We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed in the Pineapple House the week of Easter. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a smile and such Hospitality!
We dined in the restaurant which was on a terrace overlooking the bay. It was very romantic, and the food was incredible!
We asked for a special Jamaican dish, and the Chef prepared with a smile...we asked for a special time for water skiing as we were leaving that day, and again were taken care of with a smile. The Best setting, the Best staff! The only problem with our stay was that it was only two nights! We will go back, but for a week and hope that is long enough! True Paradise!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobomainsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    117
    42
    21
    13
See reviews for
397
521
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Round Hill is very child-friendly and an elegant understatement….small enough for intimacy, yet large enough for critical mass which is rather unique in the Caribbean. The hotel grounds are vast and there is ample space for quiet private space (e.g. in the park around the spa). Yet, children can roam rather freely and feel comfortable and safe as the main hotel/area has an easy layout and the property perimeter is closely guarded.

Throughout the stay, the attention to detail was magnificent. The grounds are meticulously cared for and the beach is clean. We had visited Round Hill in the previous year and noticed minor improvements/fine-tuning which suggests a non-complacent attitude by management. The hotel is very well run. We have traveled to >60 countries on all continents, seen a lot of luxury hotels and rarely go back to the same hotel twice. Round Hill is/was an exception. Overall, one of the best we've seen...particularly when trying to find a break with kids but not being a fan of mega-resorts.

It's difficult to find anything to criticize....perhaps one thing: for those that don’t want to indulge in a full buffet lunch/dinner, the bar menu is rather short and doesn’t change regularly. A little variety (or a longer menu) would be welcome.

We traveled with our two children aged 10 & 11 who also enjoyed it very much despite not having a tv in the hotel room...We stayed on the ground floor (all have patio/balcony)in the Pineapple House (main hotel building) with easy access to the pool for the kids. Upstairs has slightly better views of the sunset, but most rooms have no balcony. During our stay, the clientele was largely 35-55 yr olds couples or families with children aged 5-15...split 50/50 between Americans and Europeans. I recommend using the hotel's transportation option to/from airport ($50) as it's convenient, safe & friendly. Taxi will cost you nearly the same.

We will definitely come back, as have apparently so many others over the years based on comments on this site. Ya, mon !

Room Tip: With kids, ground floor patio w. pool-access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNomad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My family and I have been going to Round Hill for years and though we have raved to everyone we know about it I am ashamed to say that this is my first time to shout it's praises to the world. I feel compelled to do so having just returned from what was an even more magical time than we ever had there before and considering that we have always left planning our next return that is saying a lot. The reasons for Round Hill's unique magnificence are plentiful and significant. First, Round Hill is as romantic and sophisticated a resort as it is a paradise for families. That alone is an impossible combination of virtues and one I've never found anywhere else in all of my travels. In short, it is an equally superb place to Honeymoon as it is ideal for a family vacation at the same time of year! (We just returned from Easter break and met couples blissfully honeymooning and others with children ranging in ages from newborns to college kids) Perhaps more than the fact that the resort truly has something for every age and every configuration of travelers (Our pre-schoolers, teenagers and college age children equally beg to return there) it has a soul to it that makes it more than just another luxurious day at the beach. Beyond the chic design, attentive service, great food, interesting cliental, fantastic entertainment (live music, beach parties, etc) and the unbeatable location it becomes something more than just another exclusive resort - it becomes a place that lives in your heart. When guests arrive at Round Hill they are greeted (by name) with "Welcome Home" and everything that happens after that is done so with the earnest intention to invite the guests to become a part of a long tradition of elegance, style, luxury, and most of all, inclusivity. Families have returned to Round Hill for generations, I hope my own included, and that is because it offers the rare blend of the ultimate tranquility together with the utmost style and unmeasurable spirit. Do yourself a favor and go. But beware, nowhere else will ever compare.

Room Tip: Pineapple House or Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginagoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Having stayed at a 5 star hotel in Hawaii [Kahala Resort] each year for the last 10 I decided to take my youngest son somewhere a little closer to Chicago for his spring break. Had heard about Round Hill but had heard that Jamaica wasnt safe. Very happy I overcame the ill informed comments and made the trip. The Jamaican's I met were welcoming and the vibe was laid back. The resort where I have too admit we spent most of our time was amazing on many levels. Food was very good, the beach was amazing. Shallow for a good distance so user friendly for kids. My son made instant friends and all of them swarmed around the guys taking care of the waterspouts [Stephen was a standout!]. The staff took the kids under their wings and made them instantly feel at home. The rooms which were newly decorated by Ralph Lauren [He owns a place there and was wandering about when we were there so sure he was personally involved] and done in tasteful understatement [go for rooms w decks as afar from main house as possible]. Across the board was impressed with the staffing which included a nurse inn an office next to the pools to handle any small injuries. Only negatives I found with the place is that they need to completely update the gym and also figure out tipping policy. You get charged a service charge and there is an expectation you will tip. I am American and girlfriend is English so confusion reigned given the different attitude to tipping between our two cultures.If Roundhill can get these two things strightened out this place will rank right up there with the best places in the world. I am fortunate to travel all over the world with work and for pleasure and I have to say it was a nice change of pace to stay in a place that felt modern and warm at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErichG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Round hill resort in montage bay is perfect spot for family. Rooms are spacious
and clean. Staff is friendly and attentive. There are supervised almost camp like activities for youngsters. Water sports, golf and tennis excellent. Food is excellent and plentiful. Bars are great fun. The concierge checked our rooms after we left and found our home keys and called us in our hotel van and sent them to us at the airport. This. Is the attention to detail of the staff which is not only excellent but beyond your expectations. Highly recommend for family trips. We met our family from los Angeles, new York and Austria there.....awesome wonderful experience

Room Tip: Tell reservations your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Quiet. Beautiful Ocean Views. Private Beach. Elegant and understated. Friendly service. The perfect getaway if doing little and recharging is your thing. It really is paradise.

My only dislike would be the food. And I should state here that the food was good, however, (and this might be because we went slightly off season at the beginning of April) buffets seemed to be the only real option. They did have a set menu but the choice felt limited to me. As a result, the nightly buffets were the next best option. Again the food was good and it's a very small complaint. I just think I would've liked to have seen a bit more choice on the set menu. After all, the hotel does boast about it's culinary accolades.

My only other comment would be that the food was on the expensive side for what you get (think 35-40 dollar entrees) coming from New York, for that price the bar is pretty high and in that regard, I think they failed to deliver.

Overall though, the place was pretty faultless. Just expect to spend a good deal on food and drink as there are no alternative dining / drink options nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blazesboylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Fabulous setting, fine dining, impeccable service, and warm Jamaican hospitality. Feels like we are coming home every time we visit. Amazing view of the sunset on Round Hill Bay.
Fabulous Spa treatments and exercise classes overlooking the bay. Great for a romantic getaway or an extended family trip.

Room Tip: Cottage 1- pool and sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdel7797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
12.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing