Choose any room, it will be good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were delighted to find that the reviews were all accurate! This is a real find, with the peace and quiet of the countryside, despite being not far from the main road. Beatrice's breakfasts were truly superb, and the value was tremendous, our room costing just 75 euros per night. We did feel that the sitting area of our room (up steep stairs) would have been a better place to have the TV than on the wall facing the bed downstairs, and it was a little disappointing that there were no English channels. I also felt that some instructions for operating the Nespresso machine would have helped a novice like myself, as one of the (two) coffee capsules dropped down inside the machine and was sadly wasted. There also seemed to be no leaflets with helpful ideas for visitors, which is quite unusual, although Beatrice recommended the route from Cap Gris Nez to Cap Blanc Nez. All in all however the tastefully furnished rooms were spotless and Beatrice a delight. Recommended to all who appreciate peace and quiet as well as perfect design and the most excellent quality ensuite shower and toilet facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Last night of our holiday in France at la Haute Murallie was wonderful. Beatrice gave us such a warm welcome and the 'romantic' room was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was superb, especially the home made mini apple pies. Will certainly return if we are in the area - an easy distance from the Tunnel, but in a countryside and peaceful setting.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay at "La Haute Muraille" after reading very positive reviews. It certainly lived up to my expectations. Beatrice and her husband are wonderful and attentive hosts. The rooms are beautifully decorated, bright and well equipped ( Nespresso coffee machine, fast speed internet, flat screen tv, hair dryer and soaps) . Bed was ever so comfortable. The room was spotless.
Breakfast is served in main house (all rooms are in a separate building). It is continental breakfast.
We stayed in room" romantique" which has a separate seating area at the top. Perfect if you have children.
The B&B is situated about 15/20mn to Calais, perfect location if you are after a nice stopover. I find it good value for money (€75 for our room) and a perfect place to end or start your holiday in France or simply enjoy a lovely weekend away.
Looking forward to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

If you're travelling in the North of France and like us, you want to avoid the big cities, drive past Calais and head to this superb B & B. We followed the owner's instructions to find La Haute Muraille and up until the very last turn, they worked well. We missed the final turn because the sign was not easy to spot and it comes up very quickly after turning off the main road. But a u-turn further down the road had us on the right track fairly quickly.

We were met by Beatrice and her youngest son and instantly felt welcome. They took us to one of the four rooms, each tastefully themed. We'd chosen La Chambre Authentique, the least expensive of the four at around 69 Euros. Themed rooms are usually a turn off for me but Beatrice has styled each of hers beautifully. Ours incorporated one some beams from the original dairy building that this had once been. The bathroom was outstanding and because this B & B had only opened in April 2012, everything was still fresh and sparkling clean. The Nespresso machine was a lovely touch too.

La Haute Muraille sits quietly at the end of a track in the middle of farm land so there is no chance of noisy neighbours bothering you.

Breakfast in the family home was a real treat. Fresh croissants and bread from the village, freshly squeezed juice, and Beatrice's own apple tart still warm from the oven!

One of us was battling a dreadful cold and so we decided to stay an extra night in this peaceful B & B. Luckily, there was another room available so we were able to sample La Chambre Romantique. There was something else that encouraged us to stay - the delicious scallops served at Le Turbot in nearby Gravelines!

Thank you Beatrice for making this little stopover one of the highlights of our trip to Northern France.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms and all are fitted out to the highest standard.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piligar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here twice when travelling from and to the UK. The location is perfect: only 15 minutes from Calais and close to the motorway (but not too close, so traffic is hardly noticable). There are 4 rooms which are all unique in character but equally lovely and comfortable. Continental breakfast was served in the main house in a 'room with a view'. Plenty of variety of freshly baked bread, home made jam, fresh fruit juice and even home made apple pie and cake (apparently they serve something different on a daily basis). Lovely owners who speak english and are very helpful.
If you are after a bed and breakfast that serves British cooked breakfast, you will be disappointed, but if continental breakfast is OK, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Folquin
4.7 mi away
Campanile Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage
13.8 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Logis Hotel du Beffroi
Logis Hotel du Beffroi
#1 of 1 in Gravelines
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel La Cuis'in
Hotel La Cuis'in
#4 of 13 in Dunkirk
124 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fasthotel Dunkerque
Fasthotel Dunkerque
#1 of 2 in Grande-Synthe
189 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel L'univers
Hotel L'univers
#1 of 1 in Grand-Fort-Philippe
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haute Muraille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haute Muraille

Address: 821 rue du Capitaine Henri Coustre, 62370 Saint Folquin, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint Folquin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Folquin
Price Range: £65 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed And Breakfast On The Wonderfull Côte D'opale Near Calais,car Ferry,channel Tunnel And Dunkerque Quiet Cosy In Two Words The Paradise,between The Countryside And The Beach:all Our 4 Rooms Are Equiped With Wifi;flat Screen Tv,nice Shower,private Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Haute Muraille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing