We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place but fill up with petrol.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bronaber
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trawsfynydd Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing place but fill up with petrol.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last week with four kids aged 2 to 10. We hired a roomy 3 bed log cabin with views over Snowdon. Just beautiful. The cabin was large and we'll equipped. Only niggle was that all the heating was off and you couldn't turn it on and at night in the Welsh mountains it gets a bit chilly. You Will need a car to get about as there Is not a great deal in walking distance. Also allow more time than your Sat nav gives as the roads are very thin. The on site shop is a little on the expensive side so best to stock up beforehand. Porthmadog the local town is about 25mins by car and has lots of shops including Tesco.
The site is clean and child friendly and has a large play area. A beautiful pub is about a ten minute walk away but we'll worth it.
This is not a cheap holiday but so worth paying a bit more.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lespaulhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Many thanks for your review, we're pleased you had a good time with us and that you liked your cabin, the views across to the mountains and the children liked our play area. Sorry you felt it a bit chilly at night, if you'd have let us know we could have supplied some extra heaters. We do not leave the storage heaters on in the summer as it is normally too hot, but every room does have additional heaters that can be turned on as required and this is normally sufficient during the summer months. Our location is quite rural, but this is also the beauty of our village and as you say places like Porthmadog, Dolgellau, Betws y Coed etc. are all reachable within 30 minutes. Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    39
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
138
76
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Having never been to Wales before I decided on Trawsfynydd due to the good reviews. My son and I wanted somewhere relaxing,great scenery but also a little adventure too. We were not disappointed in any way,the staff on reception couldn't be friendlier which was a good start to our stay. Great cabin,perfect views,pure tranquility .. The onsite shop had all we needed at reasonable prices. The pub at the top of the village was great,delicious food,choice of beers and all well priced. Travelling to different areas to do activities,steam train journey, quad biking,swimming were all within a 45 minute drive,so not far at all,but, with all the beautiful countryside the distance wouldn't matter anyway... Whether you are a couple or family there are plenty of things to do as well as just taking it easy back at the cabin,I'm 41,my son 11 and we found it absolutely wonderful. A trek from Bath but will most definitely be doing it again... Matthew Kilgallon Bath

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mateo7341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
It sounds like our holiday village and Snowdonia ticked all the boxes for you, which is lovely to hear, thank you. We're really pleased to hear that you liked the cabin, the views and got all the information and provisions you needed from our shop and reception. It also sounds like our location suited you too, allowing you to visit plenty of attractions and try out some adventure activities, whilst providing somewhere relaxing to come back to. Many thanks again for your review, we look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We came here to relax and have some peaceful quality time together I feel really refreshed and would most definitely go back again the village is central to most places we loved fair Bourne railway and u can cross over on a little boat to Barmouth

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Really nice to hear that you enjoyed your quality time together and that you now feel refreshed. It sounds like you spent some time visiting the local area and great to hear you liked Fairbourne Railway and the ferry across to Barmouth. Many thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned after a week stay. We stayed in cabin no.306. It was very well situated for the play park. We had two children with us aged 2 and 5. The play area is a large area and although they have tried to cater for most ages unfortunately we did not feel there was enough choice for our 2 year old, a baby swing and a slide. There was also two boys on the park who appeared to think they owned it! At points they were bullying children to get off the swings so as brothers they could use them! They did not like me telling them off and soon backed off! Yet in another way everytime someone came on the park they asked did they want to play football so were also nice at times too. Upon arrival at 1445 (check in advised from 1500) we were advised our cabin was not quite ready, which was fair enough, we did not mind waiting. The cabin number was not easy to spot due to overgrown foliage. Upon entering the cabin however there were large layers of dust on all the shelves so having to wipe them down as we unpacked was not really ideal and the shower unit was not overly clean either. Also it would have been useful to have been told at check in to turn electrics on, as we had to put our son's medication in the fridge and this could have caused us major issues. The cabin was well equipped though,although very dated in décor. Handy tip take your own bin bags and toilet rolls, we do anyway when we go away. We always take our own sleeping bags and pillows but all bedding was supplied. There is a dvd player but they also had freesat on the tv. We had to evacuate 3 squatters (spiders) from inside the cabin, well when I say we I mean my husband lol. This is to be expected though in nature and also proves the cabin was not damp. There were lots of lovely bunnies around the cabins and robins too. Oh and both myself and my husband got bit by midgies too a lot in the night (not outside) so take bite cream if you are normally bitten. It is very well located for the main road for access to Portmadog or Barmouth or other local areas. You can also hear the road noise but this is not excessive unless you are luckier than us with the weather and manage to sit outside. The price we paid though however was very excessive for the standard of accommodation we received. I doubt we would stay here again unless there was a significant reduction in cost, which is a shame.

Room Tip: if you have young children try and request one near play area as there are a lot of cabins on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We're very sorry you felt that your holiday did not quite live up to your expectations. We normally hear very good reports about the play area and so we are surprised you did not feel it met your needs, but we can see your point that there is not much for a 2 year old to play on. If you'd have let us know about the boys we could have also talked to them and their guardians. We are sorry you found some dust in the cabin, again if you'd have reported it to us, we could have come straight to the cabin to sort out any issues. You felt the cabin was a little dated and we appreciate that every person has different tastes and what the one person likes, the next does not. We do therefore state on all our literature and on our website that layouts and furnishings do differ between cabins and this is why we have pictures of the inside and outside of all cabins on our website. Once again thank you for your comments, we're sorry your holiday did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very quiet and peaceful. We've been going to this site for the past 6 or so years and have always found it very tranquil, clean and great staff, who know their stuff on the local attractions. The cabins are great for a base as you spend most days out. They are cosy little places with all the amenities within walking distance, i.e site shop, laundry etc. definitely will be back soon. I didn't even mind not having the internet for a week. :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We're really pleased you were able to chill out during your stay with us again this summer. Nice also to hear that we could give all the advice you needed about the local attractions and that you found the shop and laundry good. Sometimes it is nice to switch off from the internet, but we do have free WiFi around the shop and reception if you do need it in the future. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our second stay in 7 months and the resort is absolutely wonderful. Really lovely location, fantastic views, staff friendly and helpful (especially Theresa).

The cabins themselves are very cosy, very clean and really well equipped. All the comforts of home, everything in good condition, bags of hot water, kitchen very nice and all gadgets good brands. You are totally self-sufficient in fact.Lovely walks and close to lots of scenery, villages etc all within easy driving. My seven year old son adored the place and cannot stop talking about i. There is a kids playground but not a lot else but who cares as you have lots of nature all around.

The Pub is a godsend as nothing for miles around and is very, very old with great beer and a garden with spectacular views. However, I have to be honest and say that, frankly the food was bordering on revolting and even if it was average, it was way, way overpriced. Maybe because they have a captive market? My advice as an ex-professional chef would be to invest in a proper chef. We ate their once, and the food appeared to all be re-heated/microwaved and badly presented with no taste.

Anyway, I cannot recommend the resort enough, so if you are stressed, just want to get away from it all, or want something different, this is the place to go. They have lots of special offers and in fact it worked out cheaper than a B and B room only for a whole cabin!!

Room Tip: Get a cabin with a view, staff are very knowledgeable about which one to book when enquiring. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingKoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We're so pleased that you like our location and cabins so much that you have returned for a 2nd time in 7 months, thank you. It's really nice to hear that you find the cabins cosy and well equipped, your son likes the play area and that our staff are friendly and helpful. We're sorry you did not like the food in the pub, this is not owned nor run by us and so we cannot make the changes suggested, we will however pass on your comments to the owner. Thanks for recommending us and taking the time to leave a review, we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have been coming here for 3 years myself my partner and our dog,it is very relaxing with fantastic views very cosy cabin,there are lots of places to go walking as that is what we enjoy doing,looking at the ponies and feeding them carrots seeing rabbits and preety butterflies around the site is lovely gives us a good feeling being surrounded by nature,such a beautiful place we never want to leave,we will be back next year for the fourth year running.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shellzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Great to hear you've had yet another relaxing holiday with us and that after 3 visits you still enjoy exploring the local area, our cabins and the view from our village. We're very lucky to have all the wildlife and natural beauty around us and it's lovely to hear our guests appreciate it as much as we do. Many thanks for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronaber
8.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
15.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
16.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
113 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dinas Caravan Park, Camping & Glamping
12.6 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#1 of 11 in Beddgelert
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trawsfynydd Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trawsfynydd Holiday Village

Property: Trawsfynydd Holiday Village
Address: Trawsfynydd Holiday Village | Snowdonia National Park, Bronaber, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bronaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bronaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our picturesque holiday village overlooking the Rhinog Mountains offers log cabins and a bunkhouse in Snowdonia. Each log cabin sleeps 4-8 people in 2-3 bedrooms and has a lounge, bathroom with either a shower or bath and a fully equipped kitchen. Additionally we have a bunkhouse sleeping up to 20 people in 5 bedrooms, which is great for large groups. Our location is ideal to explore the mountains, beaches and activity centres in North Wales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing